We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Isa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staff were great. Hotel has a very nice ambience. Rooms and bathrooms good. Food never disappoints. This is our second visit to the Hilton Adelaide and will definitely return. The fresh produce is amazing. A true five star experience. Oh, damn just remembered the pillows are quite flat which I did not personally enjoy, but apparently you can call for some with more body.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny22-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jenny22-13,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent accommodation.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the hotel to have a nice ambience with the addition of good rooms and great food.

Our Chefs do take pride in the cuisine they create using fresh local ingredients and I am glad that you found this to be a top quality experience.

At Hiltons worldwide a pillow menu is located in the compendium of each room where pillows of your choice are available on request from Housekeeping.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    925
    393
    118
    90
See reviews for
191
838
170
836
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I see some nice reviews here, but I find this hotel quintessentially mediocre by Hilton standards, and there is also a dark side. Going for it are the location and dining, especially breakfast. The dark side is that some of the rooms, especially on the third floor, are a disgrace - dated and damaged fittings, frankly dirty carpet and sofas - unloved motel style rooms. The beds are also old. The bathrooms are depressing. And management does not impress with their response to guest feedback.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Michael E,

Thank you for your review on your recent experience at Hilton Adelaide.

I was happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the dining experience in the Brasserie Restaurant however I note your comments in regards to the state of some of the rooms and I apologise for your disappointment.

Although we have carried out some renovations in the hotel recently including some refurfishment of some of the rooms we do have plans in place in the future to carry out more substantial renovations in the hotel. I apologise for your disappointment on this occassion.

I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future to enjoy the updated facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic staff, amenities, location, nothing bad to say about this place. We stayed on the 17th floor, we had access to the executive club which I think was good value, we had great views across to the harbour and airport.

Definitely staying here again next time we are in Adelaide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Geoff G,

Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay with us.

I was pleased that you had a pleasant stay and you were happy with the team and the amenities provided.

The Executive Floor offers its own lounge area with evening drinks and canapés served and I am pleased that you were able to experience this during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Frequently travel to Adelaide for work and always stay at the Hilton. Super clean, nice & quiet rooms, friendly staff and the ribs at their on site restaurant are to die for! Once got upgraded as 'guest of the day' which was a lovely touch. Will continue to stay here, A+++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlegustskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear castlegustskull,

Thank you for your positive comments in regards to your recent stay and thank you for your continued loyalty.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found the rooms to be clean and quiet. I appreciate your positive comments about the service you received from the team in the Restaurant and I am glad you were able to experience the fine cuisine on offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is clean, but starting to look old. Central location, friendly staff, spacious rooms. Beds are ok. Situated very close to the tram, it's easy to get to Glenelg beach. Chinatown is just around the corner and the indoor market 20 metres from the entrance of the hotel is super.
Breakfast is nice, freshly made juice and coffee and nice selection of hot food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzmezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jazzmezz,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the team to be very friendly. I am pleased to say we are in the process of a renovation program throughout the hotel which will see the guest areas refreshed and updated.

We are in a convenient location in the hub of Victoria Square next to China Town and close to the central markets. Our Chefs offer a wide variety of items on the breakfast buffet in the Brasserie Restaurant and I am pleased that you were able to experience this fine selection.

I hope I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are Adelaide locals and decided to try out the newly opened Collins Bar at the Hilton Adelaide. I am sorry to say that the professionalism of the bar staff was appalling!! The waitress called in some extra staff from the main hotel and then they all stood in a group of 5 or 6 people discussing and staring at us, and generally making us feel really uncomfortable, before finally coming over to ask the younger-looking members of our group for their IDs. I couldn't believe that the staff at a new cocktail bar which has had so much hype surrounding its opening should be so amateur in their behaviour. We were all well-dressed and willing to spend money, and there was no reason why we should be treated with such disdain. They had better lift their game if they want to live up to the hype! The cocktails were OK, pity about the treatment.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank reez1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear reez1234,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to The Collins Bar. I was pleased that you enjoyed your cocktails however I was concerned about the service you received from the team members.

Please rest assured I have discussed these events with the Bar Manager and may I stress that you are important to us and I apologise that this situation was not handled in a professional manner. Our team strive to provide a quality service to our patrons and unfortunately on this occasion this was not the case.

I hope I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to enjoy the atmosphere of the bar once more where we can show you the service we pride ourselves on.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location is good. Hotel could do with refurbishment but it was still pleasant and very clean.
Room was comfortable as was the bed. The pillows were uncomfortable and too soft. We were not aware of a pillow menu as mentioned in some reviews. Reception staff professional, efficient and courteous. Not impressed with bar/restaurant staff. Went to the restaurant for a light snack but was informed that the chef had packed up and I would have to wait 10 minutes for the bar to open for snacks delivered in a not too friendly way. Eventually ordered soup which took around 20 + minutes to appear. Ordered a Margarita which had to be sent back because it was made from syrup. Bar staff said that they didn't have any fresh lemons! After awhile they found some. Rather ordinary for a Hilton Hotel. Would we stay here again? No. Have stayed in other Hilton hotels superior to this in service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear JM1609,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and you were happy with the service you received from the Reception staff however I did note your comments in regards to the service you received while in the bar.

Please rest assured I have discussed this with the Bar Manager who will ensure his team take more care in the finer details of customer service. I apologise for the inconvenience on this occasion.

I am pleased to say we are in the process of a renovation program which will see the refurbishment of all the guest areas in the hotel and I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future where you may enjoy the updated facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing