We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed & spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed one night for hospital visiting a family member. Location to the Wakefield hospital is just across the road with many good quality eating establishments close by. My room was large with comfortable bed and tv chair. The room and bathroom were spotless with quality toiletries. Only disappointment were the towels whilst clean were not soft and fluffy which I expected for 4*.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast was basic, would like to have seen gluten free options other than tin fruit. Some cheese, cold meat & pastries as is served in other 4* hotels, would have rounded it out better.
Though I didn't use them there are well equipped kitchens and laundry facilities on each floor.
Good location to walk to Rundle Mall or pick up the tram to Glenelg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingfoodie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I had one night here on our way to the centre. We had been sorry we had only stayed one night. For a family or any one staying longer they had well equipped spotless kitchen to do your own cooking. A continental breakfast was provided and there was a lovely lounge casual area where you could watch TV or just relax. The room was a good size with en suite and comfortable beds. Wonderful for a family or people who didn't want the expense of eating out all the time. Would certainly like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathydavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed 4 nights with a friend in the lovely city of Adelaide, we chose the Adabco off Booking.com and weren't disappointed. The hotel was spacious, friendly, clean, the kitchen on level 2 was a real bonus for cooking breakfast with great local produce. Walking distance to the city, zoo, great restaurants, coffee, movies, markets, and the free tram (yes I do like walking). The staff were all so accommodating, full of knowledge and friendly. Would recommend staying here, it is located around a lot of medical services but it was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms were pleasantly furnished and clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. I noticed that there was a communal kitchen on the floor that I was on, where you could prepare a meal if you didn't want to eat out; (a great market not too far away!) Breakfast was provided; very basic but adequate. The location was good; a short walk to the CBD, restaurants, market and museums. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at Adabco for five nights and had a great stay. On arrival the staff were quick to book me in & made me feel very welcome. They also offered to assist in any way they could, explaining there was someone at the desk 24 hours a day. The room was clean and tidy. It was lovely to return to the hotel in the evenings to find my bed made, the cleaning services were exceptional with all spaces within the hotel kept clean at all times. Although I had no need to use it, I was happy to see that each floor had a kitchen and seating area for meals. Although the breakfast offered is basic, it was a great little saver as a traveller. I felt the price & location were very reasonable. I would definitely highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cfinl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is good value for money, however nothing special. The standard king room I stayed in the first night was an excellent size. Bed was ok, and the pillows were not two stories tall! Very hard for me to find that and the way I like it. The executive suite was also nice, well appointed. Overall though, the hotel is fairly old, nothing special and a bit run down in parts. Is a good alternative in Adelaide, certainly for the price. Staff were nice. Overall, good experience and great value for money. I would stay again if alternatives were too expensive without hesitating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjsss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel deserves its high rating. We had a twin room with two large beds. Its certainly good value and is in a fairly convenient location but is distinguished by the extremely friendly and helpful reception staff who recommended restaurants, booked taxis and printed my boarding pass, all with a smile. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poptastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $77 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing