We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but basic amenities”
Review of iStay Precinct

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iStay Precinct
Reviewed April 30, 2013

With this new apartment you get basicially what you pay for, It is in a great location but basic things like you get 2 bath towels and a bath mat and thats it no hand towel or face washer are supplied which are basic things normally supplied.

They give you a small soap to wash your hands with but there is no where to leave it apart from sitting on the bathroom bench.

The shower rose in the shower of our apartment may look great but gives out hardly any water.

The most disturbing thing we found was on a saturday night they have a lot of young people stay and this was noticable with the amount of noisy people using the pool and spa while drinking alcohol not a thing most families would like to see or have to put up with.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. Our central location is great for guests wanting to explore Adelaide city. Like all inner city hotels, some street noise is expected on weekends, however closely monitored by reception. Being an iStay property, we are able to offer low nightly rates with flexible service options. Basic amenities are included with additional linen available for purchase at reception. This way guests can save money whist enjoying their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 591 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

No complaints at all. Communication was prompt and clear throughout booking / planning and subsequent dealings. Very pleased to have room upgrade, thanks :) My friend and I had a great time, pleasant and helpful desk service - very personable and friendly with humour too. Loved the apartment and happy, all we needed was there and self service no prob for 6 nights, enjoyed the privacy and independence - loved the loop bus and tram, close to CBD. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Room 301, loved the people watching while there out on balcony - noise no prob at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at iStay Precinct. It is nice to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay with us but also enjoyed our beautiful city. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our apartments, facilities and our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed three nights in Room 403. It was a very compact one bedroom apartment with a well equipped kitchen. We had a problem with the shower head which was fixed very promptly when we drew it to the attention of the staff member on reception. Although it was a small apartment we were much more comfortable here than we would have been in a hotel room. We knew the apartment would not be serviced daily and we were fine with that. We had a hire car and we found the parking easy to negotiate. We paid an extra $18.00/day for parking. The staff were very friendly and helpful (provided an umbrella for my partner when the rain set in).

There are loads of restaurants and coffee shops nearby and it's a short walk to Rundle Mall, the museum and the art gallery.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jaffa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at iStay Precinct and that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful. We are in a great location, especially with the free bus stop on the next corner, such a short walk to China Town, the Central Markets and Gouger Street.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I booked a compact 2 bedroom apartment to stay for 5 nights at iStay Precinct, Adelaide, SA through BOOKING.COM.

After the check-in registration, I had to go through the back door and crossed a private road (without a warning sign and no zebra crossing) where resident car parks were located, before entering another block of apartments which was not connected at all to the first block where the reception was located.

On entering the apartment, there were 2 bedrooms and a living room/kitchen with a 42” flat screen TV, a comfortable sofa and balcony. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. However, there was a red colour stain on the light coloured carpet. There was a washing machine (but no washing powder provided), iron and board, a hair dryer, 2 toilet rolls and 3 tiny soaps inside the toilet. There was no safe-box in the apartment.

The 2 bedrooms albeit a little small; one had an air condition, a wardrobe and a double bed which was comfortable. However, the 2nd bedroom (also a double bed) had no air-condition, fan and no wardrobe. There were no hooks installed on the walls where we could hang our clothes. Both bedrooms could not be securely locked, and the soundproof of the bedrooms were unsatisfactory.

Saturday was a nightmare with music blasting till 2am-3am.

The main door lock was fixed the wrong way which I had to turn the said lock anti-clockwise to open the right-sided main door, and one of the light switches in the bedroom was also fixed upside down. The main door did not have a peep-hole for my security and safety.

While these defects were irritating I was gobsmacked when I tried to ask for fresh towels and apartment cleaning. The receptionist told me that there would be no cleaning of the apartment at all for the duration of my 5-night stay, no changing of fresh bed sheets, no emptying of rubbish bins, no cleaning of the toilets, etc. However, I may request the full cleaning service of the apartment at AUD57.00 per service, or fresh towels at AUD3.00 each to be collected at the receptionist counter.

I was appalled that the management failed to do the basic service for hygiene sake, for example, the cleaning of the toilet, and the emptying of the rubbish bins.

Had BOOKING.COM stated these shocking management policies I was sure I would not have made the said booking.

Also, the Management charged 1.5% extra for payment by credit card. While BOOKING.COM did mention about the credit card surcharge, it would be more transparent if BOOKING.COM would clearly state which hotel/apartment would incur the credit card surcharge rather than let the customers find out themselves only during check-out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhDPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at iStay Precinct. It is surprising to read some of your comments in regards to such things as servicing as it is quite clearly stated on the website in which you booked and on all other websites that we are an iStay property and the rates on offer are unserviced. In order to offer such competitive rates we have given our guests the option of servicing (at an additional cost). Refuse chutes are also placed on each floor to ensure that guests can easily dispose of their waste on a daily basis.
You are correct in saying that there are two building at our property and you do need to walk from one to the other, however this is done so via a private paved area between the two buildings - this is sometimes used as a drop off point for guests therefore very minimal cars may be present.
In regards to the 1.5% charge, this is noted in the terms and conditions on websites and also we have signs advising this at reception when checking in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is not on the main strip but just 2 blocks from Chinatown, Festival Centre and North Terrace. The free 99 bus passes outside but it is at the daggier side of town. We had a compact 2 bedroom appartment which was very clean and modern. It had an enclosed balcony for al fresco dining to see view the city and Adelaide Hills. Nothing to gripe about the quality and comfort. Twin heatpumps! A chopping board was missing but that was all. A washer dryer and dishwasher was a real boon! Suspect it may get a bit hot in summer but great in autumn.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors to get a view and distance away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartment, location and service to a high standard.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had read the reviews before booking and decided to take a chance for the very cheap $100 cost. Service by staff, Will and Rishi (?) was excellent. Room was fine and provided what we needed although the bedroom was stuffy without a fan or direct aircon. Yes, the carpets were stained but pretty sure they were never intended for a hotel style of accommodation!

Friday night was fine and we slept well but Saturday not so great. My husband could sleep standing up so it didn't bother him but I was woken about 10pm by the very heavy music vibration as mentioned in reviews. Sadly it could not be escaped as it vibrated through our entire apartment. It kept me awake, on and off, until around 3am so I wasn't a happy camper.

I took the risk and everything else was great for the $100 cost. I would return again due to the service and overall accommodation and location but not on a Saturday night!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the potential noise but apparently no room allows you to escape the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. It is great to read that you found the customer service our staff provided was helpful and excellent. As we are a city hotel small amounts of noise is always expected, especially over the weekend. If guests go above the allowed noise level, our front office staffs are normally quick to respond so to ensure the comfort of all hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here due to attending a conference in Adelaide so it was booked for us. The hotel is in a handy location and generally well presented. I see that others have mentioned the standard of cleanliness here, have to agree about the carpets, shockingly dirty. Seriously, cream coloured carpets in a hotel? The manager does respond to these reviews I see but there's only so many times that he/she can trot out the same "I have passed that on to our housekeeping/maintenance" line before it just looks lazy. I reported a fault with our tv on the Sunday, it took a further 2 days and at least 4 attempts speaking to staff to get it repaired, shame we check out tomorrow. I understand that things don't always happen in an instant but there was nil communication from the staff in regards to this issue, with me or their colleagues. It wasn't until I asked to speak to the manager that things got moving. I would have liked to give this information to the manager myself but he/she "was in a meeting". Also, don't plan on sleeping past 0600, there is a loud knocking sound at that time which, according to reception staff, is due to the large number of people showering at that time and a hot water system inadequate to handle it. Unlikely to recommend this hotel to friends or colleagues...unless I don't like them ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at iStay Precinct, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay Precinct. It is disappointing to read of the issues you faced during your stay. Several attempts have been made in trying to contact you with no success. We would still very much like the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further as we value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#23 of 56 in Adelaide
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iStay Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Precinct

Address: 185 Morphett St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Oaks Precinct)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: $99 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay Precinct 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IStay Precinct offers urban and contemporary accommodation in the Adelaide CBD. Conveniently located in close proximity to a bustling hub of attractions, stroll to the myriad of entertainment venues, cocktail bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. IStay Precinct accommodation options include 1 and 2-bedroom apartments, each containing full kitchen and laundry facilities, open plan living and private balconies with sweeping city views. Also enjoy the Precinct's luxurious guest facilities including indoor heated pool, sauna, spa and steam room. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "iStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. Opening hours of the swimming pool is from 6am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay Precinct reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay Precinct Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing