We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly hotel - just a little dated.”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Another great hotel in a great town. You expect a certain amount of style from a Hilton - and this one certainly delivered in the bedrooms. The Front Of House areas of the hotel feel a little faded. Apparently this was the first 5* hotel in the area, and you can see that from the foyer and the rooftop tennis court (which is lethal - we lost 4 balls over the roof....).
The bar is reasonably priced, it's a hotel - so ofcourse it costs more than average, but it's not TOO bad. The staff are great and the rooms are lovely (certainly the one I was in was lovely - I guess they've all be re-designed recently?)

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear chrisrankin,

Thank you for passing on your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased that you found the hotel to be of a high quality and happy that your room was to the standard you expected of a Hilton Hotel.

Hilton Adelaide is celebrating its 30 year anniversary this year and as such we are in the process of upgrading all the guest areas of the hotel to modernise the look of the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future to enjoy the benefits of the upgrades.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,932 - 1,938 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I felt very comfortable in the clean rooms and nice beds. But in terms of bang for your buck, there are better places in Adelaide. However. if money is of little concern to you and service is priority then the Hilton will surely satisfy your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Tamara C,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you were pleased with your room.

Our team pride ourselves on five star service and I am pleased that you felt your needs were taken care of and the service was of a high standard.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed overnight on business and found that it definitely is not as good as other Hilton's I have stayed at before. Recently I stayed at Adana Hilton in Turkey and that was magnificent, Hilton Adelaide compared to Adana fizzles. The rooms need a makeover, the service was not the usual standards (I arrived early and was informed the room was not ready and will be notified via my mobile once ready and should be around 2pm, hence 3pm and no call, I walked up to front desk and asked why its taking so long and was informed the room is actually ready but no one bothered to notify) and the buffet breakfast was average. The location is great in the heart of the cbd. Three stars as it lacks compared to other Hilton's.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogeterus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Gogeterus,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient in the hub of Victoria Square within walking distance to the business district and close to the markets and popular restaurants on Gouger Street.

We are currently in the process of renovating all the guest areas of the hotel which will create a more modern and updated feel in the hotel.

I appreciate your comments which are valuable in enabling us to gain feedback of our performance thus allowing us to monitor and improve our services by focusing on your needs as a guest in the hotel.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Hilton Adelaide is in a very good spot right at Victoria Square. Easy to sight see around the city and easy to walk to work if you're on business.
They have groups and conventions at times, so you may have to weave around some folks when the lobby areas get crowded.
I prefer to use strairs for a bit of exercise, but I found them annoying to use because you can't get out at the ground level, only the level one up from the ground level where they hold the group meetings and dinners.
The gym was adequate and the machines were modern and in good working order. But the free weights only go up to 9 kg, which isn't enough weight. Temperature in the gym was often uncomfortably high, presumably because it attaches to a sauna so the heat must leak through the wall and under the door.
The service was generally quite friendly and competent. The front desk answered promptly and seemed knowledgeable. My room was kept clean and tidy.
Watch out for the $29 per day internet fee, which seems exorbitant to me. If your stay is long ask if they're able to do a weekly rate of some kind.
I only ate there once because the menu was highly priced. The lobby bar has a nice selection of unique beers from around Australia which I really enjoyed and also has some food, though I wasn't too impressed with the spring rolls. The bar area was often lively, but the restaurant seemed mostly dead, especially at night.
The biggest reason this place earns only a 3 from me instead of a 4 was my room was not sound-proof at all. It was one of those connecting rooms with a door to another hotel room. Even when tightly shut and locked, I could clearly hear what was going on in the other room. Over my stay this included people making love one night, someone with a bad cough another few nights, and someone that liked to watch crime dramas on the TV. This made it difficult to sleep.
Overall it was a fair stay, though I'll probably try another place for my next visit.

Room Tip: Avoid connecting rooms if possible. The doors seem paper thin and you can hear everything going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vision337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Vision337,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay and your positive comments in regards to the service you received from the team at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and easy to get around with the tram stop right outside or in walking distance to the main shopping areas of the city.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the rooms and facilities and I apologise for your disappointment on this occasion. We are in the process of a rolling renovation program which will see all the rooms and guest facilities upgraded. As you can appreciate this is a big job that takes time to complete with minimum disruption to our guests. We are currently undergoing upgrades to the bar in the Lobby area followed by other areas of the ground floor which will create a more modern look for the hotel.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton in the future where you can experience the upgraded facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Adelaide Hilton for one night.
I had stayed at the hotel some years before and recall having mixed feelings about the quality of the room and level of service offered during that visit. However, as my partner is a Diamond member, I was hoping for a better experience this time around.

We received an upgrade to an executive room. While the room was nicely furnished and better appointed than some of the other rooms in the hotel, our room on level 18, the hotel’s top floor, experienced a fair bit of wind noise from the elevator shafts, even though we were away from the lifts.
The king sized bed was not a true king bed, it was made up of two singles pushed together, and the gap in between the two beds was quite noticeable and led to an uncomfortable and broken sleep.

The executive lounge seemed well appointed, but the lounge’s full service hours were a little too restrictive. Its complete closure during the day also came as a surprise, when considering that other executive lounges within the Hilton family, as well as in other hotels of similar rating, offer at least a basic service during the day.

The staff at check-in, in the executive lounge, and also in the restaurant, while friendly, were not overly welcoming or engaging as the staff at other Hilton properties.

Overall the stay was OK, but certainly not up to the same standard as other five star hotels.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KierenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear KierenX,

Thank you for taking the time to forward some feedback on your recent experience at Hilton Adelaide.

I am glad you were able to experience an upgrade due to your partner’s diamond status however I was concerned that you were not totally satisfied due to the wind noise and the type of bed in your room.

As with most hotels we have King Zipper beds which enables us to change the configuration of the room to specifications required. We do have a thick woollen overlay on top of the bed to ensure maximum comfort however I apologise that this did not suit you.

Our Executive Lounge hours are 6.30am - 9pm so I am not sure why you found the Lounge closed. This will be investigated with the Lounge Manager.

We do strive to ensure our guests enjoy 5 star service. Our team pride themselves on providing this ultimate experience however I apologise that you did not feel they were very welcoming on this occasion. This will be brought to the attention of department Managers to discuss with their teams.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This a very good hotel, particularly if you can get an executive room/suite and it has been refurbished (they may all be now). The arrival with a helpful doorman is great, reception prompt and the rooms are well equipped and spacious. Location is good for the CBD and governmental offices, there is a tram stop opposite for Glenelg and the beach. The restaurant has very good food but could do with becoming a bit more professional/special. At the moment the surroundings don't meet the standard of the food. The bar is a problem as it is a central meeting point in Adelaide so at times residents can't get a seat- so that is why you need to get to the executive lounge. The receptionist on the exec lounge is fantastic and a delight even after a 24hr journey from the UK

Room Tip: Junior suite- great space, great decor and comfortable facing the sea (miles away but you can just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear fedupguest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were pleased with your refurbished room. We are in the process of upgrading all the guest rooms and facilities which will create a more modern up to date feel.

We are very fortunate to be in a prime location in the business district in the city centre next to the tram stop and in walking distance to some fine restaurants.

I did note your comments in regards to the Brasserie Restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed the quality of the food however disappointed that you were not happy with the service. I have discussed this with the Restaurant Manager who will bring this to the attention of his team to ensure more care is taken to provide the five star service we pride ourselves on.

I am glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Executive Lounge and you were happy with the service you received from the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for one quick night on our way through Adelaide. The room was nice. Bed was extremely comfortable, spacious & clean. Had minimal dealings with staff, only on arrival & departure - were curtious, if not a bit snotty. Room Service breakfast was to die for & worth every penny. Valet service was top-notch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Chloe W,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I appreciate your positive comments in regards to your room and your stay in general. I am glad you were able to experience Room Service for breakfast and that you were pleased with the food you received.

Our valet service is very popular with our guests due to the convenience and prompt service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide.

Kind Regards

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $93 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing