We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Just Had a wonderful stay. Nice room, stayed in a Junior Suite. Would recommend. Great views.

Very nice bathroom and efficient valet parking!

Self check out is great idea!

Also great coffee in the brassiere

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petshopboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Petshopboy8,

I appreciate your comments on trip advisor and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

It was pleasing to read that you found the staff very helpful and you were happy with your room and bathroom amenities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely


Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was absolutely woeful. I was disgusted: other people's pubic hairs will do that for you. I realise the place is being refurbished, but even so, this was unacceptable for the price. Book-in was pleasant and polite. But it was all downhill after that. I had a queen bed. It had two pillows. None in the wardrobe, nor a spare blanket. Do they assume that guests all sleep with one pillow, or double them up and stick to one side of the bed? Oh ho - PILLOW MENU, I hear you scoff - that's what you should have done. I did. Rang reception and asked for two pillows. Shortly afterwards, one arrived. In a dingy and threadbare pillowslip, which looked suspiciously like polyester cotton.
Points for promptness, but not for hygiene. As the pubic hairs on the bathtub rim demonstrated.
The advertised bathrobes were absent. There was only one cake of soap. The tub had a fizzing bath salts tablet (useless in Adelaide's hard water) and some shower gel, but no soap. Not only that, but the two-way faucet was dodgy. The only was to fill the bath was by having the bath tap and the shower running together. Quite nasty.
Presumably this establishment wants to attract business travellers. If so, perhaps they might consider more power points. There were two that weren't already in use. So one has to decide which of the laptop, the phone and the iPad is safest charging in the bathroom. Oh, and wireless charges are high. Which is a shame because the 3G reception is so poor that if you want to do anything on line you're in for a long wait. Or a steep charge.
By the time I'd been in the room for ten minutes I was fuming. This didn't get any better when I looked at the breakfast menu. To get bacon, eggs and toast together, one needs to sign up for the super-duper you beaut breakfast which was (memory fails, although indignation doesn't) around $40. I could have replaced the bacon with some deli smoked fish for a lower (still absurd) price, but frankly, dead pig and smoked fish aren't interchangeable.
Fortunately there's a rather pleasant Indian restaurant in a side street off Gouger St, so I didn't have to wrestle with my conscience about justifying the dinner prices.
For my previous stay in Adelaide, five weeks earlier, I'd booked late and had to stay at the iStay Precinct - hardly a watchword for luxury. It was better-appointed and cleaner. On previous trips over the last year or so I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza, the Majestic and the Grand Chancellor on Currie. All of which were considerably superior.
I rate the Adelaide Hilton with Rydges in Wollongong. Except Rydges was cleaner and had enough pillows.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PleaseChooseAnother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear PleaseChooseAnother,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased that you found the service provided by our Reception staff pleasant however I was concerned to read of the issues surrounding your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

Please rest assured your feedback is important to us and rest assured hygiene is taken very seriously in our daily cleaning routine. I have discussed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper who will reinforce the importance of cleanliness and refreshing room amenities with her team.

I do apologise for your disappointment in certain areas on this occasion. I would however encourage you to treat this as an exception rather than a reflection of the hotel as my team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Adelaide again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I received a room upgrade by chance, because I am a member of their hotel club. We had a room with a king bed furnished for a business traveller. The bathroom was well appointed, having a separate shower and bath. I saw NO mould in the bathroom. Our rate included the full breakfast buffet, which was very good. Supposedly, there is free Internet in the lobby, but we gave up trying to make it work after 30 minutes. We chose this hotel for a one night stay to be near the airport for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear mtrodgers99,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your upgrade and you were able to enjoy the buffet breakfast in the Brasserie Restaurant.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our internet facilities for our guests with a new connectivity station in the Lobby to be installed early in the new year. I do apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a nice stay here but the rooms were not of the standard I expect from a Hilton hotel.
The staff are pleasant and helpful
Buffet breakfast was very good
I attended a conference here and the catering was good for all meals
Great location on Victoria Square and the Adelaide Central Market is right next door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Peta T,

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide and the service you experienced from the team.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the buffet in the Brasserie Restaurant. We are lucky to be in a prime location in the hub of Victoria Square close to many popular restaurants and next to the central markets.

I apologise that you were not totally satisfied with your room on this occasion. We are currently undergoing upgrades to all the guest areas of the hotel which will create a more modern look and feel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary last weekend. We booked the Executive club room, had a lovely stay and would do so again.

We arrived early and our room was not ready yet and was advised that we were welcome to use the Executive lounge while waiting. We were greeted by a lovely staff member in the lounge who was so helpful and very friendly.

When we got to our room there was a complimentary bottle of sparkling there for us for our anniversary. Such a nice touch. Thanks Hilton :)

The executive lounge was always well stocked, good selection of food and drinks and the service was exceptional!

The rooms are really nice and the bed is amazing. Best night sleep ever. Wish I could take the bed home with me!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear CJandJJ,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the service you received from the team. We have a great team that pride themselves on providing five star service to our guests.

Our Executive Lounge is available to our Executive Floor guests which includes complimentary drinks and a selection of canapés. This is a lovely way to start your special stay and I am pleased you were able to experience this while waiting for your room.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Another great hotel in a great town. You expect a certain amount of style from a Hilton - and this one certainly delivered in the bedrooms. The Front Of House areas of the hotel feel a little faded. Apparently this was the first 5* hotel in the area, and you can see that from the foyer and the rooftop tennis court (which is lethal - we lost 4 balls over the roof....).
The bar is reasonably priced, it's a hotel - so ofcourse it costs more than average, but it's not TOO bad. The staff are great and the rooms are lovely (certainly the one I was in was lovely - I guess they've all be re-designed recently?)

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear chrisrankin,

Thank you for passing on your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased that you found the hotel to be of a high quality and happy that your room was to the standard you expected of a Hilton Hotel.

Hilton Adelaide is celebrating its 30 year anniversary this year and as such we are in the process of upgrading all the guest areas of the hotel to modernise the look of the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future to enjoy the benefits of the upgrades.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I felt very comfortable in the clean rooms and nice beds. But in terms of bang for your buck, there are better places in Adelaide. However. if money is of little concern to you and service is priority then the Hilton will surely satisfy your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Tamara C,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you were pleased with your room.

Our team pride ourselves on five star service and I am pleased that you felt your needs were taken care of and the service was of a high standard.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $100 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing