We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced family friendly hotel. Would stay here again.”
Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
iStay Precinct
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Reasonably priced family friendly hotel. Would stay here again.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Istay for just over 2 months and found the reception staff to be consistantly friendly and helpful throughout that time. My room was spacious and well equipped, and would be a good option for a family stay. The skyline rooms have nice views and that building (there are two) appears to be newer.

It can be somewhat noisy at night, depending on where your room is positioned, as there is a bar at the end of the road and also it seems to be popular with young people on the weekends. The rooms in the reception building need the carpets replaced and walls repainted. It does make the place look shabby and which is unfortunate.

Room Tip: Request a sky view room, or at least a room in that building as they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment well equipped and spacious. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our skyview apartments – these are definitely a great way to enjoy the cities views. I will pass on your positive feedback to management regarding the customer service you received from Reception, it is great to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    250
    112
    36
    35
See reviews for
109
184
40
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ararat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This accommodation was booked as it meet our price bracket on a long weekend. It was a good surprise when we arrived with a clean tidy apartment that was compact but very well set out. It was up to the standard we have come to expect from anything with Oaks attached to it. We stayed in the Altitude apartment block on the 17th floor and that was the added bonus, a killer view over Light Square. The room had all the trimmings that you would expect to be comfortable in. The pool, spa and steam room were great but the sauna was not working. I suspect that they have had problems with unruly guests in the past so yes there is a few rules but it is good for making everyone happy.

Room Tip: Make sure you park under the building you are staying in so as to not have to carry your luggage for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on your stay at iStay Precinct. It is nice to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay with us but also enjoyed the beautiful views from your apartment. We are pleased you liked our apartments and facilities; it is always nice to have that extra space whilst on holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Recently stayed at istay precinct Adelaide for a conference. The WORST accommodation ever. Definitely NOT 4 stars. I would rate it 2 at best. Dirty room with staled cigarette smell permeating throughout. Certainly was not cleaned especially given they are nonsmoking rooms. Informed staff of it and got ignored. Booked a city skyline room and all I can see is old dirty alleyways. Waste of money. Thank goodness its a tax deductible trip. It does NOT live up to the Oaks brand name. All in all THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER; RUDE RECEPTION; stay if you want to pay 4 star price for 2 STAR accommodation!!! Be warned.

Room Tip: Don't bother!!! You will be ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. It is disappointing to read that your apartment did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments on to the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager in regards to the way you found your apartment. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My sister and I took our Mum to Adelaide as a surprise to visit family and friends for her 80th birthday!
We chose Oaks iStay Precinct because we were able to book a 2 bed 2 bath "sky view" apartment and therefore self cater a small "gathering" in Mum's honour on the Saturday afternoon/evening.
I mentioned this when I made our reservation about 6 weeks ago, and also requested an especially lovely apartment, if possible!
When we arrived at around 10.15pm on Friday evening, the views which greeted us as we walked in the door of our 16th floor apartment were just stunning!
The apartment was very well presented (although the carpets were badly stained) and equipped.
The staff were fabulous, very friendly, courteous and respectful of Mum, and the elderly guests we had to visit.
Couldn't fault our stay and would definitely return - and recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the higher floors, and in the second building (Balfours Lane I think its kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. We are glad to read that you found your 2 bedroom skyview apartment comfortable and well presented. Our skyview apartments do offer guests great views of the city and surrounds. It is great to hear you found our staff friendly, courteous and helpful. We hope your mother enjoyed her 80th birthday and look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

So, we booked the iStay for this trip to Adelaide. Having stayed in a number of pretty good hotels, we thought we would give this place a try as the website showed some reasonably good sized mini-apartments.
Check in was a bit more cumbersome than with a hotel, a fair few rules to comply with and sign for, but thats understandable if others are looking to party all night and trash the place. We crossed the concourse and made our way up to a one bed apartment, fully functioning, with a large sundeck and kitchen area. Foxtel, whisper quiet air con and even a starter pack to make a cup of tea. We was out for most of the day, with the location being so convenient for the northern and western CBD, and found the apartment to be quiet at night.
Fully refreshed with a goods night sleep, we have vowed to always consider iStay in the future.

Room Tip: We was on the fourth floor for our stay and would recommend the upgrade to a higher floor in the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment well equipped and you enjoyed our sundeck balconies. Apartments are a great alternative from small hotel rooms as it is nice to have that extra space and comfort whilst on holiday. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My son and I do a "footy trip" every year to different Australian cities. This year it was Launceston and Adelaide (our final two cities). Without a shadow of a doubt our two bedroom apartment at iStay Precinct was our best accommodation across the nation. So good we'll probably go to Adelaide again next year,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. We are so pleased to read that you and your son enjoyed our apartments and your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

With this new apartment you get basicially what you pay for, It is in a great location but basic things like you get 2 bath towels and a bath mat and thats it no hand towel or face washer are supplied which are basic things normally supplied.

They give you a small soap to wash your hands with but there is no where to leave it apart from sitting on the bathroom bench.

The shower rose in the shower of our apartment may look great but gives out hardly any water.

The most disturbing thing we found was on a saturday night they have a lot of young people stay and this was noticable with the amount of noisy people using the pool and spa while drinking alcohol not a thing most families would like to see or have to put up with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. Our central location is great for guests wanting to explore Adelaide city. Like all inner city hotels, some street noise is expected on weekends, however closely monitored by reception. Being an iStay property, we are able to offer low nightly rates with flexible service options. Basic amenities are included with additional linen available for purchase at reception. This way guests can save money whist enjoying their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#23 of 57 in Adelaide
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.3 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#35 of 57 in Adelaide
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Property: iStay Precinct
Address: 185 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. IStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct's luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. Opening hours of the swimming pool is from 6am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing