We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer great food”
Review of Exeter Hotel

Exeter Hotel
Ranked #558 of 1,636 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This old fashioned Pub in Adelaide is an Institution! Wine critics love their excellent wine selections and thursday night curry night is booked out on most occasions. Even Qantas airlines wrote an article suggesting this is to be a must visit pub when visiting the city of Adelaide!
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good beer great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice frosty Pale Ale and a burger that looks and tastes great. Sitting outside watching the world go by- what more do you need.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank arborantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pub=beer=great food.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

What else to you want? This place is authentic from the outside, very friendly inside. Great range of beers on tap and staggering wine list. When I saw their daily specials on the menu, we just had to go with the Coopers beer battered garfish with chips and salad. (About $17). The chips were the golden crunchiest I remember and the fish was very good. Two thumbs up for this great inner city pub!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff & Great Service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A great pub in east Adelaide. It has an alternative vibe to it however the service is top notch (really friendly) and the food is great (I had the beef pie with mash).

The Exeter maintains much of (what I imagine would have been) its original ambiance. It is also a strong live music venue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Happening pub”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Adelaide and stumbled upon the Exeter Hotel on one of our walks around the city. Great to grab a drink and sit outside the pub people watching. The cider on tap was good. Was quite surprised that Adelaide beer prices are more expensive than Sydney though. Worth a visit to Exeter Hotel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank resortqueen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great classic pub”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been visiting this pub over the years - every time we visit Adelaide. It is a classic pub without being a sticky carpet. Good vibe, nice side laneway outdoor seating and pretty much the same staff since we started visiting.

Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderering_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exeter Hotel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Exeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing