We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junior Suite! Loved the upgrade”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2008

The Hilton was my first preference when I tried to get accommodation at Adelaide. This is because it had a picturesque setting in the CBD. However when I rang to get a quote, they only had expensive rooms available at AU$405 for a queen room. So, it was out of my budget/.

Please note I rang 1 day in advance only.

However I rang other hotels and could only find rooms at Glenelg for AU$365 a night - and that's 20 minutes out of the city! So I rang the Hilton back and booked the AU$405 room.

When I got to Adelaide, I checked in at the Hilton at about 5pm after a walk from Rundle Mall. I was served at the counter by JOSH (you are awesome!)

Mr Josh gave me a free upgrade to a junior suite on the 13th floor. I politley thanked him and went to my room as I didn't understand what I was upgraded to.

When I got to the room I nearly fell over. It was massive! Please look at my low resolution camera-phone pictures. Walk-in robe, 4 seater dining chair, tub and shower, queen bed, plasma TV and a large executive desk. It even had an Aeron chair and toiletries from Crabtree and Evelyn...how awesome is that?

The staff at the concierge desk were so kind as they made reservations, changed reservations and even made recommendations for my dinner in Adelaide. They were very patient with my indecisiveness.

The following morning, I wasn't sure if I would have enough time to have the buffet breakfast, so I ordered room service as soon as I woke up. It took 45 minutes to arrive, which is the only negative about my upgraded stay at the Hilton.

I will admit that this review is biased due to the upgrade, but I am honestly over the moon about it and hence my review can be nothing but glowing about this establishment. The staff were friendly, I was happy with my room and the location of the hotel. Thank you again front-counter-Josh.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,338 - 2,344 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2008

We recently stayed at the Hilton for two nights and found the overall experience to be very positive.

The staff were friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel.

We were given a refurbished room which was very comfortable, particularly the bed which made for a good nights sleep.

The hotel is well located with a tram stop directly opposite and right next door to the Central Market.

I was very pleased to discover that the hotel had a range of mobile phone chargers that they were happy to loan to guests at no cost as I had left mine behind!

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jaz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I loved the modern rooms, sensational breakfasts (for eg local ingredient, fresh toasted muesli) and super helpful staff. Great club floor as well, with 15 min comp internet access. A great Adelaide base, right on the edge of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This old girl is showing her age. Whilst the simple rooms were spotlessly clean, they were quite worn.
The reception staff were fantastic and friendly making checkin/out very quick and painless.
The bar is ordinary, and for a hotel boasting two of Australias best known chefs it took an unbelievable amount of time to deliver potato wedges to the bar!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Location is excellent.
Free tram to Rundle mall. (However it is walking distance really)
Nicely appointed.
Numerous elevators, so no long waits. The apples they leave at the elevator waits are actually excellent.
Service very very good.
Breakfast for Exec is excellent. If you eat breakfast, and not a GOLD card, pay the extra $30. If you don't eat breakfast, the extra 30 won't buy you anything, so save it.
Central market next door is great if you don't mind mingling with the locals.
Chinatown a block away has cheap and so-so to more moderate and better Chinese food. I haven't had time to try the expensive ones.
The flow in front of the hotel, cars checking in, bus tour checking out is spacious enought that it doesn't impede you or anyone else.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank QZOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

This is another 4/5 star place... it's comfortable enough, the location is good - right in the CBD just off the square.

But it's not "outstanding" - it's a bit bland, and a little "tired" in places, especially the decor, carpets etc. Checkin was very efficent as was checkout. Price was pretty good.

Some other things were new - bed was clearly new - and very comfy. As was the flatscreen tv.

The room service food and service was outstanding. The portions very large, and overall very good value. The chicken fillet burger is yum, and what a pile of chips !!

Overall, not bad at all - would stay again.

Stayed: April 2008
4  Thank pommie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed in Adelaide for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel was fantastic, so well run and staff where extremely helpful.

We stayed on the executive floor and had access for the executive lounge each evening which was fantastic- great drinks and great food. There are a lot of great restaurants close to the hotel. We dined in the Brasserie restaurant which is one of the best places that we have eaten.

The rooms are spacious and well maintained. There is a pillow menu for those that are picky about there pillow! Everything was particularly clean and the bathroom was spacious.

Overall i would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Szepfalusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 55 in Adelaide
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $126 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing