We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent-no frills hotel, but not very centrally located...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Director's Studios
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Santa Clara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent-no frills hotel, but not very centrally located...”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My sister and I stayed here as we need to find accomodations on short notice. The room pictures looked decent and it was reasonably priced.

The hotel is located near the post office,a bar and a few restaurants. However, if you are looking for the main part of town or want to get to Hyde Park, it's a bit far. (I walked all over Sydney without a city train pass so I'm open to walking a fair amount). However, this location just wan't appealing to two women walking around an unfamiliar part of town at night in the rain (it was the start of winter) looking for dinner. We ate nearby for the first night which was okay, but the second night we were looking for more of an epicurean adventure and we had to take a taxi.

You should also be aware that if you will need to walk and explore on Sunday mornings as the Cafe next door isn't open on Sundays.

We were in the what other people call the "hotel section" which meant that we didn't have outward facing windows. We were upstairs and I couldn't find a lift so we needed to carry everything up the stairs (not a problem for us, but could be a problem for others).

Customer service was stellar at this hotel. With this being said, I don't want you to think that things were right the first time around, but the staff was really friendly and absolutely great in resolving issues.

Another note: you have to purchase increments of time for internet access. It was AUD $5 for 30 minutes when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbnbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    230
    121
    39
    26
See reviews for
81
192
96
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I was delighted with my room. A good size and masses of floor space at foot of the bed. No squeezing past furniture. Bed very comfy. Air conditioning very effective. A decent sized shower in the bathroom. Very high standard of housekeeping, room always spotless. Reception staff could not be more helpful.
Location close to Chinatown and the Central Market, and a reasonably easy walk further uptown to the Rundle Mall.
Lots of eating places nearby.
Really enjoyed my stay - 12 nights - highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

we stayed here as there was literally no other hotel available in Adelaide due a host of events going on at the time we arrived. The hotel, if that is what it can be classed as is more like dorms. Basic, low cost and in a pretty decent location near the main street where all the restaurants are.

Its good, but i'd rather stay somewhere else. Ok if your on a budget

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckennedy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Clean hotel, friendly staff.. nice enough place to stay. Close to the markets and lots of restaurants. Must have open mind.. :-)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyFNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We liked this place a lot.
Reception was friendly and the rooms are clean. The cheap hotel room was tiny without a window, but when we moved to a more expensive studio room with kitchenette it was lovely.
Room cleaners were commendable. Immaculately cleaned each day.
Great central location on Gouger St with an international selection of restaurants just a short walk away. We walked almost everywhere in central Adelaide from here.
Highly recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed at the Break Free Directors Studios on two occasions in January, 2009. The first night was in the hotel section. The hotel rooms are inside a building and do not have windows to the outside. The window in the room is into the main hallway. The hallway is bright, high and airy, but an outside window would have been nice. We found the room to be clean and comfortable. There was a desk, kettle, TV and ample storage space. The room was a bit small, but it worked fine. My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin. We heard every word from the next door neighbors and then some which interrupted our sleep.

The second night was in the suites and I would recommend this option if you can get a good deal. The suite included dishes, microwave, toaster and other cooking facilities. The room was larger than the hotel and had windows to the outside. Even though our window faced the street, it was a quiet night and we had a really good stay.

Wireless internet is provided by AZURE. The cost is high compared to walking down the street to use the internet café.

The hotel is located a bit out of the way, but it is a 10 minute walk to the bus station and to the Central Markets with lots of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and there is left luggage.

Overall, I would recommend the suites. They are a good deal for the price. When you go to the hotel, don’t go to the bar with the same name. The hotel office has a black awning.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Adelaide
BreakFree Adelaide
#20 of 57 in Adelaide
1,035 reviews
1.9 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.9 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#31 of 57 in Adelaide
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Director's Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Director's Studios

Property: BreakFree Director's Studios
Address: 259 Gouger St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Director's Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within close proximity to the thriving central business district and major Adelaide city attractions, BreakFree Directors Studios is suited to both business and leisure travellers. Offering guests a choice of studio and hotel style rooms comfortably furnished with modern amenities spread over two buildings. Both rooms feature contemporary furnishings and modern amenities, with air-conditioning, TV and wireless internet access(fee). BreakFree Directors Studios offers a host of facilities to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. We offer guests 24-hour reception, room service (specified hours only) same day laundry service (fee), babysitting service (fee), guest laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board. There is also limited car parking available (subject to availability, fees apply). Directors Studios offers free luggage storage for guests that require their bags to be left for the day or overnight. Entertainment and shopping are all within walking distance and include Chinatown, the Central Markets, Rundle Mall, Adelaide Convention Centre, Adelaide Festival Theatre and cosmopolitan restaurants. Only a two minute walk to Adelaide's famous Gouger Street, the main restaurant precinct of the city, BreakFree Directors Studios is located close to the Art Gallery of South Australia, South Australian Museum and State Library. BreakFree Directors Studios is a boutique hotel situated in the heart of Adelaide City, offering comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. BreakFree Directors Studios is a NON SMOKING hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Director's Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Director`s Studios Hotel Adelaide
Directors Studios Adelaide
Directors Studios Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing