We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently Renovated and Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel has recently been renovated with a new paint job and carpet. It is a great little hotel across the road from the new research centre and whilst it outwardly doesn't look contemporary, it is a gem. The room that we had was huge, clean and the price was extremely cheap.

It is in the university sector of Adelaide and is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the city or if you want, there is plenty of public transportation right outside the hotel that goes into the CBD. The uni bar is a block from the hotel and serves cheap drinks, especially at happy hour which is daily from 3.00 to 5.00 p.m. It isn't too fart to walk if you want to go to the casino or the footy at the Adelaide Cricket Ground

We were able to get Wi-Fi in the room at all times of the day by using Adelaide free

We had to change out booking three times and the staff were excellent, nothing was too great a problem.

The only down side is that there isn't many restaurants or activities around the hotel, however you are best to eat in the CBD

I am going back in November and will stay here again

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road to avoid any road to public transport noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scanotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 391 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel when we visited Adelaide in March this year for our daughter's graduation. We had to move to a hostel for the last two nights of our stay in the city as the hotel was fully booked that weekend. We booked a 5-day "unserviced" family room with the Comfort Riviera for 3 persons, meaning no housekeeping service was provided for our duration of stay, and when we did need anything such as milk, coffee and tea replenishment and clean towels we just needed to notify and picked up from the reception.
The hotel is a little aged but good enough for us. Some parts of the hotel have been re-painted. The lift is small and slow. There is no WIFI in the room except in the lobby.
It is well located with the tram stops nearby (a few minutes' walk). We either walked or took the free tram service to move about in the city.
We would probably try other hotels in the nearby area should we revisit Adelaide.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelaideRiviera2014, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

The 5 night Super Saver package that you booked is a 'no frills' package suited to those travelling on a low budget. In this instance, you have paid a heavily discounted price for a 'no service' option.

I feel it is important to note that if travellers reserve our rooms at standard pricing, (which is still extremely good value), a full daily service is provided. I recommend this option for future stays.

We have also now completed the refurbishment of all hotel rooms.

Kind regards

Lee Burns
General Manager
Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Part of the rooms were being painted and repaired. The room was clean and comfortable. It was reasonable for the price paid.

When we went for breakfast we ordered one of the items on the menu. It was called Riviera --- it was $8.50 and consisted of poached eggs on a ciabetta. We requested instead of the ciabetta a toast. The apprentice wanted us to pay $20 extra!. So we walked out and had the breakfast at Madonald's for half the price. Having staff with no experience caused this problem.

We will avoid this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelaideRiviera2014, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction with our breakfast staff. Our new menu which we introduced in early June has proven very popular (eg see review 1 week ago). I believe there has been a big misunderstanding as a simple swap from ciabatta bread to plain bread should not have incurred any pricing increases.

Our staff are trained to provide exceptional customer service and to ensure that customers receive value for money, so this does seem out of the ordinary.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

Lee Burns
General Manager
Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This Hotel has been in Adelaide for many many years and the locals seem to think it hasn't changed in all that time because it hasn't had a big outside makeover. What they dont know is that it whats on the inside that matters. Staff are great, rooms are all new and updated and for Adelaide, just great value.
I have been put up in "5 star" Adelaide hotels and other than a bit of fancy furniture and double the price they were no better than the Riviera.
I have stayed in all there room styles, the basic rooms are great, their suites are great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingtech100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This review was for the breakfast. The staff are very accommodating and always have a smile. There is a wide range of food at a good price, and the food is not only really tasty, there's heaps of it :) I'm was more then happy to eat here every day of my trip.
I was even excited to wake up haha

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyezipp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Found hotel to be clean freshly painted and close to all the things
we wanted to do....breakfast was good value....if staying at this hotel
i would suggest you ask for a room at the back...not facing onto
North Terrace as the traffic drives you crazy all night....maybe the
windows need to be double glazed to solve this problem..also the
curtains let in alot of street light .... werent quite wide enough...would
stay here again...thank you to the friendly staff....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Prime location at the end of North Terrace, lots of parking options around the hotel. Close to casino and Adelaide Oval.

Staff upon arrival were helpful and upgraded us to deluxe room. Room size was decent for 2 people and very clean. Great Price paid for one night, in peak season with sold out AFL game the same night.

Thanks for a great stay :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank akh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Adelaide
BreakFree Adelaide
#20 of 56 in Adelaide
1,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 56 in Adelaide
942 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera

Address: 31-34 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $76 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera is perfectly positioned for your next business trip, short break or holiday in Adelaide. Our location in the vibrant West End quarter of Adelaide city gives you easy access to all of Adelaide's local attractions. Whether it's a short walk to Rundle mall a drive to the seaside at Glenelg or a day tour in the Barossa Valley, our friendly reception staff can provide detailed maps and advice to get you there. Our well-appointed accommodation facility consists of 84 recently refurbished rooms, offering exceptional value for money. Our conference and meeting rooms make the Riviera an ideal base for your next meeting, workshop or seminar. The team at Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Adelaide
Best Western Adelaide
Adelaide Best Western
Comfort Inn Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing