We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation in centre of Adelaide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I and 2 friends had two double rooms with a shared bathroom. The rooms were well equipped, comfortable and clean. The location is good as you can walk everywhere in the centre of Adelaide from the hotel. There's metered car parking outside and all day car parks quite near. The hotel provides washing machines and tumble dryers (small charge), iron and ironing board and outdoor washing lines. There are also communal kitchens on each floor for residents to use although we didn't use them ourselves. There are two computers and a printer which are free but there is a charge for wifi. The included breakfast was fairly basic and some fresh fruit would have been a good addition, but the cost per night is very reasonable. A good choice.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced Wakefield Street but were not noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for Adabco Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a nice way to stay in the heart of city just a walk distance form center place, good place to walk in nearby garden and walking distance to main shopping center and haigh chocolate factory, and you can take ride to outer city limits, cool and best place to stay for weekend, next to thursday pubs. walking distance to central market and also eating joints.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and airy,top floor end room west side
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karansiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall the accommodation is very good, but with a couple of let downs:
- our room was next to a service area for another building, so a bit noisy early in the morning.
- Ironing board is useless as it is samall and is used on top of the desk.
- double bed in room and charged extra for a queen or king.
- a lack of power points, only some power boards.
- could not fill the kettle form the basin tap, had to use the shower.
Having said the above, all is not on the downside.

The hotel ia well located in the city, (in a lovely Heritage Listed building) close to many resaurants and other amenities.
The rooms are a good size, with all the facilities needed, and very good toileteries and amenities.
Continental breakfast is also included, a plus.
Would I stay her again, yes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Adabco for 4 nights. We were in a premium king room, the room itself was a descent size. We didn't find the room to be thoroughly cleaned before we arrived and it continued to be that way for the duration of our stay. The location was good within easy walking distance to the Adelaide markets, it's a bit of a longer walk to the city centre. We also found that the TV reception in the room was very poor. We only experienced breakfast once, it was a bit of a nightmare not enough seating or food and as somebody else commented too short. The breakfast experience reminded us of our backpacking days - the mentality was get in there and eat as much as you can because it's free. The rest of the time we self catered as one good thing about the hotel there were public kitchens available (as they also cater to long-term stays). The bed was comfortable, the staff so so. Even though I've bagged this hotel a bit I would recommend it as it is reasonably priced and comfortable enough.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Expatozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

For anyone dismayed by the strength of the Australian dollar and the cost of living, or indeed for anyone interested in value for money, this is an excellent choice. The hotel is well located, close to the free circular bus route, to the Central Market (well worth a visit), and to a good range of restaurants and cafes. The reception staff are knowledgeable, courteous and friendly; rooms are large and well equipped; there are guest laundry and cooking facilities; there are two computers for guest use. On the debit side, the complimentary breakfast is merely adequate and you will have to share tables; there is no free Wi-Fi in the public rooms and the ethernet connection in the bedrooms is chargeable; you will probably have to wheel your luggage to your room yourself. However the plus points significantly outweigh the minuses and this represents very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel, located only 5 minutes walking distance from Victoria Square and the same for North Terrace, encapsulates the characteristics of a real boutique hotel. Large, confortable and luxurious rooms with renovated and large bath, important common facilities such as two kitchens where the guests can prepare their own meals. Reception 24h, competent and friendly. You can leave part of the luggage if you are going to Kangaroo Island for two/three days and you are returning here. Light continental breakfast included. Only two lacks: the times for the breakfast are too short (this must be corrected, only 2 hours during week end!) and the lack of a Wi-Fi internet access (only 2 PCs, but in this kind of hotel this lack cannot longer be tolerated).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuseppealbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here for 3 days and wow Adelaide was so clean and so much history. The hotel was clean and rooms spacious and as for the location I can't be happier. We visited the near by winery in Adelaide and we loved everything about this place. The staff friendly and full of knowledge I would love to come back again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OdetteGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $85 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing