We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - very pleased with our choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel - very pleased with our choice”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first time visiting Adelaide, and we picked this hotel off the internet and read Trip Advisor comments.
We weren't disappointed. Well situated, clean and well presented. Staff very helpful always. Breakfast was as advertised, a continental and more than enough to satisfy us - and best of all, included in the price.
Our room was always well stocked with clean towels and shampoos/soaps etc.
The TV had a wealth of channels to choose from.
Within easy walking distance to some gorgeous restaurants and pubs, and to the City Market, Chinatown, Malls, tram, museum and art galley to name a few.
We hope to come back to Adelaide again some day...and we would definitely stay here again.
Karen and Kevin, NZ

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandKevinTga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    459
    99
    21
    16
See reviews for
121
543
132
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and ticked all the boxes. Room was clean and big. Good location and nice front desk agent. The breakfast was nothing fancy but toast and coffee is what we needed. Great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAndEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked as a result of reviews for a two night stay. The descriptions of the rooms,service and breakfast were spot on. Very handy location and helpful and friendly staff . The guest kitchens which we did not use were very well equipped and an unusual feature for a hotel. Two computers available for guest use free but no wifi only cable in rooms for which you had to pay. I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travelled to Adelaide for work and stayed on for the weekend, moving to the Adabco. I usually prefer older buildings to flash hotels, so it seemed a reasonable choice judging from the positive reviews. As I walked there from North Adelaide it did seem a bit out of the way. I'd asked for a room on the top (third) floor if possible but was first offered one on the second floor where the window was partly obscured, making it dark and unappealing. The next one offered was on the ground floor with an uninviting outlook and the potential to be noisy, and finally I was offered a room on the third floor which I was happy with. It's not the place to go if you're looking for a view. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious with a large window coverered by wooden blinds, and the bathrooms are spotless and well designed. The staff was helpful, as evidenced by their willingness to let me see different rooms until I was satisfied. The lounge which includes two computers available to guests is large and attractive and adjoins the breakfast room. Breakfast was entirely adequate. I'm not sure I would recommend this hotel though I can't fault it in any practical way - it's great in many respects and its location isn't that bad, but I think I'd look for somewhere closer to town and activity next time (I must say, it was quiet). Nevertheless, I want to thank the hotel staff for making me welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed four nights and the hotel has lots going for it (thus the 4 out of 5 rating) but I couldn't help wondering how the few negatives (there were not many!) would impact on other guests. So, let's get those negatives out of the way first! The room we had, which cost the least, was quite small; breakfast was limited; the TV had very poor picture quality and was at such an angle to the bed that my head ached after a while; the touristy advice I overheard the receptionist giving a guest was, shall we say, less than helpful - I lived in South Australia for many years!; there was no in-room safe; and finally, the hotel is stingy with replenishing soaps and shampoos etc. None of these things were a particular bother to us because we weren't in the room much - had too much to do! The many positives included: the excellent location (10 minute walk to Victoria Square, Rundle Mall etc, 5 minute walk to Hutt Street with its restaurants, banks and a grocery shop); 2 bright ceiling lights in the room - beats stumbling around in the semi-dark!; 2 very well kitted out guest kitchens where you can prepare and eat food; lots of peace and quiet; and ease of parking - it is no problem to find a park on the street almost at the front door of the hotel! On balance, I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Check to see if a little more expensive room gives you more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 1st time on Monday, Hotel was excellent, The reception staff were excellent, the place was fresh and clean. The room was as good as any modern hotel. Location was great, and the free light buffet breakfast was nice. Definitely my chosen hotel for Business Trips to Adelaide from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights at the Adabco. Clean, comfortable, affordable. What else needs to be said? Great value for Adelaide! These people know how to run a hotel and understand they are in the hospitality business. Hotel is about 8 blocks from CBD, but lower rates compensate for that slight inconvenience. Being outside the CBD made it very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing