We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adabco Boutique Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“unique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Upon arrival the staff were very pleasant and helpful, allowing us to store our bags until the room was ready. The check in was a very easy process and the staff gave excellent details of the location and ways to enjoy our stay in Adelaide. The room was great, total luxury and the whole hotel had a unique feel. The room was slightly noisy, there must have been a club or something next door, but when it came to sleeping there was no interruption. The bed was so comfy, like sleeping on clouds. Complimentary breakfast was also an added bonus, had toast and variety of cereals, juice and hot drinks. Everything you need to start the day. All in all a fab place to stay, I would definitely recommend, in walking distance of everywhere and pleasant and helpful staff to match.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    433
    94
    20
    15
See reviews for
103
503
111
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I are currently staying here and we are not impressed! We requested a quiet room as we are both light sleepers and we were given possibly the noisiest room in the hotel. We're situated right next to a communal patio and have been given front row seats to very loud and very late night partying and arguments. Our room has small flying insects populating it. They're very hard to catch so it's very unpleasant. The shower floor is really grungy as is the bedding - there are stains on our quilt! We paid a good amount of money for this accommodation and it has been very disappointing!
I read so many reviews prior to booking this hotel claiming that it was great value for the money. I don't ever write reviews on hotels but I felt like I was obligated to write one for this place so more people know what to really expect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meghemmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the premises were very clean and tidy with good facilities and it was wonderful to have breakfast and daily room service included. When I travel I usually stay with family and friends so it was nice to feel special in what felt like a brand new hotel with an old fashioned style. It was in a very accessible location via the free city bus to all the attractions, without lots of loud traffic noise. Don't be shy to call the front desk to adjust the air conditioning temperature because there were no in-room controls in my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room set back from the road. I'm not sure if they automatically assign these first but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diflyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first hotel in Australia. It is a nice place, not far from an area with lots of shops and restaurants. The room was comfortable, especially their bed (or maybe we were too tired). Their breakfast is poor.

Service was polite, though not the kindest: we were arriving from Europe and asked if we could have our room straight away, they said it was impossible but the lady checking in next to me, to the same room category, had her key room immediately even though she said they just wanted to drop their bags.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed at Adabco twice in the last month. Once on the way back from a European holiday for 2 days and then a week later for 4 days when I had surgery in Adelaide. The staff were nice and helpful both times, the rooms were clean and comfy and the breakfast looked ok for a free breakfast (I didn't eat it, as it was all gluten products). The price was the cheapest in Adelaide and very good value for money. I stayed on both level 2 and 3 and found them to be consistently modern and nice. The walk to Rundle is not far at all, about 2 or 3 blocks, unless its raining and cold then its not fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChillCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

WE stayed a whole week at Adabco Boutique hotel and had a very pleasant stay; very good rooms, lovely, spacious and comfortable, with free internet, plus a kitchen which was very convenient for us. You get free breakfast in the morning which is another valuable plus, the staff is great the location very good as well. We definitely recommend the Adabco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloEzanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice, pleasant stay. Room was clean and spacious. Quiet location. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Basic continental breakfast. Great for short or long stay as it has a convenient communal kitchen. IGA is approx. 5 min walk up the road. There is a Free City Loop bus stop 2 mins walk from the hotel. Approx. 15min walk to Victoria Square. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.8 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing