We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, all you could ask for and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Excellent value, all you could ask for and more”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

At the end of a long week away I was pleasantly surprised with an upgrade for my stay at Crowne Plaza in Adelaide. Everything about this hotel was excellent for my short stay. The upgraded room was very spacious, well set out and appointed and had a great view out over the city and park. The price at $137 was excellent (even for a Friday night). I had the best night's sleep in a very comfortable bed (despite a bunch of noisy students staying in the hotel). I had a great swim in the pool before I left in the morning. The staff were helpful and courteous. I'd be very happy to stay there again some time.

Room Tip: This location is great for a range of restaurants. It is also conveniently located at the top end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Conatus,

I am so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and the free upgrade! It is great you were able to get a great nights sleep (I know the Uni students here for the University Games were occasionally a bit noisy).

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope you get to visit again soon.

Kind regards
Linda Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    682
    133
    33
    15
See reviews for
224
604
115
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Prob the best spot to stay if you are going to stay in the city. It's what you would expect from a crown plaza, nothing more nothing less! Nice rooms clean, plenty of staff available for assistance. Pool and gym are fine not overly flamboyant.
Only thing more I would like is to be able to park my own car and not rely on valet .
Of all hotels in Adelaide I'm happy we chose this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Darren G,

We think our location is pretty fantastic too and I am very happy that you chose us!

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Clean, fresh rooms. Friendly service. Quick check in and out. Excellent restaurant.
My colleague and I even stumbled into a reception held by the hotel executive, who were lovely folk. The location was ideal for any central business, and we were in striking distance of our own work on the north side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
MickB53

Thanks MickB53 for taking time to post a review. I am really pleased we have met your needs and feel free to stumble in anytime!

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Unprepossessing exterior - could be a modern hotel anywhere - but the difference is that unlike too many others this one is staffed by people who genuinely want to make the visitor feel welcome.

As an experienced traveller I am weary of slipshod, slapdash; so it was a special treat to stay in a place that felt good from start to finish. Warm, friendly, not pushy, exactly right. The room was immaculate, well-equipped and the bathroom well-lit and with a fab shower.

The restaurant on the ground floor served a competent and tasty lunch (I ate there on two separate days and sampled four dishes, all good, and priced well at AUS$ 25 for two courses. Breakfast is a buffet service, with a wide range of choice.

My advice - for a business hotel, it's in a central location and will meet all your needs. There is a lane pool, a bit on the small side, but get up early and get it to yourself.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter - youthful revellers in the park outside the front may disturb light sleepers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear RoystonSas

I am truly thrilled to know that we delivered a great experience when you stayed with us recently. Your insight is true, our staff truly due aim to deliver a genuine welcoming experience and they really do love what they do.

We are very fortunate to have a new hotel which has definitely been built with guest needs in mind and I am so glad you enjoyed dining in Redsalt.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Kind regards
Linda Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

No complaints except for no suites but a great location. Room service is excellent as are the housekeeping staff. They work so hard and are always smiling. One side of the hotel faces the car park - not an issue for me but it maybe for some guests.

Room Tip: Avoid Beach facing rooms on very hot days as the AC is not the best and the sun will warm up your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David987897987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear David987897987,

Thank you for making time to share your thoughts from your stay earlier this year. I agree with you our housekeeping staff are excellent and we do believe we offer both great service and food in room service.

Ensuring our air-conditioning is functioning at optimal levels is a priority for us and we have been focusing our attention in this area.

Again, thank you for making an effort to share your experience.

Kind regards
Linda Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent a night at the Crowne Plaza Adelaide last month to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is very new and situated right in the heart of Adelaide, just a cooee from the shops of Rundle Mall and the bars and restaurants of Rundle Street - but you don't feel overpowered by traffic and city noise as it nestles behind a park. Right from the time we pulled up out the front the service was seamless. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant which focuses on local foods and has a stunning winelist including several of the exclusive Grange vinages and our room faced south ove the city offering us a good view of the next glorious sunny day.
I can't fault it and will use it again when in need of a treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear amcwam,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Adelaide to celebrate your birthday. I am so pleased that you had the chance to enjoy a meal in Redsalt and that you found our wine list to be to your liking.

Our team here love making our guests feel welcome so I am glad you found it to be that way. I will ensure they receive this feedback.

You should treat yourself more often and we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband bought us a night at the hotel as a birthday gift - valet parking and breakfast was included. The staff were great from the word go, friendly, organised, polite and not too over the top. The ambience as you walk in to the foyer is lovely. The room was spacious, ultra modern, clean and comfortable. We ate at the Griffin's pub next door and walked to the Festival Centre for our night out. After a peaceful sleep and waking up to a cool view over Hindmarsh Square, we enjoyed the buffet brekky that was included in the deal - delicious, varies and again, attentive and good staff. I have only good things to say about the Crowne - I've also used it for a huge block booking for work and everyone who stayed there had a positive experience.

Room Tip: go as high up as you can, overlooking the square and towards the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Netski66,

It is wonderful to hear your birthday weekend went well and I am really pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. Thank you for recognising the service provided by our team and taking the time to share your experience.

Hopefully you can visit us again before your next birthday!

Kind regards
Linda Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing