We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel and rooms in a great location with a view”
Review of Pullman Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Adelaide
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms look great. Modern, clean, comfortable bed, stunning furniture and decor, great bathroom. Could not fault the room. The TV had all the free to air TV stations as well as the most popular Foxtel stations which was useful. Balcony on the higher levels had a great view of the mountains, city and Hindmarsh Square. Although I didn't use them, the pool and gym facilities were made available to us. The bar and restaurant were busy from morning until close. The location is perfect. Right around the corner (walking distance 1 minute) from the chic Rundle Mall and Rundle Street shopping precinct. Full of cafes, restaurants and retail all within walking distance. The taxi rank at the hotel was always occupied by a waiting taxi so you didn't have to wait at all. The entrance of the hotel is off the main roads which is ideal and secluded from the busy traffic. The only downfall that I experienced was the valet parking. I called on a number of occasions to have my car brought up and depending on who you spoke to you would receive varying quality of service. Some would greet you by name and be extremely accommodating. Only a few however were a little too unfamiliar with the traits an employee in the hospitality industry where customer service is imperative should possess. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel and will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Adelaide. The highlight of the stay would definitely have been bumping into the entire Sydney Swans Football Club squad in the foyer and watching them go through their paces with some light exercises in Hindmarsh Square from my balcony.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels with views of Hindmarsh Square are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emmanuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Emmanual L,

Thank you for your lovely review. We have been very busy, certainly mad March as it is called, and despite our very best efforts I know a few of the team have struggled on occasion to deliver the best possible service so it is very nice to hear that you have acknowledged all of the great things about Crowne Plaza Adelaide. In saying that, we do strive to ensure every guest has a fantastic stay with us so we will continue to focus on improving our service. We did in fact hold a service training programme again this week, it is an absolute priority for us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza before and it's because of that positive experience I decided to stay there again.

The hotel is conveniently located, just minutes from Rundle Mall and then King William Street where I took the tram to go to Glenelg. Also, the shutte bus from the airport stops at Hindmarsh Square which is just metres from the hotel so getting to it is very easy.

The room was spacious, very clean and filled with light. The beds were very comfy and I had no trouble getting to sleep each night. The view was terrible (roofs of nearby buildings) but this was not an issue for me. I was very happy with everything in my room.

There are cafes and restaurants very close by so I was spoiled for choice when it came to eating out. Being close to Rundle Mall, I also have easy access to a supermarket where I can pick up drinks and snacks which I brought back to the hotel.

All but one of the staff members I interacted with were excellent (more on that later). The staff at the reception desk were so pleasant to deal with and seem to enjoy keeping their guests happy. Special mention also goes to the staff at the Concierge desk who were always ready to assist if I had any questions. They were delightful.

If there was one thing that put me off during my stay, it was the gentleman I dealt with when I was checking out. He was very abrupt and I felt like he was trying to get rid of me as fast as he could. It was unprofessional to be honest and not consistent with the rest of my experience at the hotel.

Apart from that little blip, I would happily stay at the Crowne Plaza next time I am in Adelaide again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuktuujaartuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear tuktuujaartuq,

I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us in the past and found our location, rooms and service to be excellent.

Of course I am very disappointed to hear that one of our staff members did not provide you with the excellent service you should expect. If you have the time to share any further details my email is linda.collis@ihg.com and I would appreciate your feedback so I can address the team member involved.

I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I must start this review by saying the rooms was really clean, but that's about the sum total of the compliments. I travel a lot, have seen many, many hotel rooms, but this one really takes the biscuit!
-Right from the start the check in clerk treated us like a bad cashier at a 7-11, - very abrupt and not interested in us at all. Our superior room had a wonderful view of the adjacent multi-storey car park roof and the back of another faceless building. The safe in the room didn't work (this was fixed half way through our stay). There is no self park option, retrieving the car typically took around 15mins, but on the first day took 45 minutes causing us to miss the start of a family reunion lunch! It was also impossible to call down to ask for the car in advance as the line was always busy. Upon returning from our day out, tired, and ready for bed we found that the base sheet was too short for the bed by about 18 inches, exposing the matress, - not exactly comfortable or hygenic. When reported to the manager the following day he responded "that'll explain why we ran out of double sheets yesterday!" (we had a king bed!). Upon check-out they tried to charge us for the room, - we had already pre-paid with hotels.com, they then went on to charge us for items we hadn't had from the mini bar! This was then corrected but it cost me money for the foreign transaction! All of this coupled with an uncomfortable bed amounted to a pretty unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mmiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mmiuk,

I am extremely concerned with the experience you had at the hotel and would really appreciate if I could speak to you personally.

If possible could you please email me with details so I am able to contact you - linda.collis@ihg.com.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

i can only agree with was has been said recently. if only for the room, the location and the staff this would go as a FIVE point experience. however, what ruins it are the outrageous add-on services! valet parking (almost a must) - 32 dollar (incl. an hour wait or so to get your car back)
wi-fi - 20+ dollar
etc

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Phillip S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and take on board your comments regarding costs for valet parking and internet. We do offer free wi-fi access in the lobby, bar, restaurant and free internet access in the business centre but I understand that you may in fact want to work from your room and this is definitely something we are reviewing.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights over a very busy weekend, hotel was booked solid however we had a very efficient check in. I want to make special mention of the great customer service we received from all the guys on the Concierge desk during our stay. Good job guys ! Also a big thank you to Shelley for the great communication via phone and email before we arrived.

This modern hotel is in a great central position and is relatively new. Our standard room on the 8th floor was spacious enough with a very comfortable king size bed and pillows, good size bathroom with a large walk in shower, nice furnishings, bathrobes, slippers, ironing board/iron, large windows with great block out curtains. The room key slot to turn the lights/electricity on, is not right at the entrance but down next to the bathroom door which was interesting.

Please note that some rooms will have a view of the multi level car park next door which wasn't an issue for us as we were only in our room to shower and sleep, and apart from a noticeable droning noise which we think was coming from air conditioning units on top of the car park (?) it was a pretty quiet room, so we slept well. I think the droning sent us to sleep ! As well, on our first night noticed that we only had warm water and when we asked the next morning were told that there had been a leak in one of the hotel's water tanks, and that it had been repaired however for some reason, our room had no hot water at all during our stay. The weather was very hot in Adelaide while we were there and we were out in it for most of the day, so I didn't mind having warm showers, and just confirmed with Reception on check out of the issue.

Overall, the Crowne Plaza is a very good hotel and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCSSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear TCSSouthAustralia,

It has been a very busy month and the team has had to work very hard so I really appreciate you acknowledging the great service from our concierge team and Shelley - they will be truly thankful to receive such positive feedback.

We did have an issue with a hot water pipe which had to be fixed so I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience to you and will ask our Maintenence Manager to check we do not have any ongoing issues since this should now be rectified.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Quite typical of most newer business hotels, nothing too special about the property but then again absolutely nothing to criticize!
Spotless rooms and relatively spacious. Lovely, deep baths and fluffy robes. Friday and Saturday nights can be noisy due to popular bars nearby, so see if you can get a room higher up. The room I had was with a balcony so fresh air was fantastic but other rooms I went into did not have them.
I have had breakfast here on several occasions and definitely rate it as a bit of a showcase for excellent SA produce.
I was involved in a wedding and the only downside was that there appeared to be a lack of communication between staff on several occassions with no records noted on what other staff had agreed to which made it frustrating.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are quieter on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missjane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Missjane06,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I am pleased that you had a good stay. It is great to hear you you have breakfast with us regularly and we do have such wonderful produce in SA so we are very fortunate to be able to share this.

Thank you for pointing out some areas of communication we need to focus on, I will ensure I speak with the team about this and remind them how important it is.

I do hope we see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a lovely modern hotel, rooms are spacious and bed is very comfortable. We would have rated our experience a five star if our review was just based on the room. Also the staff were very friendly and polite.

What let us down was that we had to wait 1 hour and 50 minutes to get our car from valet parking. We were advised that there would be a delay of 30 to 45 minutes which we didnt mind as it gave us time to pack and check out. When we checked out there was a massive queue and we waited 25 minutes.It got to one hour waiting for our car and my hubby went to check on how much longer it would be. We were advised that we were next in line. We patiently waited whilst another 10 cars were delivered. So my hubby went and checked again. The staff member was very apologetic and arranged for our car to be delivered.

I felt really sorry for the staff as they were working as fast as they could. Surely management could have done something about this. There were many peeved customers. For $32 I would have expected a much more efficient service.

It is such a shame that this put a bad end to what would have been a positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Pullman Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear CJandJJ,

Please accept my sincere apologies for your stay being ruined by your terrible check-out experience. I am not sure what day you checked out but I am very aware that we have had issues with longer than normal checkout times and valet parking on a couple of days due to the large number of people checking out and requiring their cars at the same time. We have endeavoured to reduce the impact by increasing staffing levels but on the couple of occasions the demand (over 100 checkouts and cars) has over stretched the team and we acknowledge guests have had to wait for an extended period but the time you have had to wait seems to be far longer than others.

I would really appreciate having futher dialogue regarding this with you and would appreciate if you could contact me on linda.collis@ihg.com or calling me at the hotel.

Again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience we caused.

Kind regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Adelaide

Address: 16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $86 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Pullman Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Salt Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing