We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress!”

Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar
Ranked #4 of 1,603 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Been here several times and the food is always amazing! The quality is great and defiantely worth the money and the quantity - well you need to choose the appropiate number of dishes for your appetite. We always come away very well satisfied! Service is friendly and attentive without being pushy. Save room for dessert because it is fantastic! During our last visit we each chose a different dessert and they were all great! My only complaint/advice is to get a table inside. Last visit we sat outside under umbrellas which failed to completely cover the table resulting in getting wet when it rained - staff did not attend to this problem but luckily we had finished our meal. Additionally smokers would sit at the end table and due to the wind direction we were constantly smelling cigarette smoke. Consequently we did not tip. Don't go unless you can get an inside table otherwise it could make a wonderful meal very sour!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CnS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    179
    42
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

$55 banquet is value for money, lots of food. Floor staffs are awesome. I have eaten there for few times and the chefs still able to surprise me with this banquet. Love their food esp. beef fillet. Remember to save some room for chocolate banana doughnut at the end. Please keep up and definitely will go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“No value for money”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

5 of us went, there was 3 Europeans who eat a lot to start with and then 2 big guys and at 55 per head not enough food at all we all went home hungry especially the boys and $10 for a water.... Please!!!! The food was fantastic not bad comments... Quality excellent fail badly in quantity and service was not great waited 40 minute before a waiter came to us and waiting another 40 for the bill at the end after requested it wouldn't got back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved the banquet, especially the doughnuts, lots of food, a bit noisy but there were a afew large groups.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph27r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Willing but frankly mediocre”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were recommended this as a heppening place and particularly the menu frisso. The staff were very good, the atmosphere buzzing, but somehow it lacked something. I think its colocation with the Mnatra made it feel like a hotel restaurant, fine for business meals etc but as the menu frisso was intended to showcase the best of the resturant for a reasonable $55, it was a let down. There was nothing wrong with any of the food it just was not exceptional in any way. The carpaccio starter was really very nice. The gnocci was tasty and the right size for a primi. The main though was a repeat of the pasta dish but without the gnocci and instead a big bowl of gorgonzola fondue. Heavy, lacking flavour, filling but not interesting. The house special of banana with cinammon and vanilla ice cream was good for those without a sweet tooth, but reminded me of Birds Eye custard form the 70s and rounded off a rather heavy, lack lustre tapas style meal. Great concept, very acommodating staff, but the menu was mediocre. The wine - Running with Bulls, was a very nice find and ok at $39. Overall, ok but I wouldnt recommend it and I would view it as overhyped based on the menu frisso, although it was decent value and good portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Andre's Cucina and Polenta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing