We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice again”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice decor. Friendly staff. Lounge area very nice. Free WiFi in the lobby area only. Rooms well appointed, decor. Bathroom nice, small but modern, great shower. Bed is the best. Breakfast to 11am is good. Easy to get around in Adelaide with the trams at the front door. Easy valet parking.
Breakfast was a bit unorganized. Chef in the kitchen was too busy and had people waiting at the counter for food. Disappointing no free WiFi in the rooms yet. Even the trams have free WiFi in Adelaide. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcatraz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Alcatraz59,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip to Adelaide.

I am pleased that you found the room satisfactory and the team friendly. Our team genuinely care in ensuring our guests enjoy their stay and I am delighted you experienced this during your stay.

We are very fortunate to have the tram stop just outside our door enabling easy free travel around the city.

I did note your comments regarding breakfast which will be shared with our Restaurant Manager to ensure we are organised at all times to provide a pleasant relaxing breakfast experience for our guests. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and I apologise for your disappointment.

I look forward to your return in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stay at hilton hotels a lot and one thing that has always been good is there great service with a smile
Room was nice and quiet
Checking was seamless
Going to breakfast asked for table of seven (there was one available ) told no until another staff member fixed so our group could be together
Chef was rude and grumpy

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Geoffbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Geoffbec,

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased that you found the service from the team satisfactory during your stay and the room allocated to you was to your liking.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the check in service and I am delighted that it all went smoothly however I did note your comments regarding the problems you experienced with your breakfast booking. Your comments will be discussed with our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef to ensure the smooth running of the restaurant. I apologise for the inconvenience experienced on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

First time @ Hilton ADL and not impressed. Very lukewarm, half-baked welcome from reception, it felt more like checking into a Best Western.

When I booked the day prior I asked for a rm with a bathtub, got to my rm, there wasn't one. Rang down and new rm found. Lovely rm although could do with a detailed clean.

Asked concierge for info RE a good fine dining restaurant in ADL, he seemed perplexed as tho no-one had ever asked him b4.

Had set my alarm for 9am as desperately needed a sleep-in but was woken @ 6.45am by a WakeUp reminder call that I had NOT requested.

On checking out asked to speak to manager on duty. Sat down for 5 and explained I had not been able to go back to sleep and wasn't impressed. He did not seem to know how to deal with complaints and gave a fairly limp half-baked apology.

From my experience there is NOT a 5 star international hotel. Other 5 star hotels I've stayed at in ADL are far better.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear craig h,

Thank you for forwarding your honest feedback of your experiences at Hilton Adelaide recently.

I was most concerned that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. We do strive to provide a five star service to our guests and it seems we have let you down on this occasion.

Unfortunately there was a communication breakdown and your requests were not passed on however I am pleased this was resolved once it was brought to our attention.

On the odd occasion errors can occur when wakeup calls are misdirected. I do understand that this impacted your day and I sincerely apologise that this broke your sleep and caused you inconvenience.

Once again I do apologise for the disappointment you felt on this occasion regarding service and how your feedback was dealt with on checkout. I would however encourage you to treat this as an exception rather than a reflection of the hotel as my team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Adelaide again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Having stayed in the hotel for just over six months in early 2013 and a couple of occasions since I like the place and have recommended that a number of my staff stay there on their trips to the city.
As a Diamond HHonours member am lucky enough to avail of room upgrades and the executive lounge. Food good and one of the best breakfast selections in town. Staff always attentive and helpful.
Looking forward to celebrating my wedding anniversary at the hotel this weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for highest room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Dave F,

I appreciate you passing on your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us and thank you for your continued loyalty to Hilton Adelaide.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us and you have found the team to always be attentive and helpful. We do have a great team and I am very proud of the exceptional service they provide our guests.

Our breakfast buffet is indeed a fantastic experience with many selections made with fresh local produce. I hope you had another wonderful stay for your wedding anniversary and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is very nice and elegant, all good reviews for furniture, design, bed lining, rooms and lounges. The location is also excellent, right in the middle of city. However, we had a bad experience with the room cleanliness. One of the dressing gowns (towel coat) was dirty!! We never expected to find something like this in this hotel. The other thing that we did not like with my husband is that we left the hotel after the first night at 9am and came back at 4pm and found our room not cleaned yet!! Just the water bottles were replaced but nothing with doing the bed, replacing amenities, etc. We had to go out again. This two things made us feel disappointed with the service, especially because it was supposed to be a pleasure trip for us. Moreover, I am a Silver member of Hilton Honors and had to call twice to ask for late check-out (just asked for 1 more hour), the first lady even told me that late check-out was not a benefit!! Anyway, we are not coming back to this hotel, it is really nice but the bad experience with the service just let it down. Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Julissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Julissa,

I appreciate you passing on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are in a prime location close to the Markets and Gouger Street and across the road from the tram stop which enables you to move around the city at no cost.

I am pleased you found your room and facilities satisfactory during your stay however I did note your concerns with the cleanliness of your room. Please rest assured this will be discussed with our Housekeeping Manager to ensure more care is taken.

We are happy to offer Silver Hilton Hhonors members a complimentary late check out until 12pm upon availability and I apologise for any confusion on this occasion.

I apologise that the service was not what you expected this time and I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Location is fantastic right next to the market and many restaurants, Chinatown is just right behind the hotel. Stay at the club floor, the room is clean, service is good. I was in Adelaide for a conference and had all in all a pleasant stay. The gym is functional and okay equipped, the sauna and jacuzzi were nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silentscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Silentscope,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience in an Executive Room and the benefits you received.

We are very fortunate to be very close to the Central Market and Chinatown and in walking distance to many fine restaurants and shopping areas around the city.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

we stayed here for a special occasion and chose the package to include breakfast. Was very impressed. Great hotel lovely concierge staff and overall impressed. Loved the pillows and view from the room. Concierge staff very friendly recognised me from when I worked there 11 years ago!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Tracey C,

Thank you for your positive comments and welcome back to Hilton Adelaide.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed the breakfast included with your accommodation package. Our Executive Chef, Mr Lloyd Cremer and his team take great effort to present a delicious buffet with various selections and I am pleased this was to your liking.

Our team are very focused on ensuring our guests enjoy their stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the Concierge team.

I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $100 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing