We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is nice enough - the rooms have everything, it is clean enough and near Hutt Street where there are nice places to eat, all of that was fine. The one thing I did wish I knew before booking is that if you are staying with two people and either or both of you are big and tall like us, then you may consider going for a Queen room and not a standard room. We booked on Wotif before arriving into Adelaide that evening and found the bed too small and when we asked to move we could do so but had to pay more than we were willing to pay to do that since we were already checked in. With that knowledge we would have selected a different room type when booking and paid a better price. Do not be deterred though, this is a nice enough hotel and I would return and would recommend it to those who are looking for a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    450
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
114
536
125
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for four nights and found it great value for money; with a friendly and helpful staff and a free continental breakfast included in the price. I did not use the communal kitchens as there is so many nearby places with great food. The room was clean and there was plenty of cupboard and hanging space. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for an extended period and the room was comfortable enough. The rooms are a good size and each floor has a full kitchen you can use to prepare your meals (if you don't want to go to one of the many eateries in the area). The frypans in the guest kitchen are in such poor condition, they are almost unusable. The scourers in the kitchen were not changed in the 3 weeks+ that I stayed there. My room was not dusted in that time either. The cleaners did not have a lot of attention to detail.

Guests also have the option of a very basic breakfast down stairs. Not a lot of options, but included in your room cost.

Reception staff were friendly and available 24/7. There is no parking, except street parking, which you need to pay for during the day. Getting a park out the front was rarely a problem. The building is heritage listed, though they didn't keep the style when the building was refitted, which was a shame.

The location and facilities were good, especially for a long stay, so it's a shame the cleanliness let them down . . . Easily fixed, along with some new pots and pans!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_in_CairnsAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and loved it, it did not disappoint this time. It is such a lovely location within easy walking distance of the markets, Hutt St, the wonderful newly finished Adelaide Oval and as required this time the Wakefield st Medical Facitiies, Perfect.
The hotel is old fashioned to look at but lovely, modern and comfortable rooms inside. They have kitchens on every floor if required and a complimentary continental breakfast in the dinning room on the ground floor every day.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnydarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Modern rooms with great bathrooms and good quality amenities. Fantastic common lounge areas to meet with others and there are also share kitchens where you can cook and prepare your own meals - both refreshing touches in a motel and ale it ideal for longer stays. Location is ok but a bit far from any restaurants as I was on my own and it wasn't well lit outside at night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolandlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just read previous review and i think he/she must have been staying in different hotel to me. I was thrilled to find the hotel better than expected. It is definitely value for money, communal large kitchen and dining on two floors as well as option of free basic continental breakfast. Free wifi, very clean, modern, good sized rooms. Quality furn and toiletries. I stayed 3 nights, very happy. Only criticism is usual complaint as in many hotels, bit of noisy plumbing and loud closing doors, although i think it's mostly the thoughtless guests who allow the door to close so loudly, as well as the type of locks 15 mins walk to Central Market, North Tce, Bot Gardens, Mall. I hired a car and parking in daytime is expensive but easy to find free parking at night on the streets around the corners after 5 or 5.30pm. Not a good place to stay if you want to leave the car and wander the city during the day. In fact I don't think you even need a car in Adelaide, buses free for Seniors betwn 9-3. Loved the hotel meals nearby in Angus St and love Hutt St shops, cafes, ambience. Quiet location and felt safe walking the streets at night as a single woman. Definitely pleased i discovered this hotel, I will be back regularly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freedom-seeker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

What an absolute digrace that poeple can even charge money to stay in this dump. Dirty and disgusting to say the least. When I tried to voice my opinion upon check-out a rude male staff member advised that nobody ever complained about the ancient plumbing in the very old building. Everything in this hotel is superficial obviously they tried to renovate it but failed miserably because underneath it all is rotten and very noisy plumbing that will keep you up all night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susa19876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
988 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing