We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel In Adelaide” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel In Adelaide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I said at this hotel in early Jan 2013. The hotel is a little dated with furniture, carpet and decor but had a very plesent stay while in Adelaide. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The excecutive lounge was limited hours due to the holiday, but the hotel compensated with bistro and breakfast in the main restaurant. Location is good and close to local restaurants and shopping. I will definately stay here again if back in Adelaide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Jim S,

Thank you for your positive comments in regards to your stay at the beginning of the year.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff to be friendly and attentive.

During the holiday season we do reduce the opening hours of the Executive Lounge however breakfast and evening canapés is still served to Executive floor guests in the Brasserie Restaurant. I apologise for the inconvenience.

We are fortunate to be located next to the Central markets and in walking distance to shopping areas and popular restaurants.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    861
    368
    111
    85
See reviews for
178
772
159
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've been staying here for years, am a Hilton Honors Diamond member, and have previously reviewed this as my choice of hotel in Adelaide. We booked 2 interconnecting rooms for a family long weekend in stay late November, and I agree with recent reviews that this hotel is not what it once was.
There was no "welcome back" from check in staff, or a welcome card / letter from the GM in the room as there has been in the past.
We were upgraded to the executive floor but these un-renovated rooms, as others have said, are feeling dated and shabby. The set up of the doors was awkward and one door had an automatic closer so the space was inconvenient for a family stay. I called down and asked if someone could adjust or remove the auto closer but no one ever responded.
Our first morning it took over 45 minutes for our car to be brought around by the valet after we called down for it.
We had dinner in the Brasserie to celebrate my Mum and brothers' birthdays. Despite visiting the restaurant (twice) prior to dinner to ask if they could put a candle on top of each of the birthday boy /girls deserts, and being told "yes no problem" this didn't happen. Instead of an apology from the waitress we copped attitude. The maitre de apologised but all too late really.
On a more positive note the executive lounge was very busy but the staff were fantastic. We ate breakfast there each day with our 2.5 year old and baby and it was lovely and peaceful.
We did enjoy our stay but I was left feeling there were a series of things that let the hotel down. Its interesting to read that others feel the same way, and I hope that the Hilton can lift their game to be the number 1 choice in Adelaide again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BozD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear BozD,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide and thank you for your continued loyalty.

I was pleased that you were happy with your upgrade to the Executive floor and the service you received from the team in the Executive Lounge.

I was concerned to read your comments in regards to your disappointment in the service standards. We strive to achieve a five star service for all of our valued guests and please rest assured this has not changed.

As you are aware we are in the process of upgrading all the guest areas of the hotel however as you can appreciate a project of that size does take time.

I have discussed the issue you experienced with the interconnecting door with our Chief Engineer and due to fire standards it is necessary to have the self auto closer on the door however I apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your stay.

I understand your disappointment in the lack of service you received from the Brasserie Restaurant. I realise this was a special occasion and you expected more. I have discussed this with the Food and Beverage Manager who will ensure his team is briefed and extra training provided.

I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I would however encourage you to treat this as an exception rather than a reflection of the hotel and I hope you will give me the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide again to experience the five star service we pride ourselves on.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This review is only about the cocktail lounge. I met some female friends for farewell drinks, expecting to spend a few hours together. The lounge has not changed in 20 years. The air conditioning was inadequate for an admittedly very hot day. The tables were dirty, the floor had obvious food stains and it took two tries over at least 45 minutes to have the food near our table removed. The waiting staff were sweet, but seemed inexperienced and disorganized. There was a free bowl of nuts and a couple of intermittent trays of melon and prosciutto offered over a three hour period on a Friday afternoon. There was live music, a single man on guitar, which was enjoyable.
Overall however I would not return. We were paying top dollar for drinks ($60 for a bottle of Domain Chandon and $20 for a cocktail). Neither the ambience or the service were worthy of such pricing.
I feel quite despondent that an old favorite is so down at heel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Catherine G,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent experience at Hilton Adelaide.

I was concerned to read of your disappointment in the Lobby Lounge. Please rest assured this has been discussed with the Food and Beverage Manager who will discuss your comments with his team. We are in the process of a rolling renovation program with the aim of upgrading all the guest areas of the hotel. Renovations are currently underway on the bar in the Lobby area with completion expected in late January with future upgrades expected to take place in the Lobby Lounge.

I hope to welcome you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future to enjoy the benefits of the upgraded facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I travelled to Adelaide for Xmas with our two dogs and wanted to stay at a hotel for a break from the family so we booked into the Hilton as it allows pet.

The accommodation and service was very good. The staff were very good with our dogs and whenever they saw them were very friendly. We had a comfortable room.

I am giving the hotel an average rating for a few issues we encountered

We booked directly on the website and as we were travelling with pets reviewed the terms in a lot of detail. On the website the only policy associated with pets is a $500 refundable deposit.

On check in we had a sign a waiver for the pets and the policy stated only one pet per room. We didn't encounter an issue with our two small dogs, but this may have been down to the goodwill of the person checking us in. If travelling with two dogs I would advise you to call ahead and confirm.

On check out we were charged $90 for the pets. Reviewing the web site there is no mention of this charge for pets (if it is it is very well hidden).

The air conditioning was also very loud.

My other quibble and it is a small one is that the sofas in our room had a few stains. When paying extra to stay in a suite it would be nice for all the furniture to be in tip top shape.

Overall it was good and we would stay there again if we travelled with our dogs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear DC1977,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were pleased with the room you were allocated.

I apologise for the confusion with the pet policy. I have discussed this with our Marketing Manager and this will be investigated further. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

We are in the process of renovating all the guest areas of the hotel including the guest rooms which will give a fresh look and feel. I appreciate your comments in this regard.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here on the 28th - 29th of December 2012. Centrally Located, and great value for Money picked this up on the Hilton website for $135 per night. The parking at $35 over night, is over priced and you can park at the bus station around the corner for $18.

There is a great Restaurant scene around the corner with lots of options. We ended up with Korean one night and Italian the next.

Ask for a Corner room if you can get one. ( Multi window views ).

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Hill,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were fortunate to secure a good rate.

A couple of different options are available for parking your vehicle including a self park option however most of our guests find valet parking more convenient.

We are lucky to be located in the hub of Victoria Square close to the popular shopping districts and many fine restaurants showcasing different cuisines.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here over New Years and was surprised how dated the hotel is. Rooms were nice but very poor tv reception. Pool and spa very dated and needing upgrade. Spa didn't even work. Service ok. Certainly the Hilton would not be among the best hotels in Adelaide

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_and_r_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear e_and_r_57,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your stay on New Years Eve.

I was pleased that you were happy with your room however concerned that you were not totally satisfied with your stay.

We are currently in the process of updating all the guest areas of the hotel including the bar in the Lobby which is currently under construction.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future to enjoy the upgraded facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I stayed six nights over Christmas in two connecting rooms. We were upgraded on check in to two nice rooms over-looking the park. The rooms looked like they had been recently renovated and were well appointed. The bathrooms had also been renovated and although small, were clean and functional as well as having a nice clean look to them.

I have two minor complaints with the renovated rooms.
1. There were no drawers to unpack into, only a closet with hanging space. This wouldn't be a problem on a short business trip, but as we were staying for six nights we wanted to unpack. There was a space under the safe that might have been used for this purpose, but the shelves that should have been there were stacked in the bottom because of missing clips to hold them up.
2. The bed and pillows were good, but the bed head was hard wood. With only two pillows it was uncomfortable to sit up in bed and read before going to sleep. A soft bed head or more pillows could have solved this.

Our room rate included breakfast, so we ate breakfast in the cafe each day. The cafe area was nice and again looked like it had recently been renovated. The staff were pleasant and efficient, and the food quality was good. The staff also went the extra mile when my daughter asked for chocolate chip waffles. After explaining that they weren't part of the breakfast buffet, they said that they would see what they could do. Ten minutes later, a plate of beautifully presented chocolate chip waffles with fresh strawberries appeared, which my daughter said were the best she had eaten.

The location is very good with the Central Markets just around the corner, along with Chinatown and a street of good restaurants. With the tram stop right out front you can take a free tram two stops to Rundle mall or pay to take the tram to Glenelg. There was also a taxi rank next to the hotel, so there was never any problem getting a taxi.

While not an exceptional hotel, this was a good hotel that we would look forward to staying at again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear PaulB36,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with your room and the upgrade you received.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the shelves and the pillows in your room. Unfortunately I am not aware of the room that you were in however I have asked Housekeeping to check and ensure the shelves are repaired. Our new standard is to have four pillows on each bed which is currently being rolled out however we do have extra pillows available from Housekeeping upon request. I apologise for the inconvenience.

Our Chefs provide a wide selection of local fresh produce on the breakfast buffet and I was pleased to hear that you were able to experience this and also get the chocolate chip waffles your daughter requested.

Our location is second to none and we are fortunate to be able to enjoy the close proximity of the local shopping areas and fine restaurants in Gouger Street including the convenience of the tram at our doorstep.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing