We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Escapegoat Adventures
from $95.73
More Info
from $117.99
More Info
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
453
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
453
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain biking wildlife park bike ride micro brewery mclaren vale quality bikes morning tea adelaide hills great fun flinders ranges winery tour wine tasting highly recommend this tour ian mtb skills koalas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 470 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a brilliant way to explore the Flinders Ranges - by mountain bike. Ian and Andy were very organised and capable... in riding, leading, hosting and catering too.

The riding was wonderful. I usually describe myself as an intermediate bike-rider, but I now know I'm a novice on a mountain bike! I found some of the steeper or rocky parts of the ride pretty tough - but not insurmountable. After saying that, they're not the parts of the trip I remember most. The freedom of touring by bike, spectacular scenery, serenity of the remote location and the track chats with other riders are far more memorable. This doesn't happen by chance; the Escapegoat trip was well planned, professional and safe.

Accommodation was clean and simple in Shearers Quarters on a working station... we had everything we needed and it would was good to get a glimpse of station life.

Thanks Ian - it was a great 5 days.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank 609clarev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a great time doing the Lofty Descents tour with Ian. The highlights were feeding the kangaroos in Cleland wildlife park, and the beautiful descent into the valley through the natural bushland (with wild koalas!). It is downhill all the way, suitable for all abilities, and a really interesting way to see parts of Adelaide you wouldn't normally get to see. The homemade banana bread was a lovely touch at morning tea. Thanks Ian very much!

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank 833dejans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you like spending time outdoors, you'll most likely enjoy a half day mountain bike tour on the Adelaide hills. You'll see great views from hilltops, native eucalyptus forest, koalas and kangaroos. It's a leisurley ride mostly downhill, so you don't need to be athletic and experienced mountain bike rider to make it.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Olli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

One of the great things about Escapegoat bike day tours is that Ian can arrange a ride for any level of fitness and any ability level. For an intermediate to expert group our excursion to Fox Creek was perfect. We rode mainly single track through a combination of regenerating native and established pine forest. All we had to bring was our spd shoes; the hardtail bikes were fine. The local knowledge of our guide was very helpful - especially in flagging upcoming obstacles. If you have just one free day in South Aussie this is the tour to take.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank FrostyRemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Small, personalised tour through the back roads of McLaren Vale. We really enjoyed the mountain biking through the area - and not just because it was mostly downhill! The tour provided gorgeous views of the valley, kangaroo spotting through the bush and vineyards and allowed us to appreciate the sights and sounds of the area more than could ever be done from the back of a wine tour bus. Each stop recommended by Ian provided something different - from family run wineries and breweries to delicious chocolate milkshakes. Ian was a fabulous guide with tons of local knowledge and great stories, and made sure the stops were exactly what we wanted. We would recommend this tour to anyone. Thanks for a great day Ian!

Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews