We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in dead location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Taxi drivers seem to have never heard of this hotel and the signage is not large. Make sure you have the street address with you.
I had a twin room with two double beds which did not leave room for much else. Wardrobe had a miserly two coat hangers and a half size ironing board. If there were two people the room would have been cramped. There is only one chair at the desk. The bathroom was nice but lacked towel rails. I found the room quite noisy in the morning due to Wakefield St being a major thoroughfare.
Breakfast was cereal, tinned fruit and toast and no other options were provided. There is no bar, no restaurant and no room service.
The location is very dead at night and the city attractions are a 10-15 minute walk away. There are many better located and hotels with better amenities in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Adabco Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

We found this newish hotel comfortable, friendly and convenient. It is in an Adelaide heritage building. Room was clean and bed comfortable.
2 suggestions I made while there: the rooms require luggage racks. It is much easier to pack and unpack when your suitcase is at a manageable level.
Breakfast was not really a true "Continental". It was all a bit refined.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VitaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Very professional service, very clean, the only lack was no digital channels and therefore poor picture on the tv.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed at the Adabco for one night while in Adelaide on business. Very generous sized room and the bed was extremely comfortable - I slept like a log. Only complaint would be that the bathroom floor seemed a bit grubby and there were no towel rails but everything else was fine and I would definitely stay there again. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the included continental breakfast is a great touch. A nice 10 minute walk gets you to Victoria Square and I'm guessing it would be about the same to Rundle Mall.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MungoDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Internet @ $9.00 an hour is unreasonable particularly when it can not logged off and returned to later . "Plastic" milk for breakfast and no parking facilities all make you realise the ramifications of "cheap". One day the room was not cleaned and the dusting and general cleaning substandard, The room was reasonable but lacked general things like towel rail and space at the hand basin. Overall pretty disappointed and will be looking elsewher next time

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatusPogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the ADABCO and were very impressed with everything. The building is quite beautiful and is certainly a bonus.

As mentioned in many other reviews here, the rooms are new, very large with large beds (at least our room was). We were very comfortable the whole stay. Everything was very clean, but like another reviewer, we did notice the lack of towel hangers in the bathroom.

Some rooms have views, some dont, so might be worth asking for one with a view. Never know, it might work!

Breakfast was reasonable and staff were very helpful and friendly.

For the price, you cant do much better in Adelaide I reckon. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I am so glad I used the Travel Advisor reviews to choose this fantastic value hotel. It is all the good things other reviewers mention - lovely old building, super comfortable beds (but no so comfy, over puffy pillows), generous sized, very clean rooms and friendly, professional reception staff.
The reception areas is well stocked with brochures of things to see and do in Adelaide.
To include a simple breakfast in the rate is a fantastic idea - toast, tinned fruit, cereal, juice, tea and coffee - when travelling I hate having to hunt around for a food outlet that sells breakfast at a reasonable price when all you want is something healthy-ish and simple - Adabco please keep this feature included. I liked the touch of having the daily papers on the tables.
Whilst the room had a lot of storage the only gripe is that the bathroom needs another few hooks to hand towels and clothes.
Please know there is a fair walk ( 3 - 4 blocks) to the tram station or brisk 10 mins walk to Rundle Street, 15 mins to the casino, so comfy walking shoes are needed - it does good to walk off the delicious eats from the central markets or Cocolat gelatto.
Oh, and as it is not too far from the city's main fire station...maybe some earplugs if you are a light sleeper, otherwise the hotel was very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koalagirlvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $83 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing