We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to fill your stomach, not for the taste”

Aroma Japanese Cuisine Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $69
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go to fill your stomach, not for the taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The name of the game is all you can eat sushi for a very reasonable price. This is a classic dichotomy of quantity vs. quality. The menu is limited in selection and portion sizes are half what you get at other sushi restaurants. The fish is not what one would consider sashimi grade. Even the sushi rice tastes sub-par. Service is friendly, prompt and the dishes come out quickly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Birthday Special - so much sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I went to this restaurant for my birthday with a few friends and had the all you can eat sushi.
The sushi was OK but nothing to write home about but you could get a few other meals made up. Octopus Balls were good and the miso (which I judge most Japanese restaurants on) was also quite nice. it was a pleasant meal but was a bit just average.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Man, we wanted something light and clean for dinner, but not Chinese (which was 90% of the Gouger Street offerings), so Japanese was a great choice, but unfortunately the well-recommended Wasai was closed until 7 Jan. It's easy to say that Aroma was extremely quiet because it's hidden away upstairs, but I've got a feeling the locals know to avoid it too. There was only one other person in the restaurant, at 8pm on a Thursday night.

There's three menu choices - all you can eat for $28.80 - all you can eat for $18.80 - or a la carte. Obviously most people choose to pig out as i had to ask for the a la carte menu and she seemed confused that i didnt want the buffet. I went for choosing my own dishes from the a la carte as there was no tuna in the smaller buffet choice - and my partner went for the bigger buffet option. Our waitresses didn't have very good English, which never bothers me as it can mean you are getting some extra flavour to your dining experience... except if it means having to ask for your green tea twice... and reminding them you don't have soy sauce... and reminding them twice to bring you wasabi.

Green tea is not complimentary - small thing I know, but it seems so common in other Japanese eateries. The sushi rolls seemed pre-prepared earlier as they were very cold and the seafood chewier (which happens when not freshly rolled) - not great at all. The edamame was cold (should be served warm according to our usual places). The nigiri were so so disappointing - large balls of rice (not the traditional shape) and these sad, thinned-out slivers of fish on top, that were about 20 x 25mm in size - less than half the size we are used to getting, and obviously their way to fill people up (on larger rice portions) and save money (by serving a third of the usual fish portions).

We paid twice as much for half as much as we usually get, and less than half the quality.

Helpful?
Thank phoenix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We tried this restaurant because we wanted something Japanese. We thought it was cheap (good value for money) at first but after we had our food, all of us found their soy sauce salty so this did not enhance the flavour of the food. Also, one of the waitstaff did not understand nor speak English very well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

This little place is a true hidden gem, located up-stairs on busy Gouger Street it was relatively quiet even though it was Valentines Day when we dined for dinner.

They were very accomodating to my 4 year old daughter which is a rarity in restaurants these days.. they even waived the $9 charge for her as she is a very small eater.

There are 2 menus to choose from, both all you can eat and very reasonable considering.
The first menu is $18.80 per head and the second is $28, or free if you can provide photo ID to show it is your birthday !

The food is all made to order and is delicious ! A lot of variety of both sushi, maki, tobiko and various hot foods such as katsu pork/chicken, as well as soup and rice dishes.
You can order as many as you like and multiple times.. although there is a $3 charge per wasted plate which I think is a great idea to cut down on wastage and also ensures you dont order more than you can eat.

It was very quiet at dinner time so I assume that it is not very well known which is a shame as it really is great if you love fresh sushi !

The restaurant itself isnt anything fancy but its clean and the staff are very helpful. I will definitely be back very soon !

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLea888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Japanese Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing