We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartment was spotlessly clean and value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franklin Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Apartment was spotlessly clean and value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night only and spent very little time in the apartment. I can say however that it was spotlessly clean and in excellent condition. Bed was very comfortable too (although I found it strange that the main bedroom had a window facing the outside corridor? - having said that we weren't disturbed during the night). Check in was very easy and the staff were very helpful. They do have a carpark there (underground) but was a bit of a challenge getting in and out of in a large sedan (they tell you not to bring a 4WD as you wouldn't get it in - and they're not kidding there!!!) Apartment is in Franklin Street which is in the central Adelaide CBD and is a short stroll to the Central Markets and Gouger Street (restaurant district). We would definitely use this accommodation again. Great value for money and great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

As you mention , our property is centrally located and our apartments spacious.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when you next travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    297
    87
    30
    16
See reviews for
239
187
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our three bedroom apartment was flawless and it surpassed my expectations. Thank you to the helpful staff, we will back again in the near future. The best words to describe our stay is classy and affordable. We were very happy with the location, facilities and cleanliness too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FleaLeeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to receive wonderful feedback about the property.

We look forward to having you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here at the Franklin
Apartments numerous times and have never been disappointed. Since we are attending a family function we decided to book a two bedroom apartment for three adults. We read the terms and conditions before hand so we knew that there was one queen bedroom and one single bedroom which suited our needs perfectly. We used the washing machine and dryer which was very convenient but perhaps a drying rack would also be good. The kitchen is stocked with utensils and they also supply the washing power and liquid which is a big help. Overall very happy and no doubt will be back many times in the future. Special mention to the young lady on reception on Saturday 26 October when we checked in. Sorry I cannot remember her name but she recognised us from previous visits and was very courteous and professional. Thanks.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivacious_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are certainly glad that you chose Franklin Central Apartments to Accommodate your family again.

As you mention our apartments are spacious and are fully equipped.

I will certainly advise reception of your wonderful comments as well.

We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Adelaide next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We returned to Adelaide to attend our daughter's graduation from Flinders University at the Adelaide Town Hall. The whole family attended so we booked a three bedroom apartment at Franklin Apartments. The location was perfect being close to the Town Hall, Rundell Mall and King William Street where most of the buses traverse. The rooms were spacious and clean and was given excellent attention by the room service staff.

Only down side was during our visit was during the servicing of the lifts or elevators. Tenants requiring access to the upper floors were required to use the fire stairs. The stairs were open and scared my wife and daughter to the point of being petrified and unable to look down. Not withstanding, the accomodation .was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zambuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am certainly please that you had an enjoyable stay in our property.

As you mention our property has an excellent location and our apartments are spacious.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Receptionists were professional which is very important. Apartment was exceptionally clean and housekeeping excellent. Staff in cafe friendly and can recommend the soy hot chocolate and toasted tomato/cheese sandwich. No complaints. Historic building thanks to the Farmers' Union.

Room Tip: I was on 3rd Floor in centre. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay in our property.

I will certainly pass on your comments to reception and the cafe.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

For Adelaide, I think this hotel is likely okay. The "apartment" was reasonably spacious, and the location was pretty central. It's not an upscale hotel (no assistance with luggage, bare-bones amenities), but we also weren't paying $300 a night.

It was a bit odd that the master bedroom has a window on the main hotel hallway. I'm not sure why they didn't build a solid wall between the bedroom and the public areas, like most normal hotels. Also, the other bedroom had a window on the apartment's main hallway, so if you're trying to sleep in that room and other people in the room want to stay up, you'll have light in the room. The washer in our room did not work, and we tried to use it just after 9 at night, so reception was unstaffed and we couldn't get help. Also the wifi was nonexistent. There was wired internet but no wire -- maybe Australians walk around with ethernet cables, but no one I know in North America would in this day & age.

My guess is that most Adelaide hotels aren't better. The room's basically okay, but just don't expect much in the way of amenities.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am certainly glad that you had an enjoyable stay in our property.

As you mention, our property is in a fantastic location.

Reception is open until 11pm each night, so they can assist with any issues that guests may have.

We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Most CBD accommodation in Adelaide is in a great location due to the free city loop bus. Franklin Central is no exception. It is close to the city loop bus, close to the main bus station, 2 minutes walk from the public airport bus, 2 minutes to a supermarket and the wonderful central markets. We had an apartment that exited onto the footpath so we could hear a bit of traffic and passers by but once you got used to it, it wasn't a problem. I enjoyed watching the world go by. We never went past the reception. The apartment was roomy, very clean, matching utensils, dishwasher, and lovely towels. My only complaint was that I found it a bit dark (plenty of lighting though). I do love lots of natural light. It certainly served our purpose and we found a good rate through their own website.

Room Tip: If you book a street level apartment, it really is that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mention our location is wonderful and central to everything. The apartment facilities that you also mention are in every apartment.

We no longer offer the ground floor apartment , so next time you stay with us , you will certainly stay in wonderful apartment on an upper floor. We also have lift access to all levels.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Central Apartments

Property: Franklin Central Apartments
Address: 36 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin Central Apartments offer a range of refurbished, modern self-contained, serviced apartments with many hotel style services, making them ideal for any length of stay.Franklin Central Apartments are superbly located in the heart of Adelaide's central business district, within easy walking distance of many Adelaide highlights including the Adelaide Convention Centre, casino, arts precinct, Rundle Mall shopping, Central Market and Gouger Street cafes. We are also located only a 3 minute walk from the Seven day Coles Supermarket, great for buying and preparing what you want when you want.We cater for the Corporate Traveller, providing High speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet in our Cafe and Conference room, even if only for one night Apartment accommodation is the most comfortable and cost effective solution.Also for the corporate traveller, we are walking distance to Adelaide Convention Centre, Waymouth Street, Grenfell Street, Currie Street, King William Street and Pirie Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Franklin Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Central Apartments Adelaide
Franklin Central Apartments Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing