We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING HOTEL”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING HOTEL”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything about this hotel was outstanding, particularly in comparison to a Hilton I stayed at the previous weekend in another State. Check-in was very smooth, with at least 3 people at the desk plus the concierge.Our room was a corner room on the 17th floor, had excellent views, was clean, very comfortable, plenty of space. We had access to the Executive Lounge, which had a nice selection of food and drinks, better than some other lounges I've eaten at.The breakfast area is very stylish, great food, nice staff.Try the Black Pig bacon, it's rather unique.There is a good workout area, pool, spa and sauna.I managed to do my normal lap swimming, even though it is a small pool.Parking is offsite, so it can take 10-15 minutes to get your car delivered.As a Gold member, I do not pay for internet, but the business lounge is being renovated , so I believe there should not be a charge while that is happening.Special mention to the kind staff member who handed in my wallet after it had fallen out of my pocket in the hallway adjacent to my room,everything intact.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper level. even if you have to pay to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear DerekHulme,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the team to be helpful and attentive. We do have a great team that take pride in their work and I am glad that you were able to experience this during your stay.

Our Executive Chef and his team do create quite an interesting array of Australian cuisine and I am pleased you found this to your liking.

We are in the planning process for more renovations to the guest areas of the hotel however nothing has been set in concrete as yet. We are very excited to be able to improve and update the facilities we provide to our guests.

I am relieved that your wallet was found and was passed back to you without delay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    898
    386
    117
    89
See reviews for
183
814
166
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here using a Wotif special - paid $200 which included a refurbished room, breakfast, parking and a late checkout. Hotel is very nice and rooms were comfortable. Staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was beautiful. My only gripe was waiting over 40 mins for the valet to bring my car to the entrance.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear JimboAustralia,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the City Break package and all the inclusions.

The feedback regarding the friendly service you received from the team is much appreciated and I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast in the Brasserie Restaurant.

I did note your comments in regards to the waiting time for your car to be delivered. Unfortunately on some occasions we get many requests all at the same time resulting in a delay however I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked a Mini City Break and enjoyed our night at the Hilton. The package was well priced and good value for what was included. Well located to excellent restaurants and was brilliant to gather with dear friends and enjoy a night out together and then not have to drive home that night! A lingering breakfast next morning followed by relaxing in the foyer with a coffee before returning home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Cheryl G,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hilton Adelaide and you were able to relax with friends and enjoy the facilities at the hotel before returning home to your everyday routine.

I appreciate your feedback and I am pleased you found this package good value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILDURA, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Hilton in Adelaide is very central and close to shops and restaurants. Adelaide Market is behind the Hilton and enables you to buy fresh produce as well. Special deal of $199 including parking and breakfast was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found the “City Break” package good value for money.

We are indeed fortunate to be in a convenient location with the markets next door and other shopping areas and popular restaurants close by.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed overnight recently and very underwhelmed. For $300 per night you get a small room with a very noisy air conditioner in a noisy part of Adelaide. One of the most uncomfortable beds in which it has been my misfortune to "sleep" and staff who see you as an item to be "processed"; not an atom of any "hospitality. The Hilton seems to have the disease common to other "premier" Adelaide hotels of thinking they don't have to try and guests are a nuisance. A final thing, in Aus local calls are about 30 cents fixed; why does the Hilton charge by the minute?

Room Tip: A west facing room would be quieter. Even on the 15th floor it is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegrayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear thegrayghost,

I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

At Hilton Adelaide it is our philosophy, and therefore our priority, to deliver the highest level of product and service to our valued guests. I was therefore disappointed to learn of the lapse in standards you experienced during your stay.

I have shared your feedback with my management team to ensure that our standards are maintained at a consistently high level. I encourage you to treat your experience as an exception and not a reflection of the philosophy of the Hilton Adelaide. I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I appreciate your comments relating to the phone call charges. We do continuously monitor our prices and keep them in line with the current market.

I would naturally hope we could restore your faith in our services in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for a week long business trip. Room was clean and tidy with comfortable large bed. Comfortable stay, close to plenty of restaurants with a great variety. Located outside a tram stop for those who want to travel to Glenelg and is a short walk to Rundle Mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobblyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Wobblyboot,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling for business and I am happy that you had a comfortable stay.

We are fortunate to be located close to many popular restaurants with the convenience of the tram stop just outside the hotel offering free travel around the city. The shopping areas in the city and other sites of interest are just a short walk away.

I appreciate your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here due to a work Christmas function nearby. Booked through wotif which was first mistake. They fill up their rooms with wotif customers that nobody else would want. I asked for non smoking as am chrontic asthmatic. Guess what. Put on the smokers floor. Smoke pumping through aircon vents. Clothes, hair everything smelled of smoke. Complained but sent up bottle of wine.( which doesnt fix the problem.) also told would receive chocolates but they never came and told valet parking would be waved. Still got charged. Told hotel was fully booked so could not move. We would have checked out during the night as i had asthma all night but due to having a few drinks at the work function i did not want to risk driving which was the purpose of booking a motel close by. I have now been to the doctors and am on steroids to combat my asthma. Thanks alot. The bathroom was revolting. Shower you get burned or frozen. After fidling for 10 mins i chose frozen and not to scald myself. (did not want another dr visit) The best thing was the buffet breakfast except for the head waitress who was very rude infront of patrons to her staff who were very busy. Most staff were friendly especially Hugh on Valet service. Will never stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking floor, not just non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cookie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear cookie327,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was concerned that you had a disappointing stay and you found your room allocation unsatisfactory. We do have four smoking rooms left in the hotel due to demand and I apologise that you were put on the same floor due to high occupancy. I understand your frustration however the hotel was fully booked therefore we were unable to relocate you to a different floor on this occasion. I apologise for the effects that you experienced as a result.

I appreciate your comments in regards to your bathroom. I am sorry for the shower problems that you encountered and the inconvenience this caused. I appreciate you passing on your concerns about team communication in the Brasserie Restaurant and rest assured this will be discussed with our Outlets Manager for further training.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing