We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice location, but very very poor service, specially the reception staff. Terribly rude and impolite. While I was waiting in the guest area, the male staff was extremely irrespective, arrogant and helpless. Nice appearance hotel but don't ever never expect you get help there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Araron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were welcomed by the friendly receptionist and directed to our room. The reception and guest areas looked quite reasonable, except for the dirty lift carpets. We found our room to be a decent size and the bathroom was OK, but then we noticed the windows and the shutters/blinds. The windows were filthy dirty and the blinds covered in dust. Not that there was much to see from the window as the view was of the neighbouring building, but the grubbiness of the window was a disappointing indication of the lack of thoroughness in the maintenance of the room.

Comfort was fine but breakfast was a dismal continental offering with limited choice of budget items and weak coffee or tea. It would be better if they knocked a couple of dollars off the room rate, made the hotel room only and let guests find a decent breakfast at one of the many good coffee shops in Adelaide.

Location was fair. There were some acceptable restaurants within a 15-20 minute walking distance, but the main part of the city was quite a hike.

If I visit Adelaide again I will find somewhere better that is more central.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located. Walked into the city for a little shopping! Close to restaurants. Access to WiFi. Short stroll to Hutt Street for breakfast. Would definitely stay again! Reception was pleasant but very busy.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank justtravellingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was looking for a central hotel, quiet, clean, and family fiendly as well. I found all these amd much more as well. The hotel is a wonderfully refurshished heirtage building. Rooms are very clean, quiet, large with all comforts. You get generous complimetary continental breakfast. Staff are very efficient and friendly. Prices are very reasonable. What more could you want. When we will be back in this good city, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are quiet and really comfortable. Perhaps going onto 2nd or 3rd floor an adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADiamantop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the adabco and were really happy. The room was huge, enough space for two people, bathroom was perfect and very clean. There was a kitchen on our floor were we cooked our dinner, tables are inside and outside! breakfast is just continental, but for me was ok. Extremly friendly and helpful was the staff at the reception (specially victoria). Also the roomcleaners made a great job every day, thanks for that too. In de cente, shopping, restaurants, parks, etc are all in walking distance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is very good situated and you can reach the center by food without any problem. The hotel is very nice and clean. Its calm. Rooms are big, bathroom very nice. You even have a kitchen on the floor you may use. Fantastic! Just at breakfast time its too busy sometimes. Dont be late to get a seat :o) The staff is very friendly. And we had a private problem and the receptionist helped us so much. THANK YOU VICTORIA! We couldnt have solved it without you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here overnight on a business trip and what a pleasant surprise. Very clean and comfortable boutique accommodation. Staff were really friendly, breakfast included and free wifi a real bonus. Also walking distance to a nice Italian restaurant up the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webtones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $77 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing