We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare FIVE from me.”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Location is excellent.
Free tram to Rundle mall. (However it is walking distance really)
Nicely appointed.
Numerous elevators, so no long waits. The apples they leave at the elevator waits are actually excellent.
Service very very good.
Breakfast for Exec is excellent. If you eat breakfast, and not a GOLD card, pay the extra $30. If you don't eat breakfast, the extra 30 won't buy you anything, so save it.
Central market next door is great if you don't mind mingling with the locals.
Chinatown a block away has cheap and so-so to more moderate and better Chinese food. I haven't had time to try the expensive ones.
The flow in front of the hotel, cars checking in, bus tour checking out is spacious enought that it doesn't impede you or anyone else.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank QZOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,188 - 2,194 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2008

This is another 4/5 star place... it's comfortable enough, the location is good - right in the CBD just off the square.

But it's not "outstanding" - it's a bit bland, and a little "tired" in places, especially the decor, carpets etc. Checkin was very efficent as was checkout. Price was pretty good.

Some other things were new - bed was clearly new - and very comfy. As was the flatscreen tv.

The room service food and service was outstanding. The portions very large, and overall very good value. The chicken fillet burger is yum, and what a pile of chips !!

Overall, not bad at all - would stay again.

Stayed: April 2008
4  Thank pommie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed in Adelaide for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel was fantastic, so well run and staff where extremely helpful.

We stayed on the executive floor and had access for the executive lounge each evening which was fantastic- great drinks and great food. There are a lot of great restaurants close to the hotel. We dined in the Brasserie restaurant which is one of the best places that we have eaten.

The rooms are spacious and well maintained. There is a pillow menu for those that are picky about there pillow! Everything was particularly clean and the bathroom was spacious.

Overall i would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Szepfalusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Stayed here on reward points for one night after several days wine-tasting in the Barossa. Based on reviews here, I requested an Exec Level room upon check-in, and had already been upgraded. Room was in excellent condition, with fashionable furnishings and a very modern-looking and functional bathroom. Bed was extremely comfortable and gave us a sound nights sleep. And the hotel staff was extremely friendly and quick to respond. A request to bring up a wine shipper that a winery had left at the valet for us was at our door within seconds of hanging up the phone.

The Exec Lounge was as well-stocked as any lounge Ritz or Four Seasons. Great layout of foods and wines. I was suprised however that the computers available up there had a fee, as I was looking to research some restaurant menus on-line since the flagship Grange restaurant was closed for the month, and they didn't have a book of menus as almost any hotel does, at least in the States. Just walked the area with my wife and wandered into some casual fish place, as we weren't looking for much.

Parking was very easy in the Market Garages right behind the hotel, for $7 overnight rather than the $25 hotel charge (or even the $20 posted at the garage....not sure why I paid so little, but certainly happy!)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank davidandrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Needs a refurb bit is still pretty good.

I'm originally from Adelaide and this is where I stay when I go home.

In terms of location it is great - close to Gouger and Rundle streets.

The Treasury Hotel is a bit newer - but the Hilton is still my choice.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Michael647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

I stay at this hotel every year and it is one of the main reasons I wanted to become a Diamond Hilton member. All the standard rooms look as though they have never been updated. As this accounts for the bulk of the rooms, most people's stay their is less than satisfactory. It consists of a hard bed that is too low to the ground. An old tube screen TV with a reception problem. A throwback bathroom with the shower/tub combo and brown/tan tiles. Not to mention the orange chair by the window to look out over the fair city. Move up a few floors and you enter an entirely different hotel. Completely remodeled, the rooms (plus and executive) have spanking new bathrooms, larger than before with a bevy of marble, clean new lighting, separate shower and tub, along with modern decor in the bedroom, including a flat panel TV.
In both cases the rooms are generally quiet (avoid being behind the elevator shaft) and the curtains do a good job of keeping the morning light out. I would suggest however that you ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, facing West (towards the ocean) as it has arguably a better view, and less noise from the street and the numerous church bells that seem to always be ringing.
Try to find alternate parking if you have a rental car unless the idea of $25 bucks a night for valet sits with you. The central market lot behind the hotel is a good choice -- speaking of which, a visit to the market is a must, check the schedule as it is only open a few days a week.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank theseatsaretooclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Decor rather tired and dated. I was in a twin single room, which was comfortable enough. The bed was not made properly in the morning, and the rubbish had not been cleared from the room. Some of the powerpoints in the bathroom did not work, so I had to dry my hair without a mirror. Breakfast very overpriced for what it was - the Continental is $24 per head, for essentially cereal, toast, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Debmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $112 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing