We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality apartment hotel”
Review of Mantra on Frome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Frome
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2009

This apartment hotel is very clean and well appointed and spacious. I travelled here on business, travelling alone arriving late and leaving early so the 2 room apartment was a bit wasted on me. There was no where really close to eat (for a single woman on foot that late at night) but an italian restaurant does meal deliveries up until 10pm and there is a bottle of wine in the room. There is a pub around the corner.
The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice.
The only complaint I would have is that the air condition was set to freezing when I arrived. I turned it off immediately but still had to shiver while I watched TV and waited for my dinner. Why do hotels do this - no wonder we have a global warming problem.
I'd also like a TV in the bedroom as I like to watch TV in bed.
The location is good - a couple of blocks walk to rundle mall which is the main shopping area and close to the art galleries etc.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Mantra on Frome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 959 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

We booked Mantra on Frome through a very helpful lady at the Tourist Information desk, having turned up on the day that the Fringe started, rooms were more scarce than usual.
However the Mantra was a superb option being an all suite hotel. It was probably more than we wanted to pay however upon reaching the room, we realized it was good value.
It had two bedrooms, a double and two singles, a large fully equipped kitchen, a wash cupboard with washing machine and dryer, a nice size lounge diner and a large bathroom.
Another serious benefit of this place is it’s position, it is just two blocks from Rundell Street with all it’s shopping and eating options.
So to the less good points.
The lifts are painfully slow to come, for the doors to close and to start moving, the air conditioning is only in the lounge which means on hot nights the bedroom doors must be left open and the aircon left on full power all night, the condensation build up on the machine will leave a very wet carpet in the morning.
There is an internet connection provided in the room but the cost is a disgraceful $0.55 a minute – there is also an internet option in the reception and this costs $1 for ten minutes but it has some god awful censorship program which cuts out of the sites you are viewing seemingly randomly, I was kicked out of a Las Vegas travel site, the Trip Advisor site, some of my email messages, basically it was almost unusable.
There is hope however, walk to Rundell Street and then turn right, there is a really good internet café there with fast modern computers, connections for laptops and very good prices.
The net option in the reception it is a profit share affair they don’t even own them, so any problems are met with a shrug.
I also asked about parking and was quoted $15 a night, nobody told me that I could park for free outside the hotel overnight (payment after 8:00am).
It was these little things that annoyed me about what would otherwise be a fantastic hotel, if they provided free internet and the staff were more helpful in helping the guests, “Certainly Sir, we offer parking but you do know it would be cheaper to park on the street’”
That would have earned them much better marks.
So to sum up apart from the disgusting rip off price of the internet for customers who wish to use the internet this is a superb option and probably would work out cheaper than two normal hotel rooms while offering more freedom.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acerockolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Overall, this place was fine. There is no gym and no business center, which is very disappointing.

They changed the towels, but they never cleaned the bathroom. We stayed here for four nights and the floors just kept getting more and more dirty.

My colleagues had issues with the washer and dryers not working in their rooms, but I didn't have this problem.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank goofy_chick98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Hotel is very expensive for what you get, which is basically a double room partitioned into a bedroom, corridor and bathroom. There is minimal storage for clothes which had to remain in the suitcase and worst of all, housekeeping was truly appauling. Toilet paper was not replaced, rubbish was allowed to pile up day after day even when I asked for it to be removed, and laundry bags had to be requested repeatedly. Also, there are no amenities. This is more of a hostel than a hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Austraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

May 2008. My wife and I stayed 7 nights in a 1 Bedroom Apartment."Not the Most Comfortable".Found the Queen bed Very Hard and Traffic Noise Very Loud.
The Apartment was ok but the servicing was varied from day to day it was replenished only 3 days and I had to ask for Coffee and sugar on 2 occasions at the front desk.
Location in the city is good so if you don't mind a Hard Bed,Poor Service and Noisy Traffic go for it

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank reggyChristchurchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Pacific International Apartments on Frome has become my home away from home. I travel to Adelaide regularly on business and find this one of the warmest places I have ever stayed. Right from the minute I walk through the door I feel welcome as the friendly staff on the front desk now greet me by name. The new refurbished rooms are very modern but still comfortable and definately suitable for business or leisure travellers and the food in the restaurant is superb. I have already recommended this hotel to many of my colleagues and will keep doing so.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Corporate_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

I stayed at this hotel in 2004, having stayed at Pacific International Hotels in other cities and finding them to be basic but usually convenient. There were many problems with this place. There was the street noise (which admittedly is not the fault of the hotel) - Frome St appears to be the local drag racing strip with lots of noise and very dangerous driving particularly at weekends. This goes on until very late at night / early morning. There were also loud parties in other apartments (one of which, we learned, belonged to a staff member who was a permanent resident). This also went on almost all night. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning (around 9.00am) after a very long flight, and were told we could not access our room, but should just 'go for a walk around Adelaide'. One of us is disabled and this was not an option on a stinking hot Adelaide Sunday. There was a problem with the booking - not the type of room we had asked for, and they had no record of a booking for us on the day we had booked, so we had to move rooms the next day. The room we were given was dark and the furniture unbelievably uncomfortable and in a very poor state of repair. There was only one chair and a sofa-bed to sit on. The kitchen facilities were very poor, compared to Pacific apartments in other places. The kitchen equipment was completely inadequate for a long stay, and requests for cooking pots drew a blank. Some of the cleaning staff were good, but the basic problem was the attitude of management, which was unfriendly and seemed even punitive at times. After only a short while, we were very glad to escape to better accommodation elsewhere in the city.

Stayed: December 2004
4  Thank Tykeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#13 of 56 in Adelaide
1,380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Frome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Frome

Address: 88 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $95 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Frome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Frome is a spacious, apartment style hotel situated in the heart of Adelaide's East End cafe precinct. The perfect location for business or leisure travellers, the hotel is just moments away from Adelaide's CBD, Rundle Mall shopping precinct, theatres, entertainment and dining. The hotel is also minutes away from the Adelaide Botanic Gardens, Adelaide Zoo, Central Markets and Adelaide City Swim & Gym. Styled to meet the needs of both leisure and business travellers, Mantra on Frome offers a selection of Studio or One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air-conditioning, cable television and in-house movies. To ensure your stay at Mantra on Frome is comfortable, the helpful team is available via the 24 hour reception desk. A tour desk, room service, secure undercover parking, same day laundry and dry cleaning service, babysitting and secretarial services are also available as well as in-room massage on request. Parking is subject to availability and needs to be pre-booked. Alternate offsite parking available ($20 per vehicle per night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on Frome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Frome Hotel Adelaide
Mantra On Frome Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing