We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sth Austalia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hilton Hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely hotel, bed was king size and comfortable. Lousy TV reception. they said they were changing TV's but couldn't understand why they still had bad reception for a 5 star hotel. also only about 7 channels. No free Wifi. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Maria H,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the comfort of your bed.

I did note your comments in regards to the Television in your room. We are in the process of updating the Televisions in the guest rooms however as you can imagine this is a large project that takes time. We have also just changed our internet provider and installed a connectivity station in the Lobby to enable us to get a more reliable service. I apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    923
    392
    118
    90
See reviews for
191
835
170
836
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a suite and it was a great design with office space, king size bed, lounge area, walk in robe and spacious functional bathroom. Valet parking was excellent - car was waiting out the front at the designated time.Only thing we didn't like was the Brasserie style restaurant off the lobby - too noisy and little ambience.

Hotel is in a great location with a hundred restaurants just around the corner near china town. Very easy to find when driving from the airport and also easy to navigate out of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 914Swanny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear 914Swanny914,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with your room and facilities. Valet parking is a popular service offered to our guests due to convenience and I am glad you were able to make use of this.

It was disappointing that you found the Brasserie restaurant not to your liking however we are fortunate to be located in the hub of Victoria Square close to many other restaurant choices and in walking distance to the popular shopping areas.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent two nights being cared for at the Hilton in Adelaide and were sad to leave. It is an excellent base from which to explore the city and our American friend rated his martini as "the best ever" and that is rare praise indeed - he is 90!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the service you received from the team.

We are in a convenient location and perfect for sightseeing around our beautiful city and I am pleased that you chose Hilton Adelaide as your base.

I appreciate your comments in regards to “the best ever martini”. We have some very experienced and passionate bar tenders who take pride in ensuring their product is unique and top class for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Your sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great service, great location, fantastic rooms. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Adelaide, particulary on business.Good value for money and a very nice executive lounge worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Paul G C,

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted that you were pleased with the service you received during your stay. We do have a great team that make every effort to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and I appreciate your recommendation of Hilton Adelaide.

Our Executive Lounge is perfect for the business traveller with a lounge available to Executive guests including complimentary drinks and canapés in the evenings and a continental breakfast in the mornings and I am pleased you were able to experience this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chadstone
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

poor standard of accomodation and care of customers. Minimal help with printing a boarding pass for the out going flight. Poor standard of room for a business visit. The TV was inadequate. The paint on the ceiling above the bath was peeling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank steve.bChadstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear steve bChadstone,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I was concerned that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. Please rest assured we do strive to provide a high quality service to our guests and I apologise that on this occasion you felt this was not the case.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards you experienced. Rest assured I share your disappointment in this matter and have in response addressed with my management team to ensure such lapses are not repeated.

I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I would however encourage you to treat this as an exception rather than a reflection of the hotel as my team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Adelaide again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel really does qualify for the "tired" adjective. The rooms are adequate but don't look as if they've been updated for some decades, and it's no use talking about refurbs now or in the future: they charge their rates for what's now on offer. That said, the beds are comfortable and the basics are ok - plus the hotel's location is excellent.

But the other negatives include: eye-watering charges for wi-fi, which came to $29 a day. It would have rated 3 without that. Poor breakfast service despite more high charges. Room cleaning done very late on one day. And the final bill was wrong, unless laundering a shirt really is $30 each. (They corrected it, but without any explanation or apology.) I'm sure it must be possible to do better in Adelaide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner5870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Londoner5870,

Thank you for your honest feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you found your bed comfortable and you were happy with the location of the hotel however I did note your negative comments about certain aspects of your stay.

We do have plans in place for further upgrades to the hotel however I understand your comments in regards to what is currently available to guests. We do monitor our rates and keep them up to date with the current local market.

We are currently in the process of changing our internet provider and price options available to our guests with the addition of a complimentary connectivity station being installed in the Lobby area. I apologise for the lack of service and errors which occurred during your stay. This is not the service we pride ourselves in and please rest assured this has been discussed with my management team to ensure they reiterate with their teams the importance of providing a five star service to our valued guests.

I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was a bit worried after reading previous reviews but found nothing to be concerned about. We stayed in a King Deluxe room - it looked updated, extremely comfortable bed, very competent service. The location is superb being close to the Central Market including Haigh's chocolates and Vintage Cellars as well as Coles. The Gouger St restaurants give you plenty of choice for cheap eats. The Rundle Mall is a short walk away.

My only grizzle would be that we couldn't use both types of shower options which meant that we routinely flooded the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryqueenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear luxuryqueenMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found your room comfortable. I appreciate your positive comments in regards to the service you received from the team and I am pleased you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel being close to many fine restaurants and in walking distance to the shopping areas in Adelaide.

I apologise for the problem with your shower. We are currently investigating this design fault and I apologise for any inconvenience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing