We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wright Lodge--excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wright Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wright Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Adelaide B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Wright Lodge--excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location, very central. Owner Paul and staff very friendly and welcoming. Room very clean, cosy, safe and quiet and the price is very reasonable. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a convenient location near the city and/or transport. Shuttle-bus brought us directly from the Airport and also main bus station is very near. Hope to come again in the future. (We are a mature Irish couple).

There was a free commuter bus that can take you all around the city and you can hop on and hop off at all the major sights. Adelaide is a beautiful city and when we visit again we will stay with Paul at their Wright Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back which was very peaceful and we had a sound night's sleep in a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bma-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    23
    6
    16
See reviews for
6
34
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kununurra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

very good value for the money. room very comfortable close to transport markets and city shopping etc. good clean and comfortable. friendly staff. i will stay there again. large bathroom very comfortable bed option for daily service

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked for 3 nights and only stayed one. The room was very dirty and more hairs in the bed than i have on my head. There was only one average lock on the door leading to concerns regarding secruity of our belongings. The shower was scummy and we did not want to take a shower there. The refridgerator was located right beside the bed and hummed loudly waking us up every half an hour. The joinings between rooms was inadequate - light from adjacent rooms beamed in all night contributing to poor sleep, if any. Details of the room stated that it contained a kitchnette - a jug on top of a fridge right beside the bed does not count as a kitchenette. Searched for alternative accommodation - found an apartment room with separate bathroom & cooking facilities right round the corner for only an additional $5 more per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked in here last minute as we. We were on a budget so this place matched our requirements. I was a little concerned however we checked in fine (although had to leave something like $100deposit for the car fob on my credit card!!!). That aside the car park was empty, we could have just been lucky as it was a bank holiday…

Our room was good, just like most of the photos advertised. Tea and Coffee facilities, own bathroom (which was perfectly adequate), TV, free internet and double comfortable bed. Most of the furniture had seen better days but still usable. The girl on reception gave us the code and showed us personally to our room which was nice rather than being left. We had no noise or disturbances the night we stayed there.

They didn’t give us a check out time, it was a case of leave when you like… think it was around 12pm we left and they refunded the deposit I had left as promised. The staff could be improved just purely because I didn’t really didn’t trust them 100% as they didn’t seem to know exactly what they were doing. However, for budget accommodation this place is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Cheap price & Short walk to Central Market, China Town, Central Bus Station. But otherwise - poor quality, insecure (during my absence my wife in the room was frightened when some one was trying to break in tempering the Front door Lock - next morning during Check out the incident was informed to Hotel desk but did not raise any Alarm !).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Living in Australia for 11 years. I would not think that a place like this would ever exist. I stayed here last night just to be away from home and check out restaurants in china town. I am very much unimpressed with the service that this so called hotel offered. I'm not normally a person to make a complaint but this place had managed to disgust me in many ways.

I checked in and the receptionist never asked for any identification whatsover I was then lead to a room upstairs, to my surprise, the room was still being built. The receptionist then lead me to another room and this time, it was never cleaned, there was clutter and mess everywhere. She went "what the hell?" and never apologised. I was very much ready to cancel my booking until she found a room for me. This time, it was decent but it had no airconditioning and the bathroom had hair all over the floor and even on the towel racks. I didn't mind since I just wanted to rest, tried turning the telly on and the remote control won't even work.

I went to grab something to eat in China Town and came back to the hotel around 9:30PM , good thing I read through the pieces of paper on the desk because the receptionist did not even give me the code. I turned the TV on and watched for a bit until all the lights and power went out. I was in shock and could not believe that this is getting worse than it already was! I left the room to find help but to my surprise, I found a lady and her son trying to turn the power back on, they too, are staying at the hotel and to my surprise, I realised that there's no one looking after the hotel at all! I called the hotel hotline right away and spoke to the same receptionist, she told me that there would be no power from 9:30 until 5:30 am. I demanded compensation since I have never been told that this would happen but the receptionist turned around and said "we put up notices in corridors, you should have noticed that" I checked right away and there were no notices what so ever.

I decided to sleep it off, woke up at 7 the next day and there were still no power. power did not come back on until at least 8. I checked out from the hotel without arguing further as I would get no where. I am very much appalled with the treatment I was given and will never go back to this so called "hotel" again. I'd rather sleep at a park bench next time. What ever the hell happened to customer service? This was meant to be a good experience but turned into complete horrible turn of events.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maniladelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wright Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wright Lodge

Property: The Wright Lodge
Address: 130 Wright St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wright Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Wright Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing