We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, good rate and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I usually stay at one of the Oaks self-contained apartments on North Terrace (near the Convention Centre) when visiting Adelaide. However, this time around, I wanted to try somewhere a little closer to most of the amenities in the CBD.
Upon arriving to the hotel in mid-afternoon, one of the porters ran out to greet me and took my luggage while I check in. I must admit to being very impressed by the enthusiastic nature of all the staff. I've stayed in many hotels around the country and I can tell you I have come to not expect much so this was really pleasant.
As the hotel only opened in early April 2010, everything looked brand new. I was given a room on the 9th floor and it was just a floor above a parking building at the back of the hotel. Nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about. The room was nice and spacious for a short stay. I used the gym twice and there is enough equipment to cater for 5-6 people at a time. The TV on the the machines still wasn't operational during my stay but I'm sure it'll be very handy once it works.
Lastly, a word about taxis in Adelaide. They are far and few and you are better off walking to the top of Rundle Mall (just across the street) and catch one at the designated taxi rank. There seems no point in calling and booking one. It's just a waste of time...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,679)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2010

wife and i stayed at the new crowne plaza just for one night.
we found it to be a pleasant and enjoyable stay.
check in was a breeze, made very easy by james who was friendly and efficient.
the decor is tasteful, modern and understated, not flashy and gaudy which may become dated quickly in the future though.
the room we had was on the 9th floor, not much of a view though as it overlooked the buildings next to the hotel.
the room was a good size, king size bed, ample closet space for a few days stay.
very good size bathroom with a large shower.
we didn't use the restaurant as we went to the jasmine across the road for dinner, but we popped our head in to check it out and it seemed to be in keeping with the decor in the rest of the hotel.
we checked out the pool and spa on the second floor and again it would be all you would need for a few days stay.
we had a good nights sleep, no noise was heard from the street which considering that the hotel is located in a busy part of town with restaurants and pubs all within a short walk away.
all in all the crowne plaza is a good hotel in a very handy location for an inner city hotel.
we would recommend this hotel for anyone on a business trip to adelaide or a short getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Stayed one night over the ANZAC Day weekend. Expecting to store our luguage on arrival from our early flight to Melbourne, we were surprised and grateful to be checked in immediately (at 8.30am). Our room was exactly as described on the website with great views of the Adelaide Hills and balcony with outdoor furniture.

Comfortable bed, very deep soaking tub and large shower too. Note complaints of noise from other reviews, we did not notice any and found our stay to be of very high standard. Whilst we have not stayed in Adelaide before, we have stayed at many hotels in the class around the world and found it to be of equal standard.

Breakfast was plentiful in redsalt restaurant, (though the view is lacking there) the food was hot and staff very courtesy. Based on the reviews on TA for hotels in Adelaide, this exceeded our expectations for both price, service and quality. Excellent location close to Rundall Mall, the Zoo (reason for our visit) and transport options. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I spend approx. 200 nights per year in hotels around the globe and the new Crowne Plaza in Adelaide is a real disappointment.

Apart from the typical teething problems of a new hotel there is a numer of details that are just plainly not well thought.

The design of the rooms is quite nice, although my room was facing a parking facility (though on the 4th floor) and every time a car was parking I had the head light going through the room.

The towels in the bathroom are at the exact opposite of the shower. The closet to hang your suits is ridicously small.

The restaurant was fairly expensive and the quality of the food really disappointing. I paid 110 AUD for a steak, two sides, a dessert, and 2 glasses of wine.

The fact that on arrival I was downgraded to a regular room because of "maintenance problems" is probably one of the teething problems. However not the best first impression and you would at least expect some kind of apology and maybe a little compensation. But nothing of the sort...

On the next moring beacause of the location of the hotel and the morning traffic it took 25min to get a taxi.

Will I go back? Certainly not!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skysailor1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I booked a stay at the Crowne Plaza as a treat for my partner who was celebrating his birthday.
Having called the hotel I asked which was their best room (with an inclusive breakfast rate) and was told it would be a corner suite on a higher floor. terrific!
I proceeded to book it on their website. I arrived to check in at 4.30pm and was handed keys to a room with a view of the car park!!!
I took the lift back to reception and was given keys to a room overlooking Hindmarsh square and the Griffins Hotel. It was NOT a corner suite, it was NOT a higher floor (level 4) and we had the music from the hotel to keep us awake all night.
The standout elements to the hotel are: -dishevelled and ill fitting uniforms - i've seen more professional appearance from hotel staff in country outback hotels! -the decor and colours are depressing and ill matched giving the whole space a feeling of gloom rather than glamour - I would expect at least a copy of SA Life to grace these hideously decorated rooms but not a magazine in sight - watch your step trying to get into the bathroom! Nice the bathtubs are so big and deep but you wont' find a bath gel anywhere and besides aren't we experiencing a drought STILL!
We wanted to believe that breakfast would be stupendously brilliant so went down to be greeted with a 'make your own' cafeteria style coffee machine surrounded by what can only be described as 'airplane' standard food. The ONLY place in Adelaide for an amazing breakfast is "THE SEBEL" still! and superb and 5star + service "THE SEBEL" still!!
We should not have to make concessions for the fact the hotel is new - it should be brilliant from day one and continue to get better!! It is a stigma to our city showcasing ineptitude and mediocrity.
Very disappointing experience - but only once!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dioniAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This place is brand new and everything is as expected. In fact the only thing that was out of place was the TV screens on all the Gym equipment as they were still being connected....completely understandable as the place was still too new and this really was an added extra.

Staff were excellent, helpful and friendly and having stayed with my female partner, we were not made to feel like the double room we booked was anything other than normal. It is attached to bonus schemes and point systems which was how we found out about it prior to it being finished. Having needed to stay in Adelaide for a personal event this is was an excellent choice.

Free City Loop bus is on the corner and will get you around most of the Adelaide highlights.

Tram can be accessed from city loop bus so everything is accessible... and free in the city. Tram goes to Glenelg ($4.40 peak one way) and free stops in Glenelg shopping strip.

Airport bus (Skylink) is also on the corner $8.50 per person to airport. Allow at least 1.5hrs prior to departure but definitely book a seat.

Rundle Mall shopping strip is around the corner.....

Taxi From Airport ~ $24.00 (15-20mins)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraPaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

As this is a new hotel in the Priority Privilage group, we were keen to compare our experience to our many stays at the former Holiday Inn on Hindley. We are very, very pleased with our three night stay, in particular the way the staff at all levels treated us, very friendly and obliging. The food was excellent,breakfast food was plentifull and served ...hot. Our dinner in the restaurant was also of the highest quality. Our room was very well designed and comfortable. In summary, we were very happy with our stay and will be returning again soon, as well as telling our friends how good it is.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Address: 16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $92 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing