We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort + 5 star facilities”
Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iStay Precinct
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent facilities. Loved the spa,sauna & especially the steamed room. Very cleaned, very modern & easy to operate.
All appliances were included (dishwasher, flat screen tv with foxtel just to name a few).

Staff were also very friendly and helpful. We had an early flight into Adelaide and the early check-in saved us a lot of trouble.

Within walking distance to Rundle Mall and situated right next to a free city bus. Quite close to Chinatown and a range of nice places to eat.

Overall an excellent place to stay at a reasonable price, would recommend to anyone thinking of Adelaide.

Room Tip: Pick a room on level 6 for easy access to fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments and found the facilities excellent. We are always delighted to offer an earlier arrival when available and it is lovely to hear this has lead to a smooth start to your Adelaide visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to iStay Precinct in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 674 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very modern, recently furnished, well appointed appartments. As described and as appeared on their website. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful but checking in and out is a bit chaotic. Good location for the city and all attractions. The free tourist bus stops one block down. The appartments are well designed, very clean, and quite spacious. Everything worked. Great views of the city. The balcony windows fold back to create an open air area- but this only gets the sun for part of the day as you would expect. Planes fly overhead but can't be heard inside. A few more pans, knives etc would be useful for guests wishing to cook meals from scratch rather than microwave ready meals or just make breakfasts and you need to have your own dishwasher and clothes washing powder as only a starter kit is provided. Add ons add up- you gave to pay for servicing other than one in rhe middle of a week's stay, car parking, change of towels etc.Nearby there is a lot of building work and some derelict buildings adjacent which spoil the setting somewhat- but is happening all over Adelaide. The complex has an indoor pool and sauna which we didn't use but which looked fine. There is no outdoor space other than your own balcony to sit out in, to socialise, or enjoy the sun- there may be when the remodelling work is completed but this is a city centre. A roof terrace would have been nice though. There are very good restaurants and a lively night scene very nearby in Gouger street, the market area, and china town. All in all very good accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at iStay Precinct. It is great to hear that you have found our apartments well appointed, spacious and modern. We are glad you have been able to find easy access to all areas of Adelaide you were wishing to visit with the public transport located in close proximity to iStay Precinct. All guests are provided an iStay starter pack to ensure you have essential items on arrival; this pack does not contain a Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer or Tissues however these items are stocked at our Reception should you wish to purchase any of these items for use during your stay. These packs combined with our unserviced rates ensure we can offer the best possible rates for each stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to iStay Precinct in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Second time I stayed in Adelaide and second time I stayed in the istay. It is a great location ( close to the conference centre and china town) with a good bed and nice layout. Good size kitchen, dishwasher, wash/dry combination
Unfortunately I was on the lower floor and I looked out over building activities from my balcony ( I actually could almost touch the digger), the noise wasn't too bad, but then again I wasn't there at the daytime.
Facilities are good, although I missed out on a gym. pool and Sauna great (spa not working at the time i was there)

I just wish they would do something about the internet, it is soon 2014 and iStay has a hight rate if you want to continue to use the wifi beyond the first free hour.

all in all recommended, but hoping the internet will improve.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivo20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at iStay Precinct. It is great to hear that you selected us as your accommodation provider once again and found our apartment and facilities to your liking. I am sorry to hear that the spa was unavailable during your stay due to routine maintenance.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Loved the location very central to the town & attractions.
Fairly new apartment modern with good amenities. loved the sauna & steam room after a long hike through the Adelaide national parks .Very comfortable bed , just good all round.
The staff were more than helpful and very friendly !!.
I must warn you though the parking arrangements can be very expensive! , If you don't make an early start and stay out all day as the parking meters are $3 per hour in the metro area. Or the hotel parking is $18 per day.The parking rangers are on their toes , so look out.!! Great place must visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room that doesn't look at the waste ground below. Make sure you have a sky room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51Denise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at iStay Precinct. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our apartments, location, facilities and our staff to be both friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good value and clean apartments, but maybe spend the extra $ for a skyview room - I was put in a ground floor room with no light, facing directly onto a fence. Easy 10min walk to Adelaide Central Markets (chinatown), Hindley Street and convention centre. Didn't supply face washers? Good kitchenette facilities though. Internet access expensive - $10 for 2 hours, but that is unfortunately fairly standard in many Aus hotels. Overall, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe get a skyview room, ground floor balcony faced onto a fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikaela_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct; it is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments. We are delighted to hear you have found the apartments good value and with good kitchenette facilities. On arrival you will find an iStay starter pack provided in your apartment which includes Tea & Coffee, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder. Amenities not included at iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. These packs combined with our unserviced rates ensure we can offer the best possible rates for each stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to iStay Precinct in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stuffed up!

Put the wrong dates in our booking and turned up a week late!

The desk staff told us they had rooms available and we could stay and sort out the charges with the manager the next day. We expected to pay something but not the full rate again. Duty manager was totally uncompromising! So when we checked out we rang her boss. He was totally uncompromising and not interested in maintaining any goodwill from unhappy customers.

So the Oaks chain will not be getting any of our future business, and we are happy to tell anyone who is considering booking this chain about the experience and the hotel.

The photos speak for themselves!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilari0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct; it is disappointing to hear that an error with your booking dates has marred your stay with us. All agent bookings are held for the dates confirmed on the most recent voucher received by the hotel; we certainly understand that errors may occur during the booking process and are always available for assistance should you need to amend bookings before your confirmed dates. We strongly recommend that all confirmations are thoroughly checked once they are received from your agent to ensure we are able to assist you or your agent with any changes that may be required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The best part. Where do you start. It was only $109 per night, and you have a luxury room. The pool is overhanging on level 6, and is so much fun. Also has a warm spa, and sauna. Comes with foxtel, and a good view of Adelaide. Will come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct; it is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our apartments. We are delighted to hear you have been able to enjoy the pool, spa and sauna facilities during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to iStay Precinct in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#19 of 55 in Adelaide
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.8 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Address: 185 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: $90 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. IStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct's luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. Opening hours of the swimming pool is from 6am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing