We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times and its a nice hotel - good facilities and in an ok location. I ate in the restaurant last week and it was amazing - although service was a little slow.

Love the iPads in the rooms

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloInkosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    410
    185
    58
    24
See reviews for
102
344
101
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a superior king room ( room 307) which did not face the street so we heard little noise on our weekend visit. Check-in was efficient. The bed was very comfortable, the room had plenty of space and was furnished in a modern style. The breakfast was ok but a bit expensive. Near the hotel Hindley Street has some very ordinary, grotty eating places but The Apothecary Bar and Restaurant was a gem and stood out for the quality of service and food and was only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Despite having a prior vision of this hotel being a 70's throwback love shack (the name being synonymous with the best 70's detective that hit the small screen), I found this hotel to be comfortable, well located and well serviced.
The rooms were a big surprise, being the only place I have ever stayed with Apple TV, iPad and large plasmas available in the room. I think the room we stayed in had been subject to recent refurbishment, so it may well be worth asking at check in.
Parking was available below the hotel, however I found my vehicle was too tall. The front deck lady went to great lengths to assist me with finding another suitable spot, which I really appreciated.
I did not dine at the hotel, however the small bar and restaurant looked appealling. There are some rather colourful bars across the street along Hindley Street, which adds some vibrancy, however would always recommend a trip to Gouger Street to eat, and to try one of the many old pubs found in the back streets of Adelaide CBD.

Room Tip: I think the room we stayed in had been subject to recent refurbishment, so it may well be worth aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rockford is in an ideal location to the city centre ,transport,shopping,casino etc. Staff at the hotel were helpful and the restaurant provided excellent meals,although there was a little confusion over the final bill,it was sorted out without any problem. Bed was very comfortable and services good. Parking is limited so make sure you book a space if needed. We would stay here again and suggest to friends etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have stayed many times but disappointed with this trip. Disco across road could have been in room with vibration that was coming through. Noise from other rooms very noticable as well.
Unfortunately the parking was one reason to stay here for me but is poorly organised at best. Missed service of room on one day as cleaner knocked and then left but did not return that day.
Rooms are a good size but a little dated no meals available in middle of the day.
Again in think better value found in other hotels closer to city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Rockford is in a good spot for shopping, eating, sightseeing and transport. Straight up Hindley to Rundle Mall, about 10mins. Restaurants all around the Rockford. Turn left past hotel and straight down hill 50m to the tram.
We stayed during the week and found that surrounding restaurants and pubs were a bit quiet, probably more alive on weekend, but there is a sport bar about 20m from hotel and its open 24hrs. Good beer and usual pub grub.
The hotel itself had good service and rooms were spacious and clean. They just look a bit tired and need a revamp ie Leather look chairs need polishing, pillows are flat and old including the spare pillows in cupboard, which were not in pillowcases and covered with hair and dust balls, saddest hotel fridge Ive ever seen.
The good points to the room are big tv, Wirra Wirra Church block red wine(good choice), heaps of storage.

Room Tip: Try for room 404, spa and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narellesinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
282 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a superior king room which was really nice, modern fit out, great bathroom, lots of power points alas the tv reception was really dodgy and the internet while free wasnt fast enough to support a skype conversation. Other than that i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Property: Adelaide Rockford
Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 1/2 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top heated pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market restaurant and lounge bar located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views.Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Rockford Adelaide is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Rockford Adelaide is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing