We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great restaurant”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great restaurant”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My partner and I have stayed here twice now and have had a great experience both times. Generally we find it modern and clean, the lobby is slightly dated and the bathrooms could do with an update but good otherwise. The restaurant uses almost entirely South Australian produce and served one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. Room service is great and there are nice cocktails to be had in the bar too... We didn't use any of the facilities so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    887
    380
    115
    88
See reviews for
180
797
165
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The location is central and the staff are pretty helpful, breakfast was good if not fairly standard buffet fare. The rooms however are shocking. Seems as though paying over $200 AUD does not get you a refurbished room - carpets worn, strong smell of cleaning products in the room, bathroom is so basic, very average bed and pillows/furnishings etc. How is this a Hilton? I had just come from the new Hilton South Wharf in Melbourne ( and previously the Hilton in Cairns ) which was a similar rate yet light years ahead of this run down hotel. The 'business centre' is a joke - $12 for 1/2 hr with no 24 hr rate? and its a laptop, perched on a tiny round table with a low seat, in an open fairly noisy space. Please don;t expect a business centre. The hotel is not suitable for business stays and I would not stay again. Disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast an excellent buffet. We only stayed 2 nights and would certianly use the hotel again. Two surprises were the exhorbitant internet cost, $26 for a 2 hour card, $14 for half an hour, and the unusual 1.5% charge for paying with a credit card

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anndenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I got a good deal online and stayed here for business for a weekend in February.

The weather was warm and I used the pool on the Friday afternoon I arrived. I walked through the small but well equipped gym to get there. Pool was small for a 5 star hotel but no problem to get a deck chair. In the afternoon the pool is in shadow, so was a bit cooler than I expected. Staff were friendly and initiated a chat.

I had a refurbished room which was lovely. Crabtree and Evelyn amenties that were well replenished. Great shower and bath in room. Bed very comfortable and no noise that I noticed.

I had breakfast included. It is a fantastic buffet breakfast but if not included is not cheap. They were busy both mornings I ate there but service was still good. Just hate that the only coffee you get is that gross hair on the chest percolated stuff - why can they not include a proper coffee as paying for it on top of breakfast is a bit steep.

This hotel is great for walking to anything you would want in the CBD.

Checkin and check out great, staff noted HiltonsHonours and ensured I was looked after (unlike another Hilton I stayed at, see my other review for March 2010).

Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipfeet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The four-star rating of Adelaide Hilton hotel is the most it can get, but I found sufficient reasons to downgrade it to 3+ stars. The lobby is quite dull and the first impression of shabbiness was magnified when I entered the fifth floor: the carpet was worn out and the walls indicated need of fresh paint. The state of the room was much the same; it should have been refurbished years ago. The curtains had stains and the furniture clear signs of long and faithful service. During my week-long stay there was at least one day when the room was not vacuumed—bread crusts from my evening meal on the floor after the room had been “cleaned.” A constant faint smell of sewage lingered in the bathroom. Not what you expect from a four-starer.

Some room amenities were planned for another age. There were only two possible wall outlets close to the table. One was used by the television, the other by the desk lamp. I wanted to unplug the desk lamp to power my computer, but my bulky Europe-to-rest-of-world adapter covered both outlets. I could either watch TV or charge the laptop, but not both at the same time. I could also not find any solid object on which to hook up the laptop’s safety chain.

Common with most hotels, Adelaide Hilton has noisy air conditioning fans to the rear. If your room is to the rear on one of the lower floors, you do not want to leave the window open for the night (and on the front side is the noisy street). Luckily the windows suppress most of the noise.

Positive marks go to the Hilton’s central location and friendly staff. I was truly happy to get a room at 7 am after a two-night flight from Europe. Further, the hotel is located next to Gouger Street, the main restaurant street in Adelaide’s business district.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Simply everything is as it should be. I've stayed here maybe a dozen times over the years. It's just no fuss, professional and excellent quality.

And the ground floor lounge bar isn't bad either !!

If you like good restaurant then walk out the front door and turn right and head to Googyer Street ... plenty of good places there to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Had a great 2 night stay at this hotel. 15 min drive from the airport, so the taxi fare won't kill you. The tram is right across the road which is very convenient, especially when feeling lazy. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

However, we stayed in an unrenovated room which looked like a trip back to the 1980's. We loved it though as it was a good laugh! We think we got it because we booked using Wotif.com to save money, as the other floors of the hotel are renovated.

The breakfast was amazing! So much to choose from and an omlette chef. Was so full afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing