We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc.
Ranked #70 of 204 things to do in Adelaide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tandanya is a visionary and vibrant place to explore and experience contemporary and traditional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, through visual art and performings. Walk through art exhibitions or take a tour, watch a cultural presentation and performance (by appointment), browse through our Gallery Shop or hire one of many spaces in our amazing building.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I expected a lot more although the exhibition they had was very good. They could have had more permanent art.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dirtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    12
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am so proud of this indigenous Galley. Exhibiting contemporary and traditional works in a variety of mediums. They support emerging artists which is so important.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank weelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We came wanting to see some examples of Aboriginal Culture. The admission fee is very reasonable. First we viewed many examples of aboriginal art and learned the stories behind many of them, and the different styles and materials used. We were tempted to buy one painting. We had a presentation about the yidaki and a demonstration of how it is played. It was a very informative visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ruckenbackdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great gift shop. Like the gallery being free and open. Helpful and friendly staff. Interesting outside of the building. Close to other landmarks of interest.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small but lively”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is small but I love the ethos of this Gallery. It just feels far more spiritual and organic than the exhibitions in the SA Gallery. I love the 'aunty' she is such a character and super friendly. I would say it displays contemporary Aboriginal art...don't forget to donate!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank maoritraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc. also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing