We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, great food”
Review of Sugarcane - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sugarcane
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value, great food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a lunch recently with the lunch specials at Sugarcane. Simple, inexpensive god atmosphere and excellent food. They served meals to the whole table pretty well, one did get missed. We had all pre-ordered but the food was still hot and very tasty. great pale for a Friday "end of week" work lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Meal”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great meal, wine and service at this great restaurant. First time and will be back again. Meals and servcie was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The setting is attractive and well-presented. The service was friendly and helpful with advice about dishes and portions. My sister is quite a fussy eater but she enjoyed the two meals we had there, especially the Vietnamese lemongrass chicken chef special. I enjoyed the plum duck on the first visit and the steamed barramundi dish on the second visit. My only complaint would be the steamed rice. It is too dry and lacks flavour. I would suggest that the restaurant adds coconut rice to its menu. It would balance quite well with the meals. Sensibly priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sugarcane was very close to our hotel in Adelaide so an easy choice for us. The menu had lots to choose from and the waitresses were very helpful.
We had chicken satay and prawns on sugar cane skeweres to start with. For main I had fish with ginger and shallots - delicious, my husband had Mongolian beef which was a hit too. We had a glass of white wine with dinner and the bill was just under $70.
We had an Indian meal the next evening and wished we had returned to Sugarcane!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrispyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't be Tempted!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently ate at the Sugar Cane restaurant in Adelaide which is marketed as a Vietnamese restaurant but is actually Chinese. The food is terrible and the specials have been the same for the past 6 months. The pho was the worst meal I have had for a very long time with raw onions and limp thais basil it had none of the lovely flavours you generally attribute to this dish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ContentedTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane also viewed

 
Parkside, Adelaide
Goodwood, Adelaide
 
Malvern, Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing