We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, ok facilities, the cleaners let them down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed for an extended period and the room was comfortable enough. The rooms are a good size and each floor has a full kitchen you can use to prepare your meals (if you don't want to go to one of the many eateries in the area). The frypans in the guest kitchen are in such poor condition, they are almost unusable. The scourers in the kitchen were not changed in the 3 weeks+ that I stayed there. My room was not dusted in that time either. The cleaners did not have a lot of attention to detail.

Guests also have the option of a very basic breakfast down stairs. Not a lot of options, but included in your room cost.

Reception staff were friendly and available 24/7. There is no parking, except street parking, which you need to pay for during the day. Getting a park out the front was rarely a problem. The building is heritage listed, though they didn't keep the style when the building was refitted, which was a shame.

The location and facilities were good, especially for a long stay, so it's a shame the cleanliness let them down . . . Easily fixed, along with some new pots and pans!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Chris_in_CairnsAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Adabco Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and loved it, it did not disappoint this time. It is such a lovely location within easy walking distance of the markets, Hutt St, the wonderful newly finished Adelaide Oval and as required this time the Wakefield st Medical Facitiies, Perfect.
The hotel is old fashioned to look at but lovely, modern and comfortable rooms inside. They have kitchens on every floor if required and a complimentary continental breakfast in the dinning room on the ground floor every day.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnydarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Modern rooms with great bathrooms and good quality amenities. Fantastic common lounge areas to meet with others and there are also share kitchens where you can cook and prepare your own meals - both refreshing touches in a motel and ale it ideal for longer stays. Location is ok but a bit far from any restaurants as I was on my own and it wasn't well lit outside at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poolandlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just read previous review and i think he/she must have been staying in different hotel to me. I was thrilled to find the hotel better than expected. It is definitely value for money, communal large kitchen and dining on two floors as well as option of free basic continental breakfast. Free wifi, very clean, modern, good sized rooms. Quality furn and toiletries. I stayed 3 nights, very happy. Only criticism is usual complaint as in many hotels, bit of noisy plumbing and loud closing doors, although i think it's mostly the thoughtless guests who allow the door to close so loudly, as well as the type of locks 15 mins walk to Central Market, North Tce, Bot Gardens, Mall. I hired a car and parking in daytime is expensive but easy to find free parking at night on the streets around the corners after 5 or 5.30pm. Not a good place to stay if you want to leave the car and wander the city during the day. In fact I don't think you even need a car in Adelaide, buses free for Seniors betwn 9-3. Loved the hotel meals nearby in Angus St and love Hutt St shops, cafes, ambience. Quiet location and felt safe walking the streets at night as a single woman. Definitely pleased i discovered this hotel, I will be back regularly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freedom-seeker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

What an absolute digrace that poeple can even charge money to stay in this dump. Dirty and disgusting to say the least. When I tried to voice my opinion upon check-out a rude male staff member advised that nobody ever complained about the ancient plumbing in the very old building. Everything in this hotel is superficial obviously they tried to renovate it but failed miserably because underneath it all is rotten and very noisy plumbing that will keep you up all night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susa19876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had an over night stop over here in April and price wise it was cheaper than staying closer to the airport and I thought it would be a bit nicer staying in the city.

Upfront, it was a nice hotel, easy to get to from the airport (pretty much a straight line), bed was comfy, 24hr staff was 24hr, free good wifi and they sorted out my taxi I the morning which was great.

But I think this is a case where boutique like the word beautiful when to describe food in cooking shows is over used to the point where it doesn't make sense. This is one of them, the hotel is not particularly niche or unique or fashionable it is very much a regular normal clean hotel with good service but not much different from dozens like it.

So don't get me wrong, I'd stay here again but I wouldn't have been fooled by the name and turning up expecting something else.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Dexcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed there for one night only and left for Intercontinental hotel, cheaper and much better. This hotel has a good room, no bath, bad view or no view. Has a really old structure and offers no parking. Therefore no reason for charging the price they do. But at the end of the day is a good hotel with limited facilities and good for a one night stay, not for families.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Giullian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $83 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing