We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleaning staff”
Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor cleaning staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights and our room was vacuumed once. The bath was never cleaned. The used tubes of shampoo etc was not removed. The sink was not cleaned. There is grime around the sink, the bath and the toilet. The toilet paper rolls were not replaced until asked for. The dirty bathmat was just hung on the side of the bath instead of being replaced. The glasses were not rinsed and put away. The room was never dusted or tidied up.

For the price that we paid for the 5 days, I was totally disappointed. There is no gym facilities. The pool was cold and had no clean towels to use. The management need to truly assess the workings of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shobhana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    420
    187
    59
    25
See reviews for
103
360
102
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The Rockford was once upon a time a fixture down the dive end of Hindley St. But times change. There are still the lowbrow elements - probably always will be - but the Rockford rocks.

Two niggles. Only one lift. But the hotel isn't that big so not really a problem. And now the only real downside. I was in room 108. Great quality fittings and fixtures - but it's right above the kitchen and there must be all kind of torture going on down there as there was banging and whacking and thumping and running water morning noon and night! Not enough to keep me awake I might add but I didn't spend all that long in my room.

Look. Apart from those two issues this hotel is a gem. Great staff who make you feel welcome, quality food and beverages and really, good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many an occasion for business, staff always friendly and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and nice soft decor to make you feel realxed after a long day at the office. Spice market resturant is fantastic from the scallop and calamari entree to the pork belly plus a great selection of wines, I highly reccommend trying the food here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Well located with good access to CBD, friendly staff, well priced and comfortable accommodation. Bed a little firm but I do like a soft mattress. Would stay again when in adelaide. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at your Hotel before being I am a memeber of Accor but I raised a concern with the condition of the Toilet on my first morning and requested this was dealt with regards on going Hygiene and nothing was done, I raised it again as I left and mentioned it needed to be dealt with.

The lady checked the book and noted it had not been registered to be looked at by the service team but when I described the girl she new who it was.

At this stage I would note re-stay at the Rockford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank room418nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion C, Front Office Manager at Adelaide Rockford, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rockford Hotel Adelaide.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I can reassure you your feedback has been followed up with the teams involved.
Whilst there can be no excuse, the staff member who dealt with your concerns on the first morning is new to the role and to the front desk team.
I am sorry your impression was marred by the training process within this department.

Please rest assured the maintenance issue in this room has now been fixed as the toilet seat has been replaced.
While I acknowledge this does not improve your experience in any way, it assists us in ensuring such a repeat experience is prevented

Should you visit Adelaide again, please contact me directly and allow me to personally welcome you back and ensure your visit is enjoyable and of the highest standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Property: Adelaide Rockford
Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market Bar & Restaurant located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views. Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Adelaide Rockford is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Adelaide Rockford is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing