We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Affordable Hotel comfortable Room”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having read some of the Tripadvisor reviews we were not dissappointed with the Hotel, the location and its facilities for the price. The bed was comfortable and the room clean and tidy and the hotel staff helpful. The breakfast was as others have said and not inspiring so we chose to have our breakfast at Bocelli's and italian Cafe just 300m down the road. We used the free city bikes available at a packbackers on Hutt Street to get around the city. Adabco is not in a central location in the city so you have to be prepared to do a bit of walking to get anywhere.

Room Tip: excellant facilities for disabled guests on the downstairs floor with disabled shower and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    450
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
114
536
124
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I and my wife first knew of Adabco Boutique Hotel via Tripadvisor and we decided to throw in our faith with it. We were not disappointed!! From the first email correspondences to check-in right up to check-out, service was good and prompt. The reception answered our enquiries with friendliness and much patience. Rooms were also clean and spacious. In addition, there is a self-contained kitchen with proper cooking and dining facilities on every hotel floor. However, do note that wifi and Internet access are chargeable in your rooms, hence you would need to use their 2 common PCs in the reception area.

As for the location, it’s a 20 min or so leisure walk to the Central Bus Station and roughly about 15 min to the North Terrace/Rundle Mall shopping belt. For the bargain price we paid, we have no problems with the location and the walking. However, if you are travelling with your elderly parents or relatives, this might be of some concern.

Also, the hotel vicinity feels safe and peaceful amongst other buildings. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for value-for-money accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JusT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night of our wedding and were so pleased by its character, comfort and amazing value. Our wedding was on the same weekend as Clipsal 500 but you would not have known it, the room was so well priced. What a beautiful hotel, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Booked this on the basis of reviews on T.A. and were pleased with the choice. We booked the double room which was good but found the bed too small for me (6' 2") so the next few nights we upgraded to a King size bed for $15 (aux) per night. This upgrade is well worth it and the room was very good.
The breakfast was fine for us, had a variety of cereals and toast, tea, coffee and fruit juice and we really can't see what others reviewers complaining about. It is as advertised.
The location is very handy for all the sights. We didn't have any transport so a walk to the tram or the main buses was about 10 minutes along the same road as the hotel. The mall; gardens and museums were about 15 minutes walk away.
Would we stay there again, sure would if you want a city centre hotel.
After hiring a car and doing a 'ticky tour' we ended up in Glenelg for our last few days and really enjoyed this. If we return to Adelaide we would stay in Glenelg as its so easy to get into Adelaide centre by the tram.

Room Tip: Upper floor and upgrade to a King bed ($15 per night at hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatnPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is hard to spot because of its narrow frontage, but when you arrive it is like a tardis with large communal spaces for the use of guests. This theme is repeated in the large standard and king sized rooms (we stayed in both) which are fitted out to a very high standard. Although we did not use it the hotel provides a well fitted clean and spacious kitchen and dining room, where guests are able to watch the pennies and cents and prepare their own meals at any time. Central Market is about 20 minutes walk away where there is a huge selection of good value meat, fruit and vegetables to choose from.

Originally built as a boys' home and later used as an Aboriginal Education centre, the building has been skilfully converted into a welcoming hotel whilst also respecting the listed status awarded by the National Trust.

Continental breakfast and newspapers are included in the room price and our only complaint was the powdery and rather boring muesli. Rooms do not generally have much of a view, a top floor room would probably get you one.

Staff were courteous and quietly efficient and full marks goes to the reception desk who answered a whole range of questions confidently and politely and the icing on the cake was when the receptionist offered to post our postcards for us.

Without doubt this hotel is a wonderful find and excels at all levels. Room rates are reasonable with the three day package offering particularly good value. If we return to Adelaide we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had 3 nights here. Location is great, a 15 minute walk into Adelaide centre. Several nice restaurants near the hotel including Italian, Chinese and Indian. Car parking was chargeable on the street during the day.
Room was clean and comfortable with flat screen TV, small fridge, bathroom with shower only. There is a laundry room with washers and dryers for a small fee. There are kitchens (on I think all floors) which although we did not use looked well equipped to cook a good meal.
Breakfast was included in the price, with cereals, toast, tea, coffee and juice. There was also a sitting area adjacent to this, with large TV, books and 2 internet enabled PC’s (free to use), with printer.
Taxi back to the airport was about $20, and took less than 30 minutes.
Fine choice in Adelaide we would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy123Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is trying to be a cross between a hotel and serviced apartments. Unfortunately, it has some of the negatives of both though overall very good for the prIce i paid. The hub of Adelaide's CBD is North Terrace and Hindley/Rundle- ie two parallel streets. This hotel is a 15 minute walk from where North Terrace meeters King William street. There isn't much going on directly around the hotel.

Secondly, there is no restaurant and while the breakfast is advertised as "continental breakfast included" it isn't up to much. The Fruit juice is from concentrate, the fruit is tinned and apart from that all you can have is toast. For breakfast/lunch/dinner there is the option of using the kitchen on each floor. While in theory this seemed good, for the solo traveller, it is off putting as those travelling in groups tended to be in there and taking up most of the space. Similarly, the storage space in the kitchen was based on an assumption of large groups and assigning cupboards to each room would have helped.

The bed rooms and beds within them were very good and comfortable. The bathroom was small but apart from that very good.

Would i go back again- yes if I got the same price. If anything more than 20% more expensive then no.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
987 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adabco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adabco Boutique Hotel

Property: Adabco Boutique Hotel
Address: 223 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adabco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adabco Boutique Hotel (formerly Wakefield Residence) is set in one of Adelaide's significant and beautiful heritage buildings. It has 70 elegantly appointed rooms with modern furnishing, appliances and finishes. The spacious rooms are all equipped with a flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, high speed broadband access and a large executive desk for the corporate traveller. Situated in the heart of the city, the hotel is within walking distance to the restaurant precincts of Hutt Street, North Terrace, the Convention Centre, Hindley Street, Chinatown, the Central Market, and the Rundle Mall shopping precinct. Adabco Boutique hotel is an independent hotel suited to the discerning traveller that requires a retreat from the pressures of travel and access to some of the city's major and most memorable attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adabco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Residence Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing