We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, disappointing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located and looks nice from the outside, the inside is not spectacular, but still ok. The breakfast was quite poor, with not so friendly staff and not the cleanest tables. The breakfast itself was really average and tasteless, lots of room for improvement there...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Adabco for 6 nights, Feb. 6-12, 2013 and would highly recommend it. It is in a great location, walking distance to the Rundle Mall and the Art Gallery, University, museum and so on. The free city loop bus travels on Wakefield if you want a ride. A buffet breakfast in included, and is not bad at all. Rooms are a good size, clean and serviced, with a small fridge. There is a shared kitchen, which seemed well equipped, but which we did not use. The balcony off the kitchen seemed to be the smoker's refuge. The front desk staff were knowledgeable and helpful. David gave us recommendations for restaurants, a pub and a wine tour, and they were all very good. Two free PC's, with a printer, in the common area. WiFi in the room is expensive. There is a guest laundry available, $4 each for washer and dryer. Nice heritage building. A good place to stay in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_T1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This small boutique hotel is located just outside the main central business district of Adelaide. Rooms were good sized with small refrigerator plus a common kitchen on each floor. The main areas were open and pleasant. Wifi is NOT free but there are 2 pcs in the public area available to guests. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights last week. Value for money probably the best accommodation we have found. We were warmly received by David at reception, and the hospitality during our stay was exceptional. A lovely heritage building, great location and good size rooms, which were very clean and well appointed, only added to our experience. The free continental breakfast, daily, was always a great start to the day. Guest kitchens were available on all floors, and were spotless and very well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just stayed the one night on a secret deal for $94. Having once lived in Adelaide I never knew of this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. It's a lovely old building, modernised inside. It has a feel of upmarket backpacker. The room was nicely appointed only the double bed disappointed. I like how there is a kitchen on each floor to cook for yourself. As I was only using the hotel to sleep, it suited me to a T, though I probably wouldn't stay here as a treat. Not a bad location only a few blocks from the East End.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diceslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in February. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. It is centrally located on quite a busy road but, although our room was at the front, we weren't disturbed as the traffic was much lighter at night. Very satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I and 2 friends had two double rooms with a shared bathroom. The rooms were well equipped, comfortable and clean. The location is good as you can walk everywhere in the centre of Adelaide from the hotel. There's metered car parking outside and all day car parks quite near. The hotel provides washing machines and tumble dryers (small charge), iron and ironing board and outdoor washing lines. There are also communal kitchens on each floor for residents to use although we didn't use them ourselves. There are two computers and a printer which are free but there is a charge for wifi. The included breakfast was fairly basic and some fresh fruit would have been a good addition, but the cost per night is very reasonable. A good choice.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced Wakefield Street but were not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,339 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $74 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing