We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”
Review of Mantra on Frome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Frome
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with a large group of family for one night. We had a studio apartment on the 4th floor, facing the frome road, which really wasnt an issue noise wise. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. The bed was REALLY comfortable.

We were within walking distance to great pubs/resturants.

The only things that I think could be improved on is free WIFI.. paying for WIFI in this day and age is crazy.

Room Tip: choose a room on one of the upper floors. Also, there are cafes within walking distance for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear shannons1977,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mantra on Frome. It is always nice to hear positive feedback like yours.
It seems you’re not the first to mention about the Wifi lately and I can assure you that this is being addressed. Recently we decided to offer free internet in the foyer area and reduce the rooms to $10 for 1GB to allow the guests the ability to download when required.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    362
    130
    49
    19
See reviews for
250
190
51
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I nearly did not book this hotel. I had to hold on the phone for several minutes to reservations and was about to give up when they answered. I'm glad I did. This Hotel is perfectly placed for touring Adelaide - we walked to everywhere.
We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious the apartment was. Two bedrooms were both large and the kitchen / lounge / diner was more than enough (by Aussie standards). Good size bathroom too, with nice toiletries.
We paid $318 for 2 nights which is $53 per person per night. Excellent value.
It was very clean and very quiet with views over the city.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor which was quiet and had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear FunLover_12,

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. I’m so glad you hung on and waited for reservations. I will ensure to pass on your feedback it onto all involved. Next time your down – please feel free to call the Hotel directly and request the same type of room.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was a little hesitant to book this hotel from some other previous comments

We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The bed mattress was firm, however, we like it like that to support the back better

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, tidy and comfortable

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Adelaide CBD

Room Tip: Road facing streets support more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunLover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear FunLover_12,

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. I will ensure to pass it onto all involved. I would like to also thank you for your positive feedback especially when it’s about the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As others have noted, this hotel is in a great spot, within an easy walk of many cafes and pubs, Rundle Mall, the city centre, zoo etc. Location can't be faulted. And the price we paid for a 2br unit which was clean and new-looking was also very good. Not spacious, but plenty of room and beds for our 5 people. Well appointed kitchen and full sized fridge, dishwasher and microwave. No washing machine.

However, the high price for internet was disappointing. By 2014, free WiFi should be a given. And the "windows" were unacceptable--one opened onto the corridor, another had its "window" into the lounge (high enough for privacy but still letting light in on kids trying to sleep) and the "balcony" opened onto a blank wall. No bathtub, just a shower. Parking was available, but limited and $15/night, which was reasonable. Kitchen extractor fan sucks air into the cupboard and back into the room. (?!?)

Staff were very helpful and always available, but it was disappointing again when we extended our stay (paying a large premium on room price) but housekeeping never made up the room and then housekeeping and the front desk played "blame the client" by claiming that we had the privacy card (which spent our entire stay there on the floor, in fact) on our door. Frustrating to arrive home late in the evening and find wet towels on the floor, beds unmade etc, although fresh towels were quickly brought up.

Would definitely stay again, given the value and location.

Room Tip: Worth checking what the windows and balcony look out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMargaretNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear MaryMargaretNZ,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mantra on Frome. It is always nice to hear positive feedback especially when we are located in the close proximity to all your requirements. I’m also glad you found the room satisfactory. Although the group charges for Wifi, we do offer a 1 GB usage for the $10 – plus we offer free Wifi service in the foyer of the hotel which is accessible for all guests.

In regards to the Housekeeping service, I’m surprised to hear about the issues you faced and will certainly bring this up with the Housekeeping Manager. Overall – thank you again for your feedback as this will allow us to improve and move forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future, and maybe next time we can achieve exceptional service.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Clean, central, modern, we've just found our new family weekend spot in Adelaide.. It's close to Rundle Street and lots of pubs clubs and restaurants. Within was walking distance of the museum, the river precinct, and Adelaide oval.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 2up2down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear 2up2down,

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay at Mantra on Frome. Feedback like this makes it all worth it. I will ensure to pass it onto all involved. Also I would like to also thank you for the remaining feedback as many people forget how close Mantra on Frome truly is to everything.

On behalf of the team at Frome; we look forward to welcoming you back for your next family holiday.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

On the plus side Mantra on Frome is convenient for bars, shops and restaurants and the staff are friendly and helpful. However, our two bedroom apartment was not large and disappointingly given Adelaide summer temperatures, only had air con in the lounge, not in the bedrooms. The two bedrooms either had "windows" onto a central corridor - so couldn't be opened - or single glazed French windows onto the busy main road. This meant the room was noisy with windows open or closed. One great thing about Adelaide is that they have city-wide free wifi - but inexplicably Mantra on Frome has decided to opt out and charge 10$ a day for wifi. In 2013/14 there is no excuse for this - especially when you can walk to the corner of the road and log onto the city network. All in all we had expected far more and as a result of our experience here took a conscious decision not to stay in other Mantra hotels as we travelled around Australia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road, or one that is higher up to escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyTrouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear AudreyTrouser,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the feedback about your stay with us at the Mantra on Frome. It is always nice to read feedback even when it is not all that positive. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations when it came to the issues you experienced. When it comes to the wifi unfortunately Mantra on Frome does not receive the free internet signal you mention, hence the reason we offer $10 for 1GB to allow guests the ability to download when required.

I am disappointed to hear that you decided not to stay in any other Mantra properties around Australia, as some of them are simply stunning and the leaders in their class. I wish you and your family all the best and hopefully you will change your mind some day.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent about a week of a 2 week Xmas/New Year holiday here in a 2b/r suite and found it perfectly suited in size, amenities and convenience of location. The single fault, and this was seasonal so wouldn't affect most, was the suspension of housekeeping on Xmas and Boxing Day. Although this was flagged in advance and a light service offered on prior request, I personally feel hotels are a 24/7 service operation and housekeeping is basic. Other than that management decision, the desk and housekeeping was excellent.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beachrayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at Mantra on Frome, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Beachrayong,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mantra on Frome. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am pleased that you found all the staff so professional especially the housekeeping. I do appreciate your comments regarding the room cleaning and will certainly take this on board. But as you mentioned further on, we do offer a light service for anybody that requested it.

On behalf of the team at Frome; we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Ap-Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Frome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Frome

Property: Mantra on Frome
Address: 88 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Frome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Frome is a spacious, apartment style hotel situated in the heart of Adelaide's East End cafe precinct. The perfect location for business or leisure travellers, the hotel is just moments away from Adelaide's CBD, Rundle Mall shopping precinct, theatres, entertainment and dining. The hotel is also minutes away from the Adelaide Botanic Gardens, Adelaide Zoo, Central Markets and Adelaide City Swim & Gym. Styled to meet the needs of both leisure and business travellers, Mantra on Frome offers a selection of Studio or One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air-conditioning, cable television and in-house movies. To ensure your stay at Mantra on Frome is comfortable, the helpful team is available via the 24 hour reception desk. A tour desk, room service, secure undercover parking, same day laundry and dry cleaning service, babysitting and secretarial services are also available as well as in-room massage on request. Parking is subject to availability and needs to be pre-booked. Alternate offsite parking available ($20 per vehicle per night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Frome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Frome Hotel Adelaide
Mantra On Frome Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing