We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
iStay Precinct
Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Great value, especially for a few days. Very spacious one bedroom unit with an enclosed veranda which helped to make it very quiet. Very modern and well equipped the unit was big enough for a couple to live in permanently. There was one sofa in the lounge- It could have done with an arm chair or second sofa but that is certainly the only criticism I could make. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were attractively furnished. Short walk to the art gallery and other places of interest. One of the best value hotels that we have used in Australian cities - would recommend it for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    250
    111
    37
    35
See reviews for
109
183
39
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Recently stayed here on a business trip. As has been stated by others, the quality of the room fittings and the service of the staff cannot be faulted. However, and it is a BIG however, there is a problem with external noise. There is a nightclub immediately adjacent to the two Oaks buildings and on our first night, a Sunday, we had only fitful sleep due to the excessive noise . Our apartment was on the 5th Floor with double glazed windows.

We were informed when we requested a room change that the nightclub would not operate again until Thursday. We did look to change anyway but the room we were offered, on the the 11th floor, had no air conditioning. Considering it had been 35 degrees and the apartments are predominantly glass, it was not an option.

Unfortunately, noise was again an issue on the Tuesday night, not only from music until the early hours but from building works on the adjacent building site commencing at 5.30am with rubble being thrown from the 3rd floor into a skip! We checked out.

The duty manager was most apologetic and we were not charged for our internet access during our stay, which was a nice surprise. We knew and fully accepted that we had received a special deal on our room rate and no refund for the remaining nights was possible but we were prepared to wear that for the sake of a good night's sleep. We were informed that the Oaks had endeavoured to address the noise issue in all manner of ways, including calling the Police, but to no avail.

Unless this business can sort out its' neighbours and the noise issue, there will be many more disgruntled visitors leavig early and not recommending to their friends & colleagues. A pity, as has potential.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthiteOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Nice and close to the centre of town. Modern, well appointed and comfortable with a good kitchen. We only stayed two nights, but could have seen ourselves staying longer here.

If you are driving, it's worth trying to find a deal with free carparking, but compared to other cities hotels, it's still pretty cheap.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The apartments are well laid out with bedroom separated from lounge area. Kitchenette is well equipped. The furnishings are very nice & the rooms clean. We stayed at the apartments for 5 days and would definitely stay there again. The apartments are close to the Central Markets & a shopping arcade.Tthe Central Bus Station &a free hop-on hop-off bus stop is very close by. Rundle Mall is a 15 minutes walk away. The staff were very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at the Oaks Precinct for 11 nights. Great location, not too close to the busy areas, but certainly close enough to walk to. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

These apartments offer value for money, great location, clean, friendly staff.
Bathroom a good size
Everything you need
Only thing was no mirrors apart from bathroom but that is a very minor issue
Would def stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenmolliewallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had a great time in this new appartment complex, however there were some down sides. We found the hotel difficult to find as there was no external signage. The rooms were nicely equipped, but construction work within the complex was still occuring. While the pool and spa were advertised, none of the work had been completed so this facility was closed for the 7 days we were there. The washing machine flooded the bathroom and hall. But appart from that .... !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoldfastBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#34 of 57 in Adelaide
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Property: iStay Precinct
Address: 185 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. IStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct's luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. Opening hours of the swimming pool is from 6am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing