We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and value for money if you are...”
Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
iStay Precinct
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Great spot and value for money if you are happy to self cater. Staff are very helpful.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for iStay Precinct
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at this apartment hotel in the middle of a 3 week trip to Australia. We wanted a place to do laundry and make our own meals for a few days. This apartment hotel was the best value during our entire stay in Australia. For about 120 USD, we got a spacious one bedroom with a washer and dryer, full kitchen and a closed in balcony which we would have used if it hadn't been freezing during our stay. The apartment had modern furnishings and was clean and well maintained. The bedroom was small but otherwise fine. The only negative I noticed were the marks on the wall- the walls in the entryway and living room had black marks all over- maybe from suitcases scratching them. Anyway, that was a really minor negative.

The kitchen was well stocked with most cooking utensils and equipment. It was also well stocked with coffee and tea making supplies. The bathroom was like the rest of the apartment- modern and well maintained. There was no tub, only a large shower, but that didn’t bother us. Since it’s not a traditional hotel, there are not typical hotel services like a concierge or a pool, but there was housekeeping and staff at the front desk.

The Oaks can be hard to miss- our taxi driver missed it. It’s in a nondescript building next to other nondescript buildings. It is within an easy walking distance to Central Market, supermarkets, restaurants, Rundle Mall and museums. We really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it to anyone looking for more of an apartment than a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel. It didn't look like much from the outside - but was really nice inside. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and that meant my 3 year old could have her own room and we could put her to bed early and still watch TV before going to bed ourselves. Very close to Central Markets. Bathroom was lovely. The price of this 2 bedroom was the same as other apartments had for one bedroom - so excellent value!

Only complaint I had was that there was no info in the apartment about "things to do" as you usually find in apartments.and the girls at the front desk were not very helpful with info about how to get around. Luckily we had an iPad that directed us about!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosEmmaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We were greeted by a very friendly and charasmatic customer service attendant Con who checked us in promtply and gave us a lot of information about the hotel and the location including where the shops, market, and restaurants were located.

When we got up to our rooms (there was 5 of us staying in three different rooms) we were very surprised to see how new, fresh, clean, and stylishly decorated the apartments/rooms were. The size of the apartments are excellent and all have enclosed balconies with big slide-open windows so you can appreciate the view from the balcony as well as stay dry in the rain.

All rooms had huge king sized beds and spacious toilets including a wonderfully big shower - we could have fit 5 people in there! The kitchen was equipped with a full sized fridge, dishwasher, oven, stove, and lots of practical things like cutting boards and storage containers. Air con and a large flat screen tv were nice surprises too. We spent a week at the Oaks Gallery and it truely felt like we were at home. Everything about out experience was great.

Regarding the location of the Oaks, it is two blocks from the Central Markets, China Town, Coles, and three streets of wonderful restaurants. Three blocks in the other direction is the city centre. For us the location was perfect because we could park on the street (parking at the hotel was $15) and this worked perfectly because we were there over the easter period so lots of public holidays and the weekend meant that we didnt have to pay for most of our days stay.

As a regular visitor to Adelaide I have tried many hotels/apartments and have never been happy. Most places I have stayed in Adelaide have been overpriced with poor service, poor cleanliness and a crappy location. Finally i have found a wonderful place and will be coming back here for sure. I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone - whether your travelling solo or with family and friends, this is the place to stay.

You will not be sorry!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

If you settle your bill with a credit card issued in the USA you will be billed in US$ at a most unfavorable exchange rate by ANZ (.9477 instead of .9149 charged by MC the same day) while your credit card company will still add a foreign transaction charge.You don't have to accept this, insist on having them charge your card in A$.
Except for this we enjoyed our stay.I agree with the modern furnishings, the central location and the pleasant and helpful front desk staff mentioned by others .We found the housekeeping substandard and the lack of advertised pool and exercise facility disappointing.Because of the excessive charges for internet access we used the free service at the state library

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank reiseonkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The apartments are new and well appointed, including LCD TV with all FTA DTV, foxtel and DVD player. The kitchen is fully equipted for cooking and meals. Everything was very clean and comfortble. The location is on the edge of the CBD, but only a few blocks south of the theatres and nightclubs around Nth Terrace, a few blocks east of Rundle Mall Shopping, or few blocks to Chinatown and the Adelaide Markets.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed at the gallery for one night in oct 09 and being a new apartment hotel it was clean, modern fairly spacious and good amenities. Every room has a balcony that can be enclosed with sliding glass windows. The rooms are quiet sound proof, thankgod hehe, We would definatey recommend that you stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUDDnCALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#23 of 57 in Adelaide
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Address: 185 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: $97 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. IStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct's luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. Opening hours of the swimming pool is from 6am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing