We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Adelaide's Top Food & Wine Tours
from $142.85
More Info
from $142.85
More Info
from $142.85
More Info
from $157.13
More Info
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
670
43
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
670
43
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour small group tour these guys adelaide area day tour danny barossa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 722 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2019

My husband and I booked the full day McLaren Vale Winery Small Group Tour from Adelaide on Saturday, 27th July, 2019. We were picked up on time from our hotel by Danny C and warmly welcomed. To our surprise, my husband and I were the only two on the tour that day so that we in fact got a private tour for a small group price! Danny C happily shared his knowledge of the wineries and the region as a whole, having been raised there. The tour was well organised in every aspect. The tour was interesting, enjoyable and flexible as we were given choices of wineries to explore. We went to five wineries (Fox Creek, Leconfield & Richard Hamilton, Wirra Wirra, Serafino and Coriole), all very different but all very accommodating and professional. We particularly enjoyed the personalised service from Sasha at Fox Creek (and the cheese board), the laughs at Wirra Wirra and 5-star lunch at the beautiful Serafino Winery Restaurant. We decided to forego the last three scheduled wineries in favour of a coastal tour from Seacliff to Glenelg. Danny was happy to accommodate. We were then conveniently dropped off at our hotel. We had a wonderful day and would highly recommend this tour. Thanks Danny C!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank MaryDras
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

The tour was excellent with Danny sharing his knowledge of the wineries, wines, and seafood restaurants in the region.
Of the 4 wineries we visited, Fox Creek and Leconfield wineries had a superior list of wines on their tasting lists
We appreciated very much the complimentary serving of cheese and cracker from Danny.
We were delighted that the two wineries mentioned had a spakling red.This is not meant to downgrade the excellent riesling, shiraz and cabernet sauvignon that were on the tasting list.
The reds on the tasting list would be given high ratings by guests.
It is just that we do not find sparkling shiraz or cabernet sauvignon in Singapore, where we come from.
It was like Christmas had come early in July this year.
The wine tasting and lunch at Leconfield was very nice. We enjoyed the pate and the cheeses that went well with our glass of wine.
Thanks to Danny for sharing with us a good place for seafood at dinner time.
We took up his recommendation on the seafood restaurants at Glenelg Pier.
We thoroughly enjoyed the oysters and seafood platter.
The tour with Danny (Topfoodandwinetours) was a delightful experience
Topfoodandwinetours was the only company that asked for the Hotel that guests can be picked up, in its online booking process.
The pick-up time at the named hotel is confirmed in the tour ticket.
This makes it very convenient for guests.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

My husband and I did the full day McLaren Vale Winery Small Group Tour from Adelaide 3 days ago. Every aspect of the tour was well organised and the day was very enjoyable. We were fortunate enough to visit 5 wineries and enjoy a delicious lunch. Thank you to Innez for making our day memorable.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Had a fantastic day out in McLaren Vale visiting wineries not swarmed by tour buses followed by a nice lunch. This tour was really enjoyable - Danny was a very knowledgeable guide and also good photographer. He showed us places we would never have considered going as well as showing places of interest that we passed. I personally felt that the tour was tailored to our tastes really well.

Thanks for a great day Danny!

We would definitely do it again

1  Thank benf611
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

This trip has a little bit of everything! Danny picked us up from our hotel on time at 9am and we discovered that we were the only ones booked in for the day, so our small group tour essentially became a private tour!
Mount Lofty lookout was our first stop and the views were fantastic. Even better was seeing a young wild koala sleeping in a tree nearby!
After descending from Mount Lofty we drove slowly through nearby townships including Hahndorf, while Danny explained the history of the area. Then we headed for the picturesque hills and the vineyard cellar doors!
Nepenthe Vineyard was our first stop, where Mark from Nepenthe guided us through a comprehensive tasting. Generous discounts and shipping were on offer.
A stop for chocolate straight from the Melba’s factory was next on the agenda. Hot beverages were also available.
A short drive through the Hills brought us to our next winery, Bird in Hand. There were heaps of photo opportunities at this beautiful winery. They were a bit busier here and the tasting was largely unguided.
Lunch at the German Arms Hotel in Hahndorf was excellent. We had pre-ordered from a set menu with a good variety of choices and our meal was served promptly. My fish was light and crispy and my husband’s schnitzel hit the spot! A drink was included and we can attest that the cider and beer were terrific. Apple strudel was the only dessert on offer and it was delicious!
After lunch a walk was in order and we had plenty of time to wander through the historic town of Hahndorf. It is full of quirky boutique shops, cafes, old buildings and artsy handmade goods and antiques. If you like it, buy it - you won’t see the same thing cheaper up the road!
A quick stop to taste some cheese at Udder Delights ended our time in Hahndorf.
A short drive up the road brought us to the Beerenberg Family Farm Shop and factory. As a long term strawberry jam addict, my husband exited the shop with lots of goods!
We opted to take the scenic drive back to Adelaide through some historic townships.
The variety of the itinerary on this tour suited us, as everything was fairly close to Adelaide and didn’t involve long periods of driving. We got to taste some excellent wine as well as enjoying other aspects of the area. Our purchases were kept fresh in the cooler in the back of the van and the seating in the small van was very comfortable.
Many thanks to Danny for making our day out in the Adelaide Hills one to remember.
We highly recommend this tour and suggest you book directly with the company, as it was cheaper than booking through a third party like Viator.

1  Thank 923jackien
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews