We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good serviced apartments.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
iStay Precinct
canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good serviced apartments.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spacious, clean apartments,  in convienent area, which wasn,t dodgy at all !   True, the supermarkets aren,t close by, and there is no restaurant, but there are full kitchens in the apartments and plenty restaurants in the surrounding streets. We did have a noise issue one night, but this was promptly dealt with by the reception staff and didn,t happen again. All in all, a good choice and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Possibly away from elevators - not a real noise issue, but faint dings can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay finding our apartments spacious and clean. We are pleased to read our team was prompt in assisting with the disturbance experienced during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again to iStay Precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    246
    109
    36
    35
See reviews for
109
180
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great serviced apartments, short walk from the Central Markets and Chinatown. Good friendly staff, easy to get around, and comfortable accomodation. Fully equipped kitchen, Foxtel, excellent balcony and access to pool spa and sauna.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyColombina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay finding our property comfortable and apartments well equipped. Our city centre location provides easy access to the Adelaide Central Markets and Chinatown. We look forward to welcoming you again to iStay Precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just returned from staying at istay August 2013 for a relaxing family Break, the rooms were ok, walls need repainting and carpet dirty but otherwise ok, our problem was with the excessive noise on Thursday, Friday and Saturday night until 4.30pm making it impossible to sleep, this is apparently an ongoing issue we discovered when we complained to staff, also the "heated" pool was cold which was very disappointing as my Kids were looking forward to that. Wouldn't say it is a 4 star rating, very average!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Chooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct. It is disappointing to hear your stay was marred by local noise, being a city hotel there is the possibility that there will be city noise at anytime. Our pool is a lap pool and temperature is kept at an acceptable level for exercising. We are currently working with owners to ensure all issues you mentioned with carpets and walls in our apartments can be rectified. We look forward to welcoming you again to iStay Precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel pool and spa (and sauna and steamroom) was a hit with the kids and the rooms were nice. Unfortunately there was no restaurant at the hotel and no room service. This was in a dodgy area and I didn't feel safe walking around at night to get to the restaurants and Coles about three blocks away. If you are a woman travelling alone, best to stay on the eastern side of the CBD. I have stayed in North Terrace which was also fine. The pool here actually comes out of the hotel wall, so that you can look down at the ground a few floors below. The kids thought this was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building at the back which has the pool and spa so that you don't need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with iStay Precinct. It is great to hear you have enjoyed the pool and spa facilities available at the property. We do not have a restaurant onsite however delivery is available from a number of local restaurants and some provide a chargeback service to your room account. Our team is always available should you require information on local restaurants if you are unsure. We look forward to welcoming you again to iStay Precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had two recent stays at iStay in August 2014. Firstly for 4 nights, then a 6 night stay. The hotel is in a handy location and was a reasonable price. However, I would not stay again due to the on-going issues with a fault smoke/fire alarm system. I did not feel assured of my safety. On the night on Mon 26 Aug there was an alarm/evacuation at about 8.45pm. There was no signage in the room of the evacuation assembly point. No one from the hotel came to check on the gathered crowd and explain it was a false alarm. People were evacuating the building using the elevator. Then on the morning of Sat 31st from about 7.30am there was up to 6 fire/smoke alarms. It was very annoying and the staff seemed very casual about it - which would be confusing for foreigners. The firemen were checking the 14th floor of the 'A' building and could not access the room where the alarm was triggering from as hotel staff did not have a spare key!
The hotel is near the nightclub area which means on Fri and Sat nights inconsiderate people are making a lot of noise in the nearby precinct (why don't hotel staff call noise control or the Police?). The carpet in our 14th floor apartment was filthy and the window latch in my room was broken off. Also the window blind was completely missing on one window and the room was too light at night - I had to use cushions to block the light. While only a 'starter' pack is provided it is impossible to wipe up the benches and do dishes as the one and only dish cloth is as thin as tissue. It would be more sensible to supply something a bit more robust. It would mean the kitchenette could be looked after more easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct; it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our location is great for guests wanting to explore the city and like all city hotels, noise can be expected. We do apologise on for the maintenance issues you encountered during your stay and we have passed on your findings to the maintenance department. We are currently addressing the issues you mentioned with carpets in our apartments; as all apartments are privately owned we are working with the owners to ensure required upgrades are being made.
In the case of any possible emergency staff must await the arrival of emergency services for clearance; the incident you witnessed on Saturday was follow up with a private resident who did not immediately answer their door.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to iStay Precinct in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall I'm so glad we stayed here. The rooms were really nice with a perfect lounge and kitchen area with FREE FOXTEL! The Mattress on the beds were pillow topped and very comfortable. The boy that I was a bit unhappy about was their was no washing powder in our room when I rang reception they told me they would bring some up which never happened. along with this the was no shampoo and conditioner but we brought our own anyway. We had no carports key so we had to wait to be let in but these were only minor problems. If you stay you should Definitely go to the garage bar for take away meals. With 15% of a already reasonable price and it tasted really good too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at iStay Precinct; we are glad you were able to enjoy your apartment with its spacious lounge and kitchen area. We do apologise that your washing powder was not delivered as requested and will follow this up with all staff. As we are an iStay property a starter pack is provided in the room upon check in which includes Tea & Coffee, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder. Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. We look forward to welcoming you back to iStay Precinct in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my first choice for my stay in order to relocate from Melbourne to Adelaide, giving me the ability to self-cater in a one bedroom apartment of a reasonable size in the heart of the city.
Unfortunately, moving in Mad March (and even more so, the weekend of both Clipsal and Future Music Festival) did mean that the hotel was full of people partying, who were still awake (and drinking) as I left for work. Despite booking well in advance and advising of my expected arrival time accordingly, I had an extensive (45min) wait in the reception area before being advised there was a room available. From what I could tell it was because the cleaners were doing their best to clean up the previous tenants vomit from the bedroom carpet.
There's two apartment buildings available here, with one attached to the reception and the other behind it when walking from through from Morphett Street. My room was located in the rear building and was well equipped with kitchen utensils and dishwasher.
Working in Eastwood, I chose to hire a car and take advantage of the parking (free on the street at night - if unavailable $18 a night through the hotel) though there were always taxis waiting outside. Its also easy to walk around the city.
The apartments here are easily the best value for self-catering in town, but the price does attract partying youths. The rooms are sound proofed well, but you will definitely notice this in the outside areas on weekends. I would still stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you mentioned March (Mad March) is probably the most event packed vibrant times in Adelaide and there is alot of movement in the City. In regards to check in time, especially in such a busy period, it can be difficult to have rooms available for an earlier check in before 2pm (as stated on our website) however we do try our best to accommodate those who arrive slightly before this time. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and found the well equipped.
We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#33 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Property: iStay Precinct
Address: 185 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. IStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct's luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. Opening hours of the swimming pool is from 6am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing