We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Connell Inn

O'Connell Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Connell Inn
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed in a family room at the back of the motel. 1 queen bed and 2 singles in one long room. The room was quiet with all the amenities we needed.
Free wifi internet available in your room which was fast. Alot of motels now charge $27 a day for this service. Free parking. Nice beds.

Near by for the kids: Adelaide Aquatic Centre walking distance or short drive.

Try Vagabondo restaurant for great food and desserts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
48
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the O'Connell Inn. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and tidy, with plenty of space. The meals at the restaurant were great! The internet access was really good. There is a bus stop right outside the motel which has regular buses that go right into the CBD (or you can walk, it's a nice walk). Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwichiknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed at the O'Connell Inn for three nights and were very happy with the service - breakfast in the dining room was excellent and staff went out of their way to provide anything we needed (taxi to the Entertainment Centre, advice etc) and provided excellent evening meals in the dining room. For the weary traveller it was home away from home. The rooms were excellent, clean and comfortable. Many thanks for the hospitality.

  • Liked — Ease of parking, central, dining room, privacy
  • Disliked — there was nothing I did not like
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank silverexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
771 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 792 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

Booked a family room for 3 adults for 3 nights over the weekend and when we arrived found the reception area completely deserted. A sign said we should enter the restaurant where the manager would be working. There was very loud music and only one table being occupied but still the manager took about 5 minutes to come to reception to check us in. After he made several jokes about our surnames he gave us keys for room 108 on the first floor. When we got there we were overpowered by the smell of cigarette smoke and realised he had given us a smoking room. The window was set to open about 2 inches so we could not let any more fresh air in. We tried to change rooms but the manager claimed to have no more non-smoking rooms which would accommodate 3 people.

When we asked if we could cancel and try somewhere else the manager became quite nasty and defensive and said it was our fault because we did not specify a non-smoking room. He said we could not cancel and would have to pay the first night's accommodation as 24 hours notice was required.

After enduring the night in the smokiest room on earth with air conditioning which seemed to make it worse we checked out the following morning and will never return.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.9 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#36 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#16 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#24 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Connell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Connell Inn

Property: O'Connell Inn
Address: 197-199 O'Connell St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Connell Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Connell Inn is located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst lively cafes, pubs and restaurants. This boutique property of 24 spacious guest suites was acquired by the Fargher family from the Prairie Hotel, Parachilna (Flinders Ranges). The hotel combines the ease of a city location with the warmth of country hospitality. Generous-sized, quiet rooms with private bathrooms, a central guest atrium and friendly staff make this a pleasant and peaceful city stay. An added bonus is off-street parking & WIFI at no additional cost. Guest facilities include a restaurant, bar and laundry. The light-filled, east facing restaurant and alfresco dining area is open each morning (excluding public holidays) serving espresso coffee, Tbar teas and full range of breakfast choices from the a la carte menu. The O'Connell Inn uses local free range eggs and are able to cater for gluten and dairy free dietary requirements. Bed and Breakfast packages are available for individuals and groups. The close proximity to the city, frequency of public transport into the city and access to free 'City Bikes' gives you the opportunity to leave the car behind and explore this beautiful city in a number of different ways. The city's premier sporting, entertainment & arts venues are all within 3km, including the Entertainment Centre (2.8Km), Festival Theatre (2.1Km), Art Gallery of SA and the Adelaide Cultural Precinct (2.6Km) on North Terrace. The new Adelaide Oval (1.7Km) is a short walk, the Piccadilly Cinema is next door, Glenelg (14km), surrounding beaches and Adelaide Airport (9.1Km) are 10 to 20 minutes drive. The O'Connell Inn is Adelaide's gateway to the Flinders Ranges & Outback and in easy distance to Barossa & Clare Valleys, Adelaide Hills, McLaren Vale and Fleurieu Peninsula for day trips out and about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Connell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing