We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice for staying at Adelaide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best choice for staying at Adelaide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was best of the best. We were welcomed as soon as we got off the taxi from airport. We were offered an upgrade, recognizing my membership status which I didn't provide when I booked via booking.com. The room was clean and tidy, plus the bed was super comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent too The hotel was perfectly located next to shopping and dineout places. Taxi, free bus, free tram were within one block. The Best choice for staying at Adelaide

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manaseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Manaseeker,

It is fantastic to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We do try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable whilst in Adelaide. Our Priority Club guests are extremely important to us, thank you for being a loyal customer to IHG.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    654
    131
    32
    15
See reviews for
208
569
111
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We began our visit to Oz with a 5 day stay in Adelaide at the Crowne Plaza and it was an excellent decision as the level of service and the friendly attitude of all the staff was a great introduction to Australia. Our Standard room was on a high floor with a very pleasant view over the little park in Hindmarsh Square and towards the Adelaide Hills. It had no balcony which didn't matter as there were heat wave conditions so we needed the air conditioning, which functioned very efficiently. The room was well furnished with a king size bed (superbly comfortable mattress). Slight shortage of storage space as this is essentially a business hotel but great to have a steam iron and ironing board and a good hair dryer! The bathroom was a good size with large shower cabinet as well as a bath. The only negative aspect was the charge made for Internet access at AUS $ 15 per day!

Room Tip: Request upper floor facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Lee F,

It is wonderful to hear that you chose Adelaide as the first stop on your trip and it is great to know that our friendly staff made a great impression. You certainly did encounter a few hot days whilst you were here so I am really glad you could relax in your room and have a break from the heat.

Thank you for making the effort to share your experience and I do hope you have really enjoyed your time in Australia.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife have just spent a excellent weekend in Adelaide and can't rate the crown plaza highly enough .. Great location ,friendly helpful staff and clean modern accomadation . My only criticism would be that the bar prices are high compared to other nearby places but that in no way would deter me from staying there again .
We can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2up2down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear 2up2down,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it is wonderful to know that you will be coming back again. Next time ask the team if we have any specials going on in the bar as we do try and have a couple of great deals on offer.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we really appreciate the feedback.

Have a wonderful 2013 and hopefully we see you and your wife very soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Adelaide for one night towards the end of 2012. We had a standard room and didn't bother upgrading (as was offered) as we had an event to go to, so only really needed a room to get ready in and sleep in. The get ready aspect was adequate. However, although thankfully having a full length mirror in our room (which we discovered isn't the case in all rooms), the lighting in the room was appalling - trying to see to do makeup was almost hopeless. The remainder of the facilities overall were as to be expected in a standard room. Everything was in pretty good shape, which we expected as it is a new hotel. One disconcerting issue was that while we could see out of our window to the office buildings adjacent and the square below, so could everyone else see in! So be careful to ensure you are clothed when looking out!! One thing we loved was the smell of the body lotion - divine. Overall a pleasant experience for very rare night out away from our 3 kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Michelle R,

Firstly thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your feedback on the lighting and we are very close to having an energy efficient solution that will in fact provide brighter lights. As you can imagine with rising energy costs and our desire to continually reduce our impact on the environment ensuring we update with the best possible lighting is critical.

I am glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant experience and do hope that if you have the opportunity to stay with us again we will be able to make it even better.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent the Christmas break here with my partner as a relaxing getaway and couldn't believe what I found. I've not had much luck with hotels in Australia since moving here three years ago from the States. Generally I've encountered a sea of mediocre hotels with average service and dubious facilities. What a surprise to come across this property...in ADELAIDE of all places. On service: we were greeted warmly and sincerely by the valet on arrival, front-desk acknowledged my Priority Club status and extended our check-out time to coincide with our flight time (nice touch) and staff encountered always said hello. The facilities: the hotel is shiny and new and extremely well maintained (save for a but of an issue with unlocking the lift with the room key.) The room: we upgraded to an executive room, and it was totally worth it- it was bigger than our apartment, had a spa tub, 2 balconies and a Nespresso machine (again, nice touch.) Also, don't miss the steam room- fabulous.
Now only if Sydney had a comparable hotel, I'd be set!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms overlooking the square have balconies...great for morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear GlobalDavidG,

What a delight to read your review. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely hotel and a team that really does their best to ensure that every guest feels welcome and hopefully we can enhance their visit to Adelaide.

Our Priority Club Guests are so important to us, we really do appreciate you choosing our hotels all over the world, but of course Adelaide especially!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, it is great to know we are getting a lot of things right.

Best wished for a fantastic 2013.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here with my husband while attending the Adelaide International 3 Day Event. This hotel was in walking distance of the event - albeit 20+minutes away - and VERY central - Rundle Mall just around the corner. Our accommodation package included breakfast which was nice, but if that isn't included there are heaps of breakfast eateries just a step outside the door.
Our room was very comfortable, the amenities were first class, - it is getting a little tired, but still all that we wanted. Reception staff and concierge were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadishTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear RadishTas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very fortunate to be a sponsor of the Adelaide International 3 Day Event which is a great event for Adelaide and as you mentioned not too far away from the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable and meet your needs and our staff warm and friendly.

Best wishes for 2013 and I hope we see you again at this years event.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago because I was traveling for work. Such a great location for shopping and restaurants, as its located just around the corner from Rundle st and Rundle Mall. My room was very spacious and the decor felt brand new. I was mostly looking forward to having a nice shower as I had been in the air for a long time, It did not disappoint, fantastic shower facilities. The next few days I spent a lot of time in the bar and restaurant with some work friends and my wife. Redsalt restaurant is a beautiful setting with lovely views of the parklands, and the staff where very courteous. When we were in the bar, we where served by a man named Daniel and was most impressed with his service. Very helpful with local wine knowledge, he referred us to a nice wine tour around the Barossa valley and you MUST try his cocktails! (ask for the ones that aren't on the list!) He also booked dinner for us at a couple of restaurants around Adelaide, which were very nice (Auge, Celcius).

Would recommend staying here anytime, I always come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertPPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Robert PPG,

As a regular to Adelaide it is fantastic to know that you are making the most of our fantastic location whilst enjoying our rooms and facilities.

It is great that you have acknowledged Daniel for the terrific job that he does, he is passionate about Adelaide and all that it has to offer so I am really pleased you have been able to take up some of his suggestions. I will make sure he does get specially recognised for helping make your stay.

Best wishes for 2013 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing