We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc.
Ranked #71 of 204 things to do in Adelaide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tandanya is a visionary and vibrant place to explore and experience contemporary and traditional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, through visual art and performings. Walk through art exhibitions or take a tour, watch a cultural presentation and performance (by appointment), browse through our Gallery Shop or hire one of many spaces in our amazing building.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“grandkids”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

again I have not been here but my grandchildren just loved it and were very intrigued with the culture

Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    12
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The More I Explore The Less I Know I Know”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture had me exploring it and reading about it so that I could at least be informed a little more. I just loved Tandanya - I know I know very little and the more I find out the more I realize I need to know more. If you are like me and have a curiousness about our indigenous peoples and their culture then this is an excellent start - through art, pictures, film and presentations.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Aboriginal culture - in the hands of the people”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The thing I love about Tandanya is that it's Aboriginal people telling their own story through art, displays, exhibitions, films etc. The name itself means 'the place of the red kangaroo'. It's so much more than the gift shop. Check out their website to see what's on and when so you can time your visit to make the most of what's on offer eg didgeridoo and dance at noon daily except Mondays. A guided tour at 11am on Thursdays. Entry into the exhibition space is free but there may be some costs for other events and activities. I am resident in Adelaide, and always encourage visitors to the city to go to Tandanya to see Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture in the hands of the people themselves. So much more respectful for their rich cultural history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Most interesting Aboriginal art, prices are reasonable, place is colourful and stuffs are very friendly

Helpful?
Thank Merallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A fascinating and inspiring display of art and an excellent range in the gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bgdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc. also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing