We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out your heritage”
Review of Migration Museum

Migration Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.21*
and up
Cultural Caper Adelaide Walking Tour
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Adelaide Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #18 of 206 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1986 and built on the site of the former Adelaide Destitute Asylum, the Migration Museum was the first museum dedicated to the social history of migration in Australia. The Museum works towards the preservation, understanding and enjoyment of South Australia’s diverse cultures. It is a place to discover the many identities of the people of South Australia through the stories of individuals and communities. Its nine galleries, which include permanent and changing displays, trace the history and culture of Aboriginal peoples in Australia prior to colonisation, the history and impact of immigration from the nineteenth century onward, as well as the history of the site. The Museum is just a short walk down Kintore Avenue from North Terrace and is easily accessible by public transport. All of the Museum's galleries have disabled access. Entry to the Museum is free, with an optional gold coin donation. Tour groups are welcome but must book in advance. Members of the public can book a guided tour of the Migration Museum with a minimum of ten people per booking and a cost of $10 per person, concession rate $5 per person.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Check out your heritage”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a small museum with a well curated collection of items and stories relating to immigration to Australia and specifically South Australia. My 12 year old son was very intrigued by the White Australia Policy discussion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clutterbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migration M, Manager at Migration Museum, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thankyou for visiting us, we're glad you enjoyed your time at the Migration Museum. The White Australia Policy traffic light interactive is one of our most popular, and a great way to really understand how the policy was applied to migrants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    144
    33
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tony Abbott needs to visit!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Interesting history about the migration flows to South Australia over the last two centuries, seen from many points of view.

What makes me ashamed, however, is to read the story (which is no secret) of how this country has, despite its enormous wealth, become so mean spirited, xenophobic and hypocritical in the last 25 years when it comes to refugees. A must-see for all latter day Liberal voters.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migration M, Manager at Migration Museum, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your review, Ozrod, we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Migration Museum. Our current exhibition on refugees, Refugees and Australia, 1972-2012 does contain some challenging thoughts about our country's varied responses to those seeking asylum, but also, I hope you found, quite a lot that is hopeful. The Migration Museum is a good place to discuss and reflect on these challenges. Corinne, Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everyone should visit this museum”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Eye opening museum. Spent 2 hours here there was so much to take in. Very well done and interesting exhibits. I'd recommend starting in the destitute asylum first. This building also houses an exhibit showing refugees throughout Australia's history and cleverly connects/compares current day refugees with those of the past.
Impressed by plaques in wall dedicated to migrants from various countries and their plight, acknowledging them and their contribution to Australia. As well as exhibits inside showing Australia's migrant history in a truthful light.
Gold coin donation entry more than happy to pay
Very thought provoking and enjoyable museum from start to finish. Every state needs a museum like this

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muskettcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migration M, Manager at Migration Museum, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your review, Muskettcat, hope to see you again some time!
Corinne, Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So interesting”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent quite a while wondering around and found it extremely interesting. If you are in Adeliade for a holiday do not miss this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migration M, Senior Curator at Migration Museum, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the write up Theresa,
Glad to see you enjoyed your visit to Adelaide.

Catherine (Curator)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First-Class Museum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I visited this Museum but I was blown away! Not only is there so much information on offer but it is displayed in a great interactive way that is appealing to the visitor! Entry is free which is an added bonus though I would have happily paid for my time here! It was also great to see a number of school groups visiting while I was there. A first-class Museum experience!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bell_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migration M, Senior Curator at Migration Museum, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks Bell_Bob,

Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope we see you again some time!

Catherine (Curator)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Migration Museum also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Migration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing