We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not get a standard room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not get a standard room”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The standard room in this hotel is way too small and does not have an opening window. It felt really stuffy unless the aircon was on. The view was of a car park which isn't a view at all. This hotel is modern and close to everything especially the rundle mall and the station. The staff were friendly and did let me check in a bit early. After checking out I got charged for a bottle of wine even though I did not use the mini bar. Upon emailing the hotel they did apologise and give me a refund. To avoid this happening do not move the drinks in the fridge!! I think if they are not exactly as they are they assume that you took something. Hotel was clean. If you plan to stay here just make sure you get a good room ie not standard :)

Room Tip: Get a higher up room not standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zurajanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear zurajanai,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and do apologise that you did not have an excellent stay with us. I understand that the view of the car park is not ideal but unfortunately is the one downside to our central location. Fortunately, as you mentioned the higher floors and the other side of the building offers a lovely view and balconies.

I am sorry there was a mix up with your mini-bar. I will ask the team to be more diligent.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    670
    132
    33
    15
See reviews for
218
588
114
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel, the location central for everything that Adelaide has to offer. The Adelaide Fringe was taking place whilst we were there, the hotel was just far enough away from the main street for us not be disturbed once we had returned to our room. The standard Wifi service offers free connection in the Lobby area, and a fee for connection in your room. One of the receptionists suggested we join the IHG rewards club which gave free unlimited access throughout the hotel and in any other hotel within the group, this gave us a fast reliable connection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Val_151515.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It's very good to know you thought our location was excellent and you found the internet connection to be fast and reliable.

Best wishes
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meningie, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

While room was lovely (924) it was too small for 3rd person on a fold out bed, charged at $75 for extra is a bit steep when given no extra coffee cups, extra. Ok for a couple. Road noise on weekday quiet noisey. Great central location near Rundle mall and Rundle st so good for Fringe shows.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WazzaTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear WazzaTroy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and you have certainly raised a good point regarding the extra coffee cups when additional people are staying in the room. I appreciate that the rollaway bed does take up room and may not be always be ideal. We do offer interconnecting rooms which although is an extra expense may have been a better option for you which we should have suggested.

I am very pleased to hear that you thought the room was lovely and the location was ideal to enjoy Fringe.

Hope you have a lovely weekend.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at the Crowne Plaza. It is perfectly located to see all of Adelaide's main attractions and to Rundle Street where there are some nice restaurants. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful; there is free wifi if you join as a "club" member, which the member of reception staff made us aware of when we enquired about wifi. Our room was clean and comfortable as you would expect, and the buffet breakfast was very good, with a lot of variety. Overall, the hotel was perfect for our needs and a two night stay in Adelaide.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brit_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Brit_M,

It is so nice to know you had a a very pleasant stay with us. We are so fortunate to be located perfectly for visitors to explore our beautiful city.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and taking the time to share this, the team really appreciate hearing back from our guests.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I chose this hotel as it was reasonably new. The rooms were well appointed but nothing special. Everything was modern, clean, and tidy. However the rooms were very small and my option (allbeit a lead-in room) had the view of a carpark.

I was very impressed with the quality of the restaurant food and service. I never have high expectations for hotel lobby restaurants however this was particularly plesant considering. Dinner times are not very busy but the staff are enthusastic and genuine. The breakfast was suprisingly diverse and well priced (there was a special price during my stay that I was made aware of at check-in). I liked the option of being able to make your own fresh juice.

The gym is small, which is always a disappointment but the health and fitness facilities in general are well kept and clean.

In general the service was good. Staff were friendly, and I had no troubles. It is a comfortable business hotel and I would reccomend it to anyone needing a value for money, property.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fresh juicer at breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Will B,

I am very happy to hear that you found the hotel suitable for your needs and am particularly pleased you enjoyed our F&B offering, this is something we are really working on as we understand how important it is for our guests.

The car park view is unfortunately unavoidable however next time you are back please consider upgrading to our Deluxe rooms as they have a great view, are larger and have balconies which which certainly give you the extra space I think you would enjoy.

I really appreciate you sharing your feedback, it is important to us.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for four days this month. The hotel is nice but there was nothing about it that seemed extraordinary. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is normal for hotels in Adelaide, service is good. I have stayed at the Hilton multiple times in the past and found that to be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBeach_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear MaBeach_lover,

Thank you for making the time to share your experience. I do appreciate that everyone has different tastes and expectations and that we may not be able to meet these for every guest. It was very good of you to give us a chance and perhaps if Hilton is unavailable in the future you may give us another go or our sister property the InterContinental Adelaide.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Avoid at all costs the Handicapped rooms if you are able bodied. Was rather like staying at a hospital! I've stayed before in another room and it was fine. The rooms are well equipped, if not rather sterile.

Breakfast is outrageously expensive. Just down the path are a couple of little bistros. The one on the end near the busier street is fabulous for fast service, great food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms above 7 avoid the parking garage views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear DMC90,

I am really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. By law we provide a number of Handicapped rooms and I am very sorry if you felt this was like staying at a hospital. It is our intention for all guests to have a great experience when staying with us and it is a shame you felt let down.

We do offer some great packages which include breakfast as well as breakfast specials so please just ask if you do decide to give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing