We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Wright Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wright Lodge
Ranked #11 of 15 Adelaide B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was in Adelaide for a conference and decided to stay the weekend to do some sightseeing. Great location very close to Chinatown and seeing as Adelaide is a small town, it was easy walking around everywhere.
Booked the deluxe double room (with window but no view), which had all the basics and was clean. Breakfast was pretty simple: toast, instant coffee and cereals - all prepared and stored in the fridge upon arrival. Bed was comfortable and I actually slept better here than at the first hotel I stayed. It was pretty quiet too, could not hear or see anyone else.
One negative thing is that the free wireless internet did not work for the whole weekend. In this day and age, I thought internet would be pretty standard.
If you are expecting five star quality, this is not the place for you. But for what it offers, it's good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was above average for the location and the price. It was hard to see the sign indicating where to sign in (next door). There is no indication of this on the website. The food served was excellent and the staff were great. The toilet and sink were below standard in cleanliness. Could not figure out the heater until the 2nd day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Harrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was fine and not noisy. The reception was friendly and there was free Wifi. Also the location in the centre of Adelaide is great for this price and you can easily get into Chinatown for a cheap snack.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Fabian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a budget stay. Desk staff helpful, room small and air-conditioning not very efficient. I don't know about other rooms but room 8 does not have a window. Location is near to Chinatown and lots of restaurants.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at the Wright Lodge with my girlfriend and I have to say that I completely disagree with the negative reviews I read on this page. This hotel is a really good value for the money, we stayed in 2 different rooms, on Friday night and Sunday night. Each room was clean and really comfortable. Of course this is not a luxury hotel, you pay $80 for a double, so it makes sense. The staff was really friendly and the hotel is well located in Adelaide's city centre. If I decide to go back to Adelaide one day, I'll certainly stay at the Wright Lodge again as it is really a good value for the money! Also, in Adelaide you don't have that much choice: or a backpackers, or a 5* hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicolaslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am surprised at some of the strongly negative comments made by earlier reviewers. Perhaps, they did hit a bad day at the hotel, but more likely, their expectations were too high.

The Wright Lodge’s business card reads “Value-for-money Budget Accommodation” . During my 6-day stay , the establishment lived up to this claim admirably. My room was spacious, and came with ample storage, coffee/tea amenities, a fridge,a small flat-screen TV ( Aussie channels only) and a strong shower in the ensuite. However, in keeping with its budget tag and price, the furnishings are modest (standard Ikea-issue and somewhat the worse for wear). The free wi-fi worked well, but the air-conditioning which was fine during the day was not so effective at night, and the lighting needs improvement. I had a room with a window which was very welcome, not all rooms have windows.
It is a family-owned and operated establishment and reception is open only between 9 am and 6 pm, there is no service ( except house-keeping) as the establishment does not have a kitchen. The young ladies at the front desk, Chantelle and Lydia, were very pleasant, efficient and helpful. Check-in and check-out were super-quick. In fact, there is no check-out as such--- since all rooms are prepaid and there are no extras involved, you just leave your key in the room, lock the door, hang the sign on the door to say you have left and walk out.

Located in the quiet south-western section of Adelaide’s CBD, the hotel is within easy reach of food and entertainment areas. Chinatown and the Central Market are a 5- minute walk, other spots can be reached by public transport. The tram is a 7-minute walk away as are major bus-routes on Grote and King William Streets. I would recommend getting a Metrocard if you plan to use the public transport in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 7 or 8, the only ground floor rooms with windows, or one of the rooms upstairs preferab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

all night next doors room light in ours leaking toiletwet feet ever time went in there and called owners didnt care,no shampoo or conditioner no coffee.will never stay again they dont care especially with the leaking tolet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank eilzabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.8 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Metropolitan
The Hotel Metropolitan
#3 of 15 in Adelaide
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adelaide City Park Motel
Adelaide City Park Motel
#42 of 56 in Adelaide
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Franklin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wright Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wright Lodge

Address: 130 Wright St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Adelaide
Price Range: $53 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wright Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Wright Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing